Ruby Mimi

Traveller (128)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Get rewarded with One Key
S$348
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#95 of 142 hotels in Zurich
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
A stone’s throw from the River Limmat, Zurich’s old town and the city’s top shopping streets, Ruby Mimi is a great starting point for first-time visitors and old friends. It’s also just a few minutes’ walk from the main station. For window-shoppers or shop-til-you-droppers, Bahnhofstrasse is the place to be. Flanked by high street names and designer labels, there’s something for every budget and style. For history-lovers, a short stroll south along the river will take you to the cobbled streets and quaint old buildings of the Altstadt. As well as lots of photo ops, you’ll find excellent restaurants and cosy coffee shops to keep your energy up. For a slightly boozy, sugary taste of Switzerland, an indulgent slice of zuger kirschtorte should hit the spot. If it’s the outdoors you’re after, Zurich also delivers. The lake is a 15-minute walk from Mimi, or a short hop on the tram. Otherwise, head for the hills with a hike up nearby Uetliberg. (There’s also a train, if that sounds like hard work.) Zurich’s main station is a five-minute walk from Mimi’s front door, from where the airport’s just ten minutes by train or S-Bahn.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
First aid kit
Express check-in / check-out
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Safe
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
English, German

Location

Beatenplatz 4, Zurich 8001 Switzerland
Name/address in local language
146Reviews0Q+A23Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 67
  • 26
  • 22
  • 12
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Mat0 wrote a review Jul 2022
Oslo, Norway27 contributions18 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice hotel with interesting decor, centrally located by the Zurich bahnhof (only 2-5 min walking to Bahnhofstrasse or the old town). Nice touch that you can exchange room cleaning for a drink in the bar during shorter stays. However, be aware that the bathroom solution is not for everyone. The toilet and the shower are in a "pod" in the room only separated by glass walls with curtains around. This does not allow for sound isolation and you will see shadows of the person in the shower. Maybe ok for couples, but would not share room with a friend.
Breakfast is available at the hotel, but there is only a bar serving a small selection of pizza during rest of the day.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sofiia Siroukh wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I am very exited with staying in such a brilliant hotel. Atmosphere is extremely cozy and friendly. Hotel is located in the center of the city and is easy to make a journey around all places of interest, also breakfasts is varied and delicious, rooms are spacious and modern. What is the most important is staff of this hotel, Christina it the most responsive, amiable, charming person I have ever known. She is extremely kind-hearted, outgoing, polite and will always help you and find solution in any situation. Moreover in this hotel everything is perfectly organized thanks to a competent general manager Marcus, who is a very attentive, sympathetic, pleasant, respectful person. I am sure that I will return in this hotel many times, because it is the best hotel in Europe.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
nicolamW4622HM wrote a review Apr 2023
Portsmouth, United Kingdom18 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We chose the hotel based on location which I can confirm is excellent!! Everything you need is located within walking distance. The hotels atmosphere and ambience was wonderful. Upon arrival we were treated to an upgrade by the friendly and welcoming hotel staff. We were also presented with the option to go green which meant passing up on house keeping for our short 2 night stay and in return we were given a free drink for from the very cool hotel bar. The room was squeaky clean, comfortable and also silent and incredibly dark at night which insured a perfect nights sleep after a day up mount titlis or discovering all the city had to offer.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ryan S wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Check in was nice with the self check in and the girl at the front was really nice and helpful. The location is also very good but unfortunately that’s where the positives ended for us.
The room was so hot and the air conditioner was more of a fan which did not help at all especially since it was located as far away from the bed as possible so there was no cooling down over night.
They offer a green program where you can skip getting your room cleaned in exchange for a drink at the bar daily. We kind of skipped over it at check in but the next morning we went down to ask if we could opt into that but the girl at the desk said we could not change anymore despite having not received a room cleaning yet. Then when we did get our room “cleaned” it was the worst cleaning I’ve seen in a hotel. They made the bed and changed the towels but the floor had some dirt which wasn’t cleaned, the bedding and pillowcases weren’t changed which was gross because it was so hot in the room you’d be sweating all night. If you’re going to offer room cleaning or a free drink and then not even clean the room for the people who opt for that it’s pretty bad.
Not to mention the room design is really bad. There’s no phone, no coffee machine, no mini fridge. They say it’s for conserving and making the most out of the limited space they have but it all easily could have fit on/under the big shelf they had. Forcing you to leave your room and down to lobby to speak to anyone or get coffee or a drink is an awful concept when it easily could be fit in the room.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marketing Ruby, Marketing at Ruby Mimi
Responded 5 Sept 2022
Hey RSchoonbaert, Thanks so much for leaving a review. Good to hear that you liked our self check-in and the location of our hotel. Part of our Lean Luxury philosophy is all about offering friendly, down-to-earth service, so we're delighted to hear that our hosts in Zurich made your trip memorable. We'll be sure to pass on your message to the team at Ruby Mimi. We are sorry to hear that you had trouble with the air con during your stay. If you have any questions, please never hesitate to contact our hosts. They'll be glad to help you find a solution.It is a pity to hear that your room was not as clean as it should have been. We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know, as cleanliness and comfort is a priority in all of our hotels. If you have special requests, like changing the bed linen everytime we clean the room, please let our staff know. Most guests are happy to sleep several nights in the same bedding and protect the environment. As part of our Lean Luxury philosophy, our rooms don't have mini bars. Instead, you'll find free hot drinks and vending machine to buy other bits and bobs in our Galleys. Otherwise, pop downstairs to the bar for a drink or a bite to eat – it's open 24/7. We hope to be able to impress you completely next time. Your Ruby Mimi Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Simon Yip wrote a review May 2022
Rotterdam, The Netherlands208 contributions75 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked 2 nights stay in this hotel during 30 April and the place was classy. Room was nice with white color concept and balcony with city view and cozy church bells sound.

The disappointing part of the stays was the lack of choice at the breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Just be assured that the shops closed on Sunday.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
S H wrote a review Dec 2022
Lyon, France65 contributions59 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Location very close to main train station is superb, shops, bars and restaurants too. Stylish hotel with large modern lobby and bar which is staffed 24/7. I was initially worried about self check-in that there would be no presence to leave luggage etc but the bar/ reception always has staff who are friendly and helpful and you can leave luggage. They go through check-in with you so it is not all an automated process.
We had the ‘lovely’ room which was spacious enough, quiet and nice big window over roof tops, comfortable bed.
There is no separate bathroom, it is in the room but that wasn’t an issue for us, shower was nice, the room was quiet and comfortable which was most important.
Continental breakfast for 30chf is a bit steep and quite basic choices, would suggest getting a rate that includes breakfast if you are going to have it or visit any other numerous cafes nearby.
Happy with choice, would stay here again happily if found a good rate.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JSK94 wrote a review Sept 2022
Bournemouth, United Kingdom36 contributions54 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Situated in a great spot 5min walk from Zurich HB with shops and restaurants and the Old Town close by, with the adjoining Dupont Bar&Restaurant offering 10% discount to Ruby Mimi guests. Excellent staff very friendly, helpful and welcoming, with a decent breakfast spread available and 24hour bar service. Sadly our 5th floor room was very small and narrow, almost dangerous if using toilet at night, or maneuvering past ones partner from the window side of the bed. Lacked a room phone which we needed to contact reception about noise from another room...should you have to go down 5 floors at 3am to notify staff in a 4star hotel ? Unfortunately too many negatives for us to book here again on our next trip to Zurich.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah T wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a great one night stay at the Zurich Ruby Mimi. We came in from the train station and it was such an easy walk down the street to get to the hotel—it’s in a great location if you are coming by train! The hotel manager Mr. Markus Juan Perez Lieb and the operations manager Mr. Dela Akli were incredibly accommodating, helping us with rooms that fit our family with small children comfortably. They provided a children’s crib for our infant with a full sheet setup. There’s a complimentary bottle of water as well as a delicious chocolate bar in the room upon arrival which we were pleased to find. The bar downstairs has a great vibe with excellent cocktails. It was an easy and beautiful 10 minute walk across the river to the old town where we had a great dinner and then a relaxing walk back browsing in shops. We all had breakfast downstairs in the morning and there was a wonderful selection of healthy chia seed pudding, oatmeal, fresh fruit, and many toppings. My children loved the bread with a Nutella-like crunchy chocolate spread. A great location with very welcoming and personalized managers! Thank you, Ruby Mimi!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Roxana G wrote a review Sept 2022
London, United Kingdom7 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The interior is modern and funky with all sorts of pop-culture references.
The room looks great and the bed was very comfortable
The shower is displayed as a piece of décor in the middle of the room - separated with glass walls (there is a curtain that can be used for privacy).
Check-in was fast.
The hotel is very close to the Zurich Hbf.
The friend I stayed with was mesmerized by the shower gel and soap in the property.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dreamer71159 wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The room we got was nothing like what was advertised on the website of Ruby Mimi. We booked a Loft Room that is supposed to be wide, sunny, with a 180cm bed and the pictures have a lovely balcony on them with a view to the river. The room is quite smaller than what we expected, with a minuscule window to the courtyard and a 160cm bed. Here's the deal : we paid 450 CHF - which in my world is quite a large amount of money - for a room that is far from the standing we expected from Ruby Mimi, or what they sell you on their website. The room we're in is more or less the same that what you can book for 150CHF less.
This kind of false advertising is absolutely outrageous. I strongly advise you not to trust what you see on Ruby Mimi's website and to think twice before booking your stay there.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
MARITZA R wrote a tip 21 Apr
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try to make arrangements for an early check in if possible in advance."
Read full review
Viv wrote a tip Feb 2024
Hong Kong, China1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not expect much from the “view”. Expect self-serviced but not really a typical hotel with standard services."
Read full review
karentampafl wrote a tip Jan 2024
Tampa, Florida27 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We had a WOW room, good size for a Swiss hotel, even had a balcony. Visit the galley for the nice tea and coffee selection."
Read full review
Nomad63636655679 wrote a tip Nov 2023
8 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pop over to the train station for breakfast."
Read full review
Daria Zlobinski wrote a tip Sept 2023
Moscow, Russia8 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you’re claustrophobic- avoid!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Zurich area.
PRICE RANGE
S$223 - S$402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of ZurichZurich
NUMBER OF ROOMS
202
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RUBY MIMI: UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 170 Photos (Zurich, Switzerland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Ruby Mimi
Which popular attractions are close to Ruby Mimi?
Nearby attractions include The Escape Gmbh (0.2 km), Lindenhof Hill (0.3 km), and Limmatquai (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ruby Mimi?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Ruby Mimi?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Ruby Mimi?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Ruby Mimi?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ruby Mimi?
Conveniently located restaurants include Laderach, Restaurant La Soupière, and Didi's Frieden.
Is Ruby Mimi located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Zurich.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ruby Mimi?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Ruby Mimi?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Liebfrauenkirche (0.5 km), Platzspitz (0.5 km), and Zunfthaus zur Meisen (0.7 km).
Is Ruby Mimi accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Zurich HotelsZurich Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ZurichHotels near Ruby Mimi
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire