We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

X-TRA Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
X-TRA Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

247 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 161: English reviews
Start your review of X-TRA Hotel
 Click to rate
Bern, Switzerland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very unfriendly staff.. you feel like you are not welcome in Hotel The rooms are very cold. Wenn you ar sleeping you can listen all the noise from street, there isnt even botte of water in the room!.There are much more better hotels in Zurich for almost same price...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Borisbern
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel does not provide breakfast alongwith your stay. forget the breakfast they don't even provide tea or coffee alongwith your stay. Rooms are too small. Pathetic. I had convince a lot to even get one empty plate and bowl to feed my baby. would not advice any family to stay here. The person at the reception is too rude....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ketkif
xtra8005, Manager at X-TRA Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sirs We were a little shocked when reading your comment - because it is unfair and incorrect! We certainly provide breakfast - if you book it inclusively. And even if your rate was excluding breakfast, you had the chance to take it at surcharge. Since we don't know your name, we unfortunately cannot follow up details of your booking...

Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

Reception = very unfriendly, rooms are really badly maintained. The club is also a catastrophe , they've lost a lot of expensive jackets wool rich,Canada goose when there was a concert ( ear drummers). I tried to ask, got punched and thrown out . Even if you tell them you are a diplomat , they throw you out with force...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Massimiliano D
Tehran, Iran
Reviewed 10 November 2016

we be there in Sep,It was budget hotel ,the location is perfect near public transportation ,the room was clean ,staff was good ,it is normal standard hotel. we bought tour from hotel reception with the same price ,there is club down stair so ask for quit room you want to have more relax environment.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amicoo
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Not sure how often they have live band in the club at the ground level of the hotel. I was here a Wednesday and the music was so loud that it was impossible to sleep. Things in my room vibrated to the heavy tunes. I simply don't understand how the hotel accept that - and even without informing guests. Never...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carpediemasia2014
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Our travel agent suggested X-Tra Hotel when I went into meltdown at the sight of Zurich hotel prices, and we were very grateful for his advice. The hotel is within walking distance of the station, and very close to a tram stop. I wasn't overly keen on having to share a bathroom but that turned out to be no problem,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey F
Lillehammer, Oppland, Norway
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

My stay was OK. The rooms were modern and clean. I had shared bathroom/shower but a sink in the room. The breakfast was ok, they weren't helpful with me being vegan, so I bought some groceries and brought to the breakfast place. Overall too expensive in my opinion for a single room with shared bathroom/shower. The best part was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CatrineStorhaug
Plano, Texas
Reviewed 25 September 2016

I wanted to visit Zurich and was intimidated by seeing so many hotels in the $300 to $500 per night range. I don't have Swiss Bank account money so I was trilled to find this hotel. It is in a good area close to the main train station and walking distance to most of the town. I paid $110 per...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DCButtercup
NYC, USA
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Stayed here for a week in September. The hotel itself is staffed by nice people. The property is a cleanly run hotel, with rooms that have basic (if not Spartan) furnishings. Our group stayed in a triple, as rooms are very expensive in Zurich. The furniture was basic, but clean. The rooms lack electrical outlets, if you bring a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank forwarddeployed
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewed 10 September 2016

It's been several times, that I stayed here. The reason is that it is close to my office. Did not expect much from the hotel, so basically it was OK. Last time I got a room on the top floor, that room was very small, and did not look that nice. (before I was on the 2nd floor, those rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adelfarkas

63 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#45 of 138 in Zurich
921 reviews
Hotel Montana
#43 of 138 in Zurich
844 reviews
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#20 of 138 in Zurich
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Limmathof
Limmathof
#87 of 138 in Zurich
278 reviews
Hotel Rothaus
#121 of 138 in Zurich
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Modern Hotel in the centre of Zürich, near Bahnhofstrasse/main train station and other interesting areas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about X-TRA Hotel

Address: Limmatstrasse 118, Zurich 8005, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Gewerbeschule
Price Range: $182 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — X-TRA Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your X-TRA Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
x Tra Hotel zürich
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from X-TRA Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from X-TRA Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If bells are likely to disturb your sleep, I'd suggest asking for a room where you are less likely to notice them.”
 of 5 bubbles lindseyf685, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not sure about the rear facing rooms, but the street facing rooms get a lot of street noise at odd hours...”
 of 5 bubbles forwarddeployed, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose backyard facing rooms. Avoid Limmatstrasse facing rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles F_C_BR_IT, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Get a room on the opposite side from the church”
 of 5 bubbles GenevieveCanada, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Choose another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Seanicus_J, 19 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5