We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Zaehringerstrasse 43, Zurich 8001 Switzerland
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$235
View deal
Expedia.com
US$236
View deal
FindHotel
US$187
View deal
PricelineUS$235
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.comUS$257
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (268)
360
Panoramas (14)
Room & Suite (505)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 19/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sorell Hotel Rutli
Updated 19/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#55 of 145 hotels in Zurich
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
In the heart of Zurich, at the entrance to the charming Niederdorf (lower town). Business and leisure guests will be pampered and surprised by our attentive host team. Especially relaxing of course is a stay in one of our Premium rooms. The hotel is surrounded by boutiques, restaurants, bars, museums, cinemas and theatres. Even the lake promenade and Zurich main station are within walking distance.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Baggage storage
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Arabic and 4 more

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
244Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
69Attractionswithin 0.5 km
743Reviews5Q+A99Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 256
  • 346
  • 100
  • 26
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
mortee n wrote a review 24 Sep
Oslo, Norway160 contributions81 helpful votes
The hotel seems ok on the surface. Location super. Staff are polite. Breakfast good. Bed ok. But there are several things that add up to a major minus. First I ordered a double room for single use. I was given a single room. Due to the hotel being full I was not able to change during my three prepaid nights. -The rooms are lacking AC. There is just a fan, no cooling. Also I was missing sockets for chargers in proximity of the bed. Then my room was close to a laundry room. While trying to sleep I could clearly hear the sound of the spin dryer at 2am keeping me awake. -Service was initially ok in reception and at breakfast but all to slow. Breakfast room is too small, crowded and filthy with spreads on the floor and you have to ask and wait for refill of buffet and coffee. The same in bathroom. when amenities are used you don't get refill. And then there are carpet floors, full of sticky stains and dirt. By the way, who puts carpet floor in an elevator? This hotel was not as I expected. The lack of quality all shows in the details.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: ask for higher floors towards the river
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
MNbikerbabe wrote a review 21 Sep
Waconia, Minnesota68 contributions16 helpful votes
Our room was nice, but lacking in outlets or USB ports on each side of the bed. That is a poor design as we use our phones as our alarm clocks, etc. It was also very hot while we were there and there wasn't a fan. There was a "cooling system" that didn't help at all. Opening the windows was too loud outside. Bathroom was fine. It was a short walk to most restaurants. It was an average hotel but had a pretty good breakfast buffet. The lady working the buffet was so pleasant and friendly. She looked like she enjoyed her job.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
TheRelfster wrote a review Aug 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom1455 contributions316 helpful votes
Six of us stayed for 3 nights in 3 rooms in August and had a comfortable stay. Each room had lots of great toiletries, nice bathrooms, comfy beds and a fridge, and, best of all for me - a Nespresso machine. The only downside was the air con in two of the rooms wasn’t particularly effective. There was lots of choice of breakfast including for our 3 vegans. The staff were super friendly and helpful and the central location was spot on if a little noisy some nights due to the nearby bars and restaurants. Would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sorell Hotel Rex Oswald, Owner at Sorell Hotel Rutli
Responded 22 Aug 2022
Thank you for your encouraging rating. Great, that you share your positive impressions. Your positive feedback shows us, that you have truly appreciated our high service standards. We look forward to seeing you again soon at the Sorell Hotel Rütli soon. Kind regards – Ariane Oswald, your hostess
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AniTMG wrote a review Aug 2022
San Juan, Puerto Rico253 contributions96 helpful votes
We reserved 2 rooms for our overnight in Zurich. We picked this hotel for its central location and because it advertised it has air conditioning. The hotel is no frills and well located. However, the a/c in one of our rooms was broken and, despite the heatwave (86f), their only solution was to bring 2 fans into the room. This only succeeded in circulating the warm air. We had to bring our daughter into our room and she slept on the floor, while we paid for the 2 rooms. Apparently the hotel was full so we could not move to another room nor did we receive a discount for the room without a/c. Very disappointing stay at this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sorell Hotel Rütli, Other at Sorell Hotel Rutli
Responded 7 Aug 2022
Dear AniTGM Thank you for your honest accounts of your stay in our hotel. It is truly regrettable to hear that our services could not convince you completely. By sending us your feedback, you have helped us identify room for further improvement on our part. To recompense you for your negative experience, we would like to provide with the best and most personalized hospitality during your next stay. In principle, all our rooms have a cooling system. Unfortunately, the unusually high temperatures at this time of year put our facility to the test. Zurich is also subject to strict regulations on how far cooling is allowed. We can absolutely understand that this can sometimes not be considered sufficient for our guests. We are happy to assist on site with fans, coolant or a room change. We make every effort to ensure that our guests can have a pleasant stay even with these hot temperatures. We would be more than happy to welcome you again at the Sorell Hotels and hope you will give us a second chance. Kind regards Ariane Oswald, Cluster General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vitzi wrote a review Jun 2022
London, United Kingdom597 contributions40 helpful votes
+1
Good 3 star, 5 min walk from train station and town center. We had a Deluxe Double on the 3rd floor and it was massive. Some of the Deluxe doubles get converted to family rooms, hence the extra room for extra beds. The room was well appointed, the bed was comfortable, there was also a desk and closet. Bathroom was large with separate shower and bath. The room was very clean. Staff were very friendly, breakfast was included in the price and plentiful (fruits, yogurts, breads, ham, cheese, eggs, freshly squeezed orange juice, coffee, tea, etc. In summary, a solid 3 star. We stayed during weekdays. If you stay during the weekend you should know there is a bar next door which may be noisy (but the hotel has double glacéd windows). Minor items (which didn’t bother us) include, small elevator, red hall carpets that may be getting a bit old.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Deluxe Double
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sorell Hotel Rütli Zürich, Owner at Sorell Hotel Rutli
Responded 16 Jun 2022
Dear Vitzi We would like to thank you very much for having chosen the Sorell Hotel Rütli as your preferable destination to spend your time in Zurich. Your honest feedback is highly appreciated. We will gladly forward your positive experience to our team. Such positive feedback encourages us in our efforts to provide our guests with a positive experience at the Sorell Hotels. We hope to welcome you soon again at the Sorell Hotel Rütli. Kind regards - your Sorell Hotel Rütli Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sanka1 🇱🇰🇬🇧 wrote a review May 2022
Bicester, United Kingdom3192 contributions274 helpful votes
+1
We've stayed 1 night in this hotel on our trip to Zurich and it was good. Below are the things we liked and which could be improved. What we liked: 1. Room: modern and had everything we needed including a room level A/C which allowed us to control the temperature. Fairly spacious room with good selection of Rituals products in the bathroom. 2. Location: City centre location with everything within a 10min walk from the hotel. There are plenty of restaurants and shops around to buy what you need. 3. Breakfast: free with room booking. There's a fairly good selection of food offered for both vegetarians and people with allergies. 4. Staff: very helpful and attentive. We did have to call a few times when the power went off in the room but this was early morning and acceptable to be a bit late. What could be improved: 1. Parking: the closest parking at the Urania is very expensive (CHF45 per night). Not sure if anything can be done about that. 2. Bed: it wasn't very comfortable and I kept hitting the sideboard in the night as the bed was kept against the wall. The room looked different to what was on the photos when I booked it. Overall a good stay and can recommend if you're looking for a hotel in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Find parking a bit away from the city centre to avoid paying a hefty fee.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sorell Hotel Rütli, Sonstige at Sorell Hotel Rutli
Responded 4 Jun 2022
Dear Sanka1 Thank you to sharing your experience during your stay with us at Sorell Hotel Rütli. Sorell Hotels are a smart choice because of their central location and absolutely delicious Sorell breakfast. Unfortunately, our house does not have its own parking spaces due to the absolute downtown location. Our guests are therefore dependent on the public parking lots and multi-storey car parks. The costs for this in the city of Zurich for 24 hours are around CHF 40.00.We would be pleased to welcome you back at the Sorell Hotels and to make your stay as perfect as possible. Kind regards - Ariane Oswald, Cluster General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hui Fang O wrote a review May 2022
Singapore, Singapore5 contributions
The location of the hotel is good, just a bus stop away or walk about 8min from Zurich HB. The staff is friendly, attentive and welcoming, the room is clean and quite decent size. And they offer good breakfast! It was a great stay (although just for a night) and price is reasonable.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sorell Hotel Rütli, Sonstige at Sorell Hotel Rutli
Responded 4 Jun 2022
Dear Hui Fang Thank you for your encouraging rating. Great, that you share your positive impressions. Your positive feedback shows us, that you have truly appreciated our high service standards. Thanks to our employees, we manage to surprise and delight our guests every day - that is our passion. We look forward to seeing you again soon at the Sorell Hotel Rütli soon. Best regards - your Sorell Hotel Rütli Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bing O wrote a review Apr 2022
Rowland Heights, California49 contributions48 helpful votes
First, the good. The only person that prevented this from being a 1 star review was Cathy who served us breakfast. She was absolutely wonderful and friendly. She was 5 stars. The location is also good bc it is close to old town and a short walk from the train station. Location is 4 stars. Hotel room itself was above average in spaciousness. Seemed clean and no one was itchy or got a rash from the beddings. It was a hot 3 days we were there and there was no AC but I am not sure how common it is to have AC in Switzerland. 4 stars. However, the two male receptionists we worked with Malik and Saeed (spelling?) were rude and not accommodating. Specific examples: we had a party of 10 and on our first night he saw several members of our party take the elevator to the rooms and he rudely assumed they were unpaid guests trying to sneak in. We informed him we had 4 rooms booked w him and he double checked and calmed down. The next incident was the next day we were going to go on a 6 am excursion the next day and we asked saeed if we can have breakfast to go since breakfast started at 630. He said yes. The next day Malik is taking care of breakfast and since we were in a hurry the first 3 people in our group grabbed about 8 pieces of pastries and some deli meat for our group. He confronted them and said they were using up all of the food for the rest of the hotel and they cannot do that. We informed him we told Saeed the night before and he OK’d it. But he said no one told him and he still wouldn’t allow us to take any more food to go (we had 2 toddlers that wanted things other than bread and pastries). The third strike was there was complimentary ice water in a jug located on the front desk. One of my party wanted to fill up her reusable flask with water and Malik said she could not do that because there wouldn’t be enough for the other hotel guests. Are we not hotel guests? Did we not pay for 10 guests, 4 rooms and 3 nights? If it runs out, shouldn’t it be his job just to simply refill the jug w water? A lot of unnecessary rude comments directed towards us for the duration of our stay which really soured the whole experience.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sorell Hotel Rütli, Sonstige at Sorell Hotel Rutli
Responded 5 May 2022
Dear Bing O Thank you for having taken the time to review the Sorell Hotel Rütli. Thanks to Cathy, we are able to inspire our guests every day early in the morning. I regret all the more that the rest of the team - especially the behavior of our night porter - could not inspire you. With your detailed feedback, you help us to identify a weak point and to initiate immediate improvement measures. It would mean the world to us if we could welcome you once more at the Sorell Hotels and we'll show you that we can do better. Kind regards, Ariane Oswald, Cluster General Manger
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Camille K wrote a review Apr 2022
Newton, Massachusetts96 contributions63 helpful votes
I stayed here as a solo traveler on a Saturday at the end of a business trip. Great location, five minutes from the train station, walkable to everywhere downtown, 20 minutes to the lake. Peaceful with a nice view from the fifth floor. Front desk staff were very helpful, breakfast was great with a warm welcome. The room was clean, comfortable, everything I needed with some nice touches. Would definitely send a friend, and stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sorell Hotel Rütli Zürich, Owner at Sorell Hotel Rutli
Responded 13 Apr 2022
Dear srobinson Thank you for your encouraging review and for having taken the time to share your positive experience with us. We are very pleased to hear that you felt at home during your stay with us at the Sorell Hotel Rütli and that the kindness you experienced at the Sorell Hotels was commendable. Thanks to our employees, we manage to surprise and delight our guests every day - that is our passion. We look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Sorell Hotels. Kind regards, Ariane Oswald & Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
srobinson1026 wrote a review Apr 2022
Milwaukee, Wisconsin9 contributions1 helpful vote
We spent two nights here and the room was clean and comfortable. Water pressure in the shower was great and there was even a yoga mat in the room to use! The breakfast was fantastic!! The service at breakfast was wonderful and the food was fresh and replenished often. The location of the hotel was right in downtown. We were right near the museum, all of the shops and the tram system.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sorell Hotel Rütli Zürich, Owner at Sorell Hotel Rutli
Responded 13 Apr 2022
Thank you for your encouraging rating. Great, that you share your positive impressions. Your positive feedback shows us, that you have truly appreciated our high service standards. Thanks to our employees, we manage to surprise and delight our guests every day - that is our passion. We look forward to seeing you again soon at the Sorell Hotel Rütli soon. Best regards - your Sorell Hotel Rütli Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$196 - US$270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sorell hotel zürich
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of ZurichZurichOld Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
66
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sorell Hotel Rutli
Which popular attractions are close to Sorell Hotel Rutli?
Nearby attractions include The Escape Gmbh (0.5 km), Old Town (0.4 km), and Zoological Museum (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sorell Hotel Rutli?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Sorell Hotel Rutli?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sorell Hotel Rutli?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Sorell Hotel Rutli?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sorell Hotel Rutli?
Conveniently located restaurants include Laderach, Restaurant La Soupière, and Ellermann`s Hummerbar.
Is Sorell Hotel Rutli located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Zurich.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sorell Hotel Rutli?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Sorell Hotel Rutli?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sorell Hotel Rutli?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Arabic, and Croatian.
Are there any historical sites close to Sorell Hotel Rutli?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Platzspitz (0.6 km), Liebfrauenkirche (0.4 km), and Zunfthaus zur Meisen (0.7 km).