We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Basilea

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Basilea
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

201 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 104: English reviews
Ecuador
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have traditionally booked a similar hotel not far from Basilea. It was a great positive experience! Great front-desk service at all times. Breakfast was most satisfactory (my only advice would be starting it half an hour earlier), and the room comfy and efficient. Its location is great! In the warm heart of the city, next to restaurants, bars, shops,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marklaseve
Michael W, Manager at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review

Dear marklaseve Thank you for sharing your experience and for the preference. We value your feedback as it helps us to focus on what is important to our guests. Am glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and our services. We are looking forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back! Yours sincerely Michael Weidner Resident Manager

Collingswood, NJ
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stay at the Hotel Basilea every winter when I'm in Zurich on business. Here's what I love and why I continue to return: friendly staff, proximity to all public transportation and many shops and restaurants, good breakfast with sufficient options, and a clean room with the basic amenities I need, such as a hair dryer, desk, and safe (note:...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LindaBWright
Michael W, Manager at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review

Dear LindaBWright Thank you so much for your extraordinary good review. It helps us to focus on what is important to our guests. We appreciate and value your endorsement and we look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back for another pleasant experience at Hotel Basilea! Yours sincerely Michael Weidner Resident Manager

Park City, Utah
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Zurich is a very expensive hotel city. If you want location, you will pay for it. Basilea is a remarkably good location, less than a 10 minute walk from the train station and right amidst the old town. The hotel itself has been around for many years, and has been well renovated. My very small single room was completely functional,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TumbleweedandCactus
Michael W, Manager at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review

Dear TumbleweedandCactus Thank you so much for your extraordinary good review. We really appreciate it. At Basilea we offer large family rooms, double rooms and small budget rooms aswell. We would be happy to welcoming you back another time at the Hotel Basilea Zürich Yours sincerely Michael Weidner Resident Manager

Reviewed 6 October 2016

I unfortunately had no sleep with noise from both outside and within the hotel. I got up to shower this morning to find the shower head detached (broken) so had to use this as a hose and the smell coming from the bathroom is near unbearable – it’s not actually carpeted but a laminate wicker flooring throughout the room including...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank delish2
Michael W, Manager at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review

Dear delish2 Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property, your feedback is important to us. We are very sorry to hear that you had no sleep because of noises. Hotel Basilea is located only five minutes walking distance from Zurich`s main station and amidst the bustling and picturesque old town in the city centre. We...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 18 September 2016

I've stayed at this hotel for about 4 trips now, spanning 2 years. Experience: It's good. It's in the city center and hot-spots nearby are easily accessible esp the main train station. Room: I wish they provided a hot-water kettle. Rooms might be a little small depending on the type you go for but then it's Zurich. I guess some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Parkingby
Michael W, Manager at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review

Dear Parkingby Thank you very much for staying with us 4 times already and for your good review. Am glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and the cleanliness of our rooms. Hot-water kettles can be borrowed at the reception. We would be happy to welcoming you back another time at the Hotel Basilea Zürich Yours sincerely Michael Weidner

Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

The hotel is ideally located, close to the central train station, the river, nice shops, bars and restaurants. The staff at the reception is very nice and helpful. Rooms are large and could've easily accommodated larger beds. But it's not the place where you can rest after a long day working. The pillows are small and uncomfortable, no air conditioning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ayman M
Michael W, Manager at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review

Dear Ayman M thank you very much for your detailed feedback. Am glad to hear, that you like our staff. We are planning to improve our room- climate during the warm summer season. We would be happy to welcoming you back again to Hotel Basilea Zürich. Yours sincerely Michael Weidner

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

The hotel right in the middle of the busy area. In old city with loads of food and drink options around. 5 min walk from train station and about 13 min from airport by car. Rooms are small but clean. You can ask for kettle and electric adaptors, yob just need to pay a refundable deposit. You can borrow the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mahmoud s
Michael W, Manager at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review

Dear mahmoud s thank you very much for your detailed feedback. I am glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you like our services. The area is safe during day and night and regularly patrolled by security. We would be happy to welcoming you back another time at the Hotel Basilea Zürich. Yours sincerely...

Freiburg, Germany
Reviewed 7 August 2016

In June, attending a conference, my wife and I spent two nights in this decent Zurich hotel. Since it is not easy to find a hotel in this town both near the universities and at a reasonable price, the organisers booked this three star hotel for us. You may reach it on foot from the Central Station, and at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lahjakas
Michael W, Manager at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review

Dear lahjakas Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Hotel Basilea. The hotel is located only five minutes walking distance from Zurich`s main station and amidst the bustling and picturesque old town in the city centre. The area is very safe during day and night and regularly patrolled by security....

Reviewed 16 July 2016

Dated but clean tourist hotel in a very central location. Fairly expensive for what it was - perhaps to be expected given how expensive Switzerland is - but was decent value compared to prices of other hotels in town. Best thing: the central location. It's in the city's red light/bar district so there's a certain 'atmosphere' at night. All very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank muglo505
Michael W, Manager at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review

Dear muglo505 thank you very much for your appreciated feedback. Am glad to hear, that our prices are decent compare to the other hotels. We are planning to improve our room- climate during the warm summer season. We would be happy to welcoming you back again to Hotel Basilea Zürich. Yours sincerely Michael Weidner

Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

Very good hotel for reasonable price. Small but adequate rooms. Very cooperative and friendly staff. We stayed for 2 nights. Walkable from Zurich train station. This hotel is located at the center of Zurich. You will find many Indian restaurants close to this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dipak B
Michael W, Manager at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review

Dear Dipak B Thank you so much for your extraordinary good review. Am glad to hear that you like our staff and our product. At Hotel Basilea we offer different sized rooms, from small budget rooms up to large family rooms. We would be happy to welcoming you back another time at the Hotel Basilea Zürich. Yours sincerely Michael Weidner...

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Zuercherhof
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre
Hotel du Theatre
#63 of 134 in Zurich
470 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Scheuble
Hotel Scheuble
#95 of 134 in Zurich
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#37 of 134 in Zurich
476 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Limmatblick
Hotel Limmatblick
#102 of 134 in Zurich
137 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#16 of 134 in Zurich
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Hotel Basilea

Address: Zaehringerstrasse 25, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Price Range: $219 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Basilea 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Basilea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basilea Hotel zürich
Hotel Basilea Zurich
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Basilea staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Basilea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the 3rd/4th floor in the back of the building are quieter.”
  • photo above the double bed
  • view out 3rd floor window on back side of hotel
  • bathroom
  • double room on the third floor
 of 5 bubbles LindaBWright, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“perhaps on the rear side”
 of 5 bubbles lahjakas, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“See the room on arrival”
 of 5 bubbles mayamaya2013, 10 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Request room on the third floor on the back side of the building.”
  • photo above the double bed
  • view out 3rd floor window on back side of hotel
  • bathroom
  • double room on the third floor
 of 5 bubbles LindaBWright, 10 Nov 2015 | Read review
“The hotel is on a busy street with lots of restaurants/bars. Recommend bringing earplugs to mute the outside noise. The beds are super comfortable!”
 of 5 bubbles 793vala, 24 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay