We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Marktgasse 17, Zurich 8001 Switzerland
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$415
View deal
TripadvisorUS$415
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
PricelineUS$489
eDreams
Vio.comUS$415
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (178)
Room & Suite (101)
Dining (17)

About

#65 of 145 hotels in Zurich
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
HOME AWAY FROM HOME IN THE HEART OF ZURICH'S OLD TOWN Our boutique hotel - with its 39 individually furnished rooms, a restaurant with bar and a cafe shop - is right in the middle of the old part of Zurich. Surrounded by winding lanes and centuries of history, just a short walk from top sightseeing highlights, the lake and the main train station, you'll have the pleasure of staying at one of Zurich's oldest inns. Following a careful and comprehensive renovation, the hotel offers a compelling mix of timeless eclectic design and tremendous charm and personality.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Highchairs available
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun umbrellas
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Boutique
Languages Spoken
English, French, German, Italian
296Reviews3Q+A32Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 144
  • 96
  • 31
  • 14
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Bequia1 wrote a review Nov 2022
Boston, Massachusetts233 contributions202 helpful votes
The Marktgasse is well located in a nice part of Zurich, and the staff were very kind and helpful to me on my recent visit. I appreciated the hotel's overall ambiance, including its lovely library filled with books. My only complaint was that the room I was in, though large and facing the street, was very basic and rather depressing. I don't need much to make me happy in a hotel room, but after walking miles each day exploring the city, coming back to my room was a letdown, and it just wasn't very comfortable. I'll give the hotel four stars for its overall feel and its excellent staff, but seems like the rooms could use a bit of warmth and color.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marktgasse Hotel, General Manager at Marktgasse Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Patti R, We would like to thank you very much for your review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we are glad you enjoyed the Marktgasse Hotel and the service our lovely staff provides. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the minimalistic style of our rooms and will discuss your comments. Further, we hope you had a good journey back home and hope to welcome you back, the next time you visit Zurich!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alexandra V wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
This hotel is located in a nice area. Otherwise it is quite basic. The furnishings are very simple, and the services of the hotel don’t match what one might expect of a hotel at this price point. The check out process was quite confused. I was shown a pile of bills some of which I didn’t recognize and at first the extra city tax cost was not explained to me. At the cafe I was told repeatedly that coffee was included for guests by one of the servers and then was charged for all the coffees I had ordered. The breakfast buffet costs 18 francs and is quite basic. Overall I would recommend looking elsewhere in Zurich for better value.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Marktgasse Hotel, General Manager at Marktgasse Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear L2866RHalexandrAV, Even if we were not able to convince you during your last visit, we would like to thank you for your visit and for taking the time to write a review afterwards. Firstly, we are sorry that you had such a disappointing experience. We have since spoken to all involved departments and taken the necessary actions to prevent miscommunication in the future. Coffee in our Delish Café is included for hotel guests during breakfast hours when paying for the breakfast buffet (CHF 18.-) and is payable the rest of the day after breakfast. Free coffee is available at the reception 24h. We sincerely apologize that this was not communicated correctly to you and led to difficulties during the check out. We always strive to improve and your suggestions help us to do so and we hope to be able to convince you of our improvements soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
karlwang wrote a review Sep 2022
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates441 contributions73 helpful votes
+1
Its very small hotel and I like the everything of the design. Just simple, clean and beautiful room. The design of the room is just perfect and fit for the purpose, Proper location, good amenities and I really enjoy the stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marktgasse Hotel, General Manager at Marktgasse Hotel
Responded 30 Sep 2022
Dear karlwang, Thank you very much for your great review. We are delighted that you had a good time at Marktgasse and hope to welcome you back very soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CmkAtl wrote a review Jun 2022
Saint Paul, Minnesota196 contributions36 helpful votes
+1
The hotel is in the Old Town and is well situated for exploring Zurich. The bed and pillows were comfortable. The tub sits on a platform in the bathroom area and it’s very easy to repeatedly stub your toes. Ouch! Our room overlooked the walkway/passage outside and we were awakened early each morning to the sounds of the trash truck doing its rounds. The staff is neither helpful or friendly. The breakfast is from a bakery/takeout place next door. It’s not well run, so it was somewhat frustrating getting our breakfast there.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Marktgasse Hotel, General Manager at Marktgasse Hotel
Responded 9 Jun 2022
Dear CmkAtl, Even though we weren't able to meet your expectations during your last visit, I would like to thank you for staying at the Marktgasse Hotel and for taking the time to write a review. I am very sorry to hear that you did not sleep well due to noise from the trash trucks on the street and am glad that the bed was atleast comfortable for you. The Delish Café and Pinseria is run by the hotel and located on the ground floor of the hotel and serves breakfast in the morning and then switches to serving Pinsa and several other dishes for lunch and all troughout the afternoon, I am sorry that the concept was not to your liking. I would also like to apologize that you had a bad experience with our staff, to discuss how we can better ourselves and improve our service I would like to hear more from you about what happened during your stay. Please do not hesitate to contact me through the front office e-mail address if you would like to share more details with me. We would love to welcome you back if you give us a chance, so we can show you that your unsatisfactory stay was an exception. Kind Regards, Marianne Honegger Front Office Supervisor
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
triplover1968 wrote a review May 2022
London, United Kingdom54 contributions30 helpful votes
Very nice stay in this hotel. Location in the hotel town is great. The staff was very helpful and polite. The size of the room was good, it was modern, it was also clean and lastly the bed was super comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Marktgasse Hotel, General Manager at Marktgasse Hotel
Responded 8 Jun 2022
Dear triplover1968, Thank you very much for your review! It's lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay in Zurich and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ecfrankyboy wrote a review Apr 2022
Montreal, Canada11 contributions6 helpful votes
This is a very charming boutique hotel in the old town of Zurich. The place is freshly renovated, and the rooms are clean and tidy. The staff is very unassuming, attentive, and accommodating. Great restaurants and shops are just around the corner and several landmarks are a few minutes walk away, not to mention Zurich’s central train station. With Switzerland’s incredibly efficient public transit system, you can easily go anywhere at anytime. There are more expensive and cheaper hotels in the area, but somewhere in the middle, the Marktgasse offers an excellent value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Beware of the smaller rooms, which are very small, at least for North American standards. There...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Marktgasse Hotel, General Manager at Marktgasse Hotel
Responded 18 Apr 2022
Thank you Ecfrankyboy, for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are really happy that you enjoyed your Zurich trip so much! We are very proud of the service our staff provides every day and we are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay to the fullest. We have shared your feedback with the team and are already looking forward to welcoming you again on your next Switzerland Vacation!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JNewsxyz wrote a review Mar 2022
New York City, New York54 contributions85 helpful votes
Hotel was lovely and in a beautiful area of Old Town. The bed was seriously so comfortable and we had a nice quiet room. The shower/ bath was great, as were the bath products. Front desk person was lovely at check in. Everything was clean. Only tip is don’t try to walk the 15 minutes from the main train station if you have big luggage, the cobblestones by the hotel are too tough! Taxi or the 4 tram goes right there. We did not try breakfast, just got croissants and coffee at a cafe around the corner. Will stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Marktgasse Hotel, General Manager at Marktgasse Hotel
Responded 18 Mar 2022
Dear JNewsxyz, Thank you very much for your review and your stay at the Marktgasse Hotel. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your room and welcome. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon at our hotel and that you will get to try our breakfast selection. Please let us know anytime if we may assist you with booking a transfer from the main train station or the airport. Kind regards, Marktgasse Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
vibegro wrote a review Nov 2021
Denmark59 contributions24 helpful votes
Such a fine, charming and in the same time stylish hotel⭐️ best thing however is the cocktails and service you receive at the IGNIV bar / restaurant which is part of the hotel. Elegant, attentive, firstgrade - and the quality of the cocktails 😘Nothing more to be said💫
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Marktgasse Hotel, Geschäftsführer at Marktgasse Hotel
Responded 31 Mar 2022
Thank you so much!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kristin M wrote a review Sep 2021
4 contributions2 helpful votes
A gorgeous boutique hotel in the centre of Zurich's old town streets. The rooms are very comfortable and with a lot of space! We were very happy with the staff, the service and the breakfast! And the restaurant there was excellent!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marktgasse Hotel, Geschäftsführer at Marktgasse Hotel
Responded 7 Apr 2022
Thank you very much!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mlle2013 wrote a review Apr 2021
Zurich, Switzerland138 contributions57 helpful votes
We only took the hotel because we could eat in the restaurant - in fact we couldn’t even stay the night as we wanted to get back to our babysitter aka our eldest daughter. Nevertheless this is a gorgeous boutique hotel in the centre of Zurich old town. The rooms are chic and comfortable, the bathrooms are high spec and we were very happy to experience a little designer glamour in what is otherwise a slow season for dining out.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Marktgasse Hotel, Geschäftsführer at Marktgasse Hotel
Responded 7 Apr 2022
Thank you very much!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$256 - US$426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of ZurichZurichOld Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
39
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MARKTGASSE HOTEL: UPDATED 2022 Reviews, Price Comparison and 237 Photos (Zurich, Switzerland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Marktgasse Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Marktgasse Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Museum of Art (Kunsthaus Zurich) (0.4 km), Old Town (0.3 km), and Lindenhof Hill (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Marktgasse Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Marktgasse Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Marktgasse Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Marktgasse Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Marktgasse Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Haus zum Rüden, La Pasta, and Zunfthaus zur Waag.
Does Marktgasse Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Marktgasse Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Marktgasse Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Zurich.
Are any cleaning services offered at Marktgasse Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Marktgasse Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Marktgasse Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, and Italian.