We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mdoni House Guest Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Mdoni House Guest Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

22 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 22: English reviews
Empangeni, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This owner managed accommodation proved to be a home away from home. It's located in a quiet area within walking distance of a mini shopping Centre and town is less than 10minutes away. Jean and Carl received us warmly, their rooms are tastefully decorated and the breakfast next morning, which was freshly prepared while we waited was super yummy. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank terryshava
1996Disco1, Manager at Mdoni House Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Terrance, Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 8 September 2016

A very quiet and beautiful place. The room are clean. Restaurants are in the neighborhood. The breakfast is very good. We love to come back to this place. The service is good. When you have questions they will help you until everything is solved.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cor V
Carl W, Owner at Mdoni House Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Cor. It was very nice to have you stay at Mdoni House Guest Lodge and we look forward to your return. Enjoy the rest of your time in South Africa, and safe trip home.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 23 May 2016

My time at the guest house was good. Very warm welcome. And the owners are friendly. Close to amenities. I would stay there again if I'm ever in Port Shepstone. Thank you for being very helpful with all my enquiries. Really helped me in navigating the place as it was my first time there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nondwek
1996Disco1, Owner at Mdoni House Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to do this review Nondwe. We really appreciate it. It was so nice having you stay here and we look forward to meeting you again.

Reviewed 11 April 2016

Terrible Experience. The owners were loud, rude and condescending. It doesn't matter whether the place was old or new, clean or not, what matters is the hospitality and the feeling of being welcome. Based on that, one will immediately overlook any negativities, if they are made to feel home. They failed on these. I returned the key and did not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Prashikar
1996Disco1, Owner at Mdoni House Guest Lodge, responded to this review

When 2 cars full of people arrived at 10am for a reservation for 2 people we were worried as we were fully booked. We refused to allow you to check in with your daughter as you had not booked for her. We will not overcrowd our rooms and do not accommodate children, so you arranged for her to stay the...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 8 April 2016

I was completely satisfied with my stay. The food is great, its situated in a nice area, i will definitely stay there again. Staff are very helpful. the rooms are lovely and it is nice that there is a pool:)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 358clintond
1996Disco1, Owner at Mdoni House Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Clinton. We are so pleased that you were happy here, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 5 March 2016

Very friendly people - and dogs - weather restricted our use of the pool but it looked good. Excellent breakfast.. couple were very knowledgeable about the area and gave good advice on dining out. We would certainly use this facility again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank B2059KPjohnt
1996Disco1, Owner at Mdoni House Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to do this review it is most appreciated. We loved having you here and look forward to meeting you again.

DeLand, Florida
Reviewed 5 January 2016

Great people nice establishment . Clean, friendly , lovely garden very relaxing , 10 out of 10 . Close to beaches , shopping and restaurants. I will not hesitate to recommend Mdoni House Guest Lodge to family and friends . Thanks for a wonderful stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank constantinep2016
1996Disco1, Owner at Mdoni House Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Dino, it was wonderful to have you both here. So glad you enjoyed your stay here and we would love to see you back.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 27 December 2015

Thank you so much for a wonderful stay, will certainly vist again! We were welcomed so warmly and treated so well, felt like home. The area was so quite and relaxing, the Dogs were also friendly. Thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank itumelengmaphutha
1996Disco1, Owner at Mdoni House Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Itumeleng. It was lovely having you and your family here and we look forward to seeing you again.

Jhb
Reviewed 26 December 2015

On arrival, there was a mix up with the reservation. The owner screamed at us before we could even query what the issue was, and only apologised after I said I would review her badly. The rooms are small. There is no air conditioning, only a fan that works in a single setting. The bathrooms are clean but the tiles...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Resh S
1996Disco1, Owner at Mdoni House Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. In 15 years of running a successful B&B you have taught us something - to stop being considerate and to refuse entry to people who arrive with 60% more people than have been booked and paid for demanding entry - and who lie about where they live so we feel sorry for them as it...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 20 September 2015

RoomsVery neat and friendly staff.Information brochure was helpful and good tv signal which is always a problem with most of the guest houses.Although it would be nice to have aircon instead of a fan.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thobs_gwala
1996Disco1, Owner at Mdoni House Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your very nice review. We are so glad you were mostly happy here. While we would love to have aircon in our bedrooms, unfortunately this is not practical so close to the sea. It would be so nice to host you again

25 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Shepstone
15.7 km away
Oribi Gorge Hotel
Oribi Gorge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Port Shepstone
52 reviews
29.3 km away
San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa
1.9 km away
Umthunzi Hotel & Conference
Umthunzi Hotel & Conference
#1 of 3 in Port Shepstone
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Lombok Lodge
Lombok Lodge
#2 of 17 in Port Shepstone
20 reviews
1.7 km away
Royston Hall Guesthouse
Royston Hall Guesthouse
#1 of 17 in Port Shepstone
78 reviews
0.7 km away
Stephans Guesthouse
Stephans Guesthouse
#4 of 17 in Port Shepstone
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Mdoni House Guest Lodge

Address: 10 Norwood Road | Umtentwini, Port Shepstone 4235, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Port Shepstone
Price Range: $81 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mdoni House Guest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Mdoni House Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mdoni House Guest Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Gauteng, South Africa

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Mdoni House Guest Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay