We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hampshire Hotel - City Groningen

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hampshire Hotel - City Groningen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

673 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 184: English reviews
Start your review of Hampshire Hotel - City Groningen
 Click to rate
Chaumont-Gistoux, Belgium
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

I have been several times in this hotel, had a nicely renovated room, clean and good facilities. The hamam is good. Location perfect, city center and restaurants nearby, price reasonable. Breakfast is average

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clementineWavre
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were for a visit in Groningen 18th march. The hotel was near the station (15 minutes walk) in the center off shops, restaurants and bars, and across the casino wich was open till 3 am. In the hotel and everywhere the people where very kind and helpfull. The room was oke, clean and everything we needed. Coffee machine in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yvonne-ehv
CityHotelGroningen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - City Groningen, responded to this review

Dear Yvonne, Thank you for your visit to our hotel and of course for leaving this pleasant review. I am glad that our location and facilities suits you well. We always try to be as helpful as possible to give our guests a memorable stay. I wish we could control the weather, in that case we certainly would have ;)...

Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Accommodation was average, although clean and staff were friendly. Parking garage was not on site although only a few minutes by foot, website doesn't mention this as far as I could see. Was fairly central and easily reachable by foot to the main square in town.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is fairly close to the airport taking around 15 minutes and costs approximately 70Dkk. The hotel itself is central, has plenty of bars and restaurants nearby and a casino opposite. The hotel is ok, not 4 or 5 star, the standard rooms are fairly basic but comfortable and with everything you'd need for a 1/2 night stay. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason R
Retford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is an excellent hotel, located just off the city centre, convenient for bus and train stations. Accommodation is well maintained, good housekeeping. A buffet breakfast offers a wide range of items and drinks. A small bar is available with pleasant setting area. Good value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewed 7 February 2017

The hotel has a very good location - you can go by foot from the railway station and the city center is also at a walking distance. The rooms are perfectly clean and nice (one complaint: the pillows - uncomfortable for the backbone...). The breakfast is great, much more than you expect from a 3-star hotel. What makes the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ADB0214
CityHotelGroningen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - City Groningen, responded to this review

Dear Daniela, Thank you for your review, how nice to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and our beautiful city. I hope our new pillows were not too thick? We have thinner ones available, we would have loved to bring you these. My apologies that we did not know. I am glad that you like our breakfast...

Durham, North Carolina
Reviewed 17 January 2017

It's such a great place, with a friendly staff and a really nice ambience. And it's close to everything! We were traveling with our infant and the staff prepared a really nice crib with a cute set of baby linen. Way to go! We will stay there again!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank asiapolko
CityHotelGroningen, Receptioniste at Hampshire Hotel - City Groningen, responded to this review

Dear asiapolko, thank you for taking the time to write this review, we really appreciate it! We are happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Hopefully we will see you again! Kind regards, Nadine - Receptionist

Andover, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2016

I stay in this hotel at least 3 times a year, to visit old friends living nearby. So, I'm not in the hotel a lot but just use it to sleep and have a shower. I think it is very affordable, being based in the city centre, with great rooms, good beds and friendly staff.

Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank marklllll
KimBekkering, Front Office Manager at Hampshire Hotel - City Groningen, responded to this review

Dear Mark, Thank you for your review, we are happy to hear that you enjoy staying in our hotel. Have a great day and hope to see you again in the future! Best regards,

Almere
Reviewed 20 December 2016

it was a very pleasant stay in this hotel. All things together , location, staff, rooms and service, made it complete. It was Top stay. Also the distance to the old centre is only 5-10 minutes. We forgot the car, it was very easy to reach everything by foot.

Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank vincentl1324
KimBekkering, Front Office Manager at Hampshire Hotel - City Groningen, responded to this review

Dear Vincent, Thank you for the feedback and compliments, we love to hear our guests being this happy. I surely hope to welcome you again someday. Happy holidays! Best regards,

Groningen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 27 November 2016

We are used to stay in Hapshire hotel Groningen Centre, which is 400 m away from this Hapshire. This time we decided to have a change a go for the current one, which is slightly closer to downtown. Well upon our arrival we were told that the only clean room they have is on the ground floor, with not a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlinaVel
KimBekkering, Front Office Manager at Hampshire Hotel - City Groningen, responded to this review

Dear Alina, Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay in our hotel. My sincere apologies that there was noise coming from the restaurant next door and that the door to your hallway did not close quietly. We will definately look into it. We very much appreciate your feedback. I am sorry we did not meet up...

99 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Groningen hotels
Binnenstad-Zuid
Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre
Stadscentrum
Prinsenhof Hotel
Prinsenhof Hotel
#1 of 17 in Groningen
244 reviews
NH Groningen
#2 of 17 in Groningen
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadscentrum
NH Groningen Hotel de Ville
Apollo Hotel Groningen
#6 of 17 in Groningen
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - City Groningen

Address: Gedempte Kattendiep 25, 9711 PM Groningen, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Groningen Province > Groningen
Price Range: $118 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - City Groningen 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - City Groningen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hampshire Hotel - City Groningen staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
19 days ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hampshire Hotel - City Groningen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upgrade to superior room was not worth the extra charge.”
 of 5 bubbles andrewgO1556XP, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Well appointed rooms, good size, accommodation available on five floors.”
 of 5 bubbles NeilS95, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Very good, clean and tidy. ”
 of 5 bubbles 391victora, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask a room that is not underground”
  • Black hole on the wall is
  • Metallic sink
  • Bathroom
 of 5 bubbles Schonefeld, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for quiet room if desired, they will help”
 of 5 bubbles Trip_K_C_85, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5