We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

856 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Showing 648: English reviews
Texas
Reviewed 1 May 2015

The Amstel Hotel is wonderful. As soon as we checked in we knew this would be a great stay. The staff is wonderful and if you're not sure where to go or what to do, just ask them. We happened to catch a couple days with beautiful sun and hung out on the canal at the bar patio watching a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JL1011
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor. I am happy to read that you had a great stay and that you received great service from our staff. I will definitely share your compliments with them, especially with Duncan, Peter and Albert. How wonderful that you enjoyed the canal view from the room but also from...

Westbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 April 2015

We stayed at the Amstel over a long weekend and were so very impressed with the hotel, its amenities, ambience and services. All the staff were efficient, welcoming, friendly and very helpful. Our suite was lovely with great views over the river Amstel and the bed was extremely comfortable. Aad, the head concierge and members of his team, Peter and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 567colint
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, I appreciate the fact that you took time to share your nice experiences with us. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your long weekend stay and that you were impressed by the amenities, ambience and services. I will definitely share your compliments with the staff and especially with Aad, Peter, Duncan, Albert and Andrew. Thank you...

Cypress, Texas
Reviewed 28 April 2015 via mobile

The reviews are very concise and were the reason I chose This hotel. I have not been disappointed. The rooms were very well decorated and come with a great large bathtub of you are in the suites. The staff is extremely helpful and professional. The restaurant La Rive was a treat and should be considered as one of my top...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gordon C
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking time to share your experience at the InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam. I am pleased to read that you chose our hotel to stay after reading the reviews and that you had a pleasant stay. How wonderful that you liked the well decorated rooms and the helpful and professional staff. The Amstel hotel is indeed the...

Dorset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2015

Probably the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Staff were efficient, welcoming, friendly and helpful. Room very big and beds extremely comfortable. Concierge managed to get us tickets for The Rijksmuseum for the next morning and could have done so for Anne Franks house but it would have meant on early start so we declined. Good location for walking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RonniePenny
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, I appreciate the fact that you took time to share your wonderful experiences with us. I am honoured to read that you experienced the hotel as the best hotel you have ever stayed in. How wonderful that you enjoyed your room, the location and the service provided by our concierges. I will definitely pass on your compliments to...

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 25 April 2015

Besides being out of the way and old fashioned, this hotel has unimaginably bad service. Arrive with bags? No one will offer to help carry them up the fight of stairs to the lobby. They will however stare blindly ahead as they watch you struggle up the flight ending with a locked door! Need a reservation at the restaurant? Sorry,...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank LoveBK
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your honest comment on Tripadvisor. We regret to hear about your disappointing stay and would like to offer you our apologies for any discomfort that this may have caused to you. Your comments have our full attention and have also been discussed with the head of departments involved. We kindly ask you to...

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 24 April 2015

Beautiful hotel all around. InterContinentals around the world have always proven to be very high quality places to stay, and the Amstel Amsterdam is no exception. Make sure to make time to enjoy the spa and pool on the lower levels - such a great amenity that should be taken advantage of.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ccal3pacific
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, I appreciate the fact that you took time to share your beautiful experiences with us on TripAdvisor. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and Health Club. Our Health & Fitness Club is the perfect place to start your day or to relax after a day of sightseeing, offering a nice view over the...

aberdeen
Reviewed 19 April 2015

The Amstel is indeed a grand old dam! the interior decor is traditional with a touch of alice in wonderland . This mixture is cheap and confusing . The concierge is adorable . If you like to stand in line for a limited breakfast including very dry curled up slices of cheese ..then this is your place. Chintz abounds in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roseyred22
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your honest review on Tripadvisor. I regret to hear that you are confused after your stay at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam and would like to offer you my apologies for any discomfort that this may have caused to you. Your comments about the breakfast and interior have our full attention and I would like to assure...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2015

Outstanding in all respects - what a pleasure to stay here. The hotel staff get it just right at all levels: welcoming, friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. And turning to the inanimate aspects of this very fine and longstanding world class hotel, the architecture and furnishings and presentation throughout are pretty impressive too. 'Wonderful' is the all-embracing phrase, and that includes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John L
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, I appreciate the fact that you took the time to share your enjoyable experience with us. It is wonderful to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you received great service from our professional staff. It is a pleasure for them to contribute to an excellent stay at the InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, and I...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 14 April 2015

The good: - extremely friendly and helpful staff - remember your name and are prompt and helpful with requests - nice all you can eat a la carte breakfast - good food - giant, spacious rooms - beautiful view of amstel - good water pressure Not so good: - thin walls - old furnishings - slow internet - just generally...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to read that you received great service from our extremely friendly and helpful staff and that you enjoyed the breakfast and spacious rooms with nice Amstel river view. Our rooms have room sizes that rank amongst the largest in Amsterdam. Unfortunately,...

Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 13 April 2015

This hotel is a TREASURE. The premises are impeccable, beautiful, magnificently furnished and cosy. The suite we occupied had a view overlooking the Amstel river and we felt like we were in a doll house. Everything was simply perfect. The SPA is excellently furnished, with a sauna, a steam bath, a cooling pool, two different kinds of fancy showers, a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SophieT68
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for this wonderful review about your stay in InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam. I am honoured to read that our hotel is a treasure and that you had a wonderful stay. Our Health Club indeed is a tranquil place where you can totally unwind and enjoy the stunning Amstel river view. Also, your praising words about...

715 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (554)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (99)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (94)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
2:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (258)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (161)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (63)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#2 of 361 in Amsterdam
1,061 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#7 of 361 in Amsterdam
282 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 361 in Amsterdam
2,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#9 of 361 in Amsterdam
1,152 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 361 in Amsterdam
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Plantage & the East

Neighbourhood Profile
Plantage & the East
The eastern edge of central Amsterdam provides visitors with the chance to imagine the city that Rembrandt called home (and to tour his historic house) while shopping like the thriftiest of locals at Waterlooplein’s massive flea market, or even enjoying a craft beer beside the tallest wooden windmill in The Netherlands. This verdant, serene, and stately part of town is home to Artis Royal Zoo, one of Europe’s oldest (and still best kept) zoos, and Hortus Botanicus, one of the oldest botanical gardens in the world. It's also an ideal setting for the Dutch outpost of St Petersburg’s Hermitage.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Since the day the doors opened in 1867, InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam has been revered the world over for its palatial grandeur and residential warmth. Located where the financial, cultural and shopping districts converge, the hotel is a short walk from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Spiegelkwartier and the Royal Carré Theatre. The Anne Frank House and the 14th-century Begijnhof are easy to reach by public transport or taxi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Address: Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Price Range: $503 - $834 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Amstel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Intercontinental Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you are Spire Elite don't expect benefits from this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles christopherr271, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“definitely ask for a water view”
 of 5 bubbles wdcgirl82, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Sign up for IHG rewards. Also, ask for an upgrade.”
 of 5 bubbles Arundhati80, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Join IHG and get your room upgraded!”
 of 5 bubbles ruthk582, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“room 106 is magnificent”
 of 5 bubbles pickyfromYorkshire, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay