We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Booking.comUS$133*
View Deal
#158 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,093 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Showing 716: English reviews
hull
Reviewed 20 March 2014

A member of staff opened and removed half a box of chocolate oreo's which we had bought for a gift, although it was only biscuits taken you start to think what else is missing| Daytime staff not interested, just shrugged their shoulders, very disappointing. Room average, bad smell in room when we returned after first day, cups left unwashed after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank floridapossy
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Sear Sir, thank you for writing this review. we have investigated this and asked our cleaningstaff but they did not even like sweets. You mentioned to the reception that your wallet and passport were next to it but nothing else besides the cookies was missing. We offered you a free breakfast and both evening and morning recpetionists were in the...

fife scotland
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Arrived after a long day and the room had a bad smell. It was also at the front of the building so was very noisy. Give the staff their due we were given another room right away and it was spotless. Wouldn't recommend this hotel. It badly needs freshened up.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank betty m
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Betty M, thank you for writing your comments overhere. I am sorry to hear that the room did not smell nice but it is good to read that the receptionist changed the room for you when you asked for it. The hotel is located in the city centre so noise cannot always be avoided. Thank you again for taken...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I found the customer service staff very helpful and friendly. I was there for Christmas in 2010 and it was very warm, friendly, including clean room with comfortable beds. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to travel to Amsterdam the Netherlands. Paul.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul P
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Paul P, thank you for your review. What a nice present to start the weekend with. Thank you for your kind words and we do hope to see you again in our hotel. Kind regards, Hans

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The hotel was very nice and clean .there was 6 of us that all went for 4 Day one room was very large and the other two rooms was very small and cramped. Most of the staff was nice and helpful, we was a little way out from all the main attractions but it was a nice walk to take...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda N
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Amanda, thank you for your kind words overhere. Our rooms have different sizes, it is a true and this is due to the fact that we are located in a ancient residence in the centre of the city. We hope to see you again in our hotel. Kind regards, Hans

Reviewed 3 March 2014

The best way to describe this hotel is beige. Nondescript, functional, affordable and good enough if you can't get better. The rooms are small but well equipped, adequate if all you need from a hotel is somewhere to sleep. The ensuite is best described as cosy. God knows how someone taller than 6' could use the toilet...Our radiator appeared to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim G
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Tim G, thank you for your comment overhere. It is good to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Kind regards, Hans

Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nights this week, i booked this through superbreak on a 4 night mini cruise to amsterdam and the hotel wasnt the best hotel in amsterdam, but then again when you are going there to explore the city how much time do you really spend in the room?! The room was small but clean and we was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Camacca
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Camacca, thank you very much for your kind words you have wriiten overhere. Good to read that you enjoyed our hotel and our service. We hope to welcome you again. Kind regards, Hans

Amsterdam
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Nice good hotel Free Wifi, in the room (although the webpage said that it was only available in the cafe, but it worked in the rooms too:)). Everything was nice and the room was clean. Would be nice to have smoking rooms!

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edit S
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Edit S, thank you for your review and your kind words. It is good to read that you have had a nice stay. Due to Dutch law, smoking is not allowed in hotels and restaurants. We learn from reviews and it is good to read that you enjoyed the free wifi. We will inform the owner of the webpage...

Verona, Italia
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I stayed only 1 night, in a standard room at the ground floor. The hotel is quite old, even if it tries to look modern. The room was not perfectly clean (some hair in the handbasin and on the floor) and the moquette on the ground didn't inspire cleanliness. I tried to rent a bike, it was 1 p.m. and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank totuccio83
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Totuccio8, thank you for writing your comments over here. We learn from the comments we receive from our guests and try to improve our service towards our guests. I will certainly pass you comments on to our cleaning company and I would like to thank you for this. We hope to see you again in our hotel. Kind regards,...

Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

My room was a good size for 1 person but my parents room was ridiculously small for 2 people. Also didnt understand when asked for a double room the beds were 2 singles same in the other room we had. Pillows were also lumpy and bumpy not the best as the were not comfortable but the beds were fine. Also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimmy L
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Kimmy L, thank you for writing your review overhere. Looking forward to welcoming you back in our hotel. Kind regards, Hans

Bedford
Reviewed 2 February 2014

It's 'cheap' for Amsterdam and well situated as a base to explore the city. Your room will be clean if not perhaps luxurious. Unfortunately in the 3 nights I spent there I didn't sleep a lot. Amsterdam is awash with rowdy young guys looking for beer, hash and possibly sex and quite a few of them were crashing in ALL...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Photowallah
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Photowall, thank you for your review, I am sorry to read that you had troubles with the other guests. Although we have our night shift walking rounds at night, there is always the possibility of guest being loud. Please feel free to call the reception next time so we can take steps to avoid this. We hope to see...

195 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (175)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
1:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#133 of 366 in Amsterdam
789 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#125 of 366 in Amsterdam
2,679 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Plantage & the East

Neighbourhood Profile
Plantage & the East
The eastern edge of central Amsterdam provides visitors with the chance to imagine the city that Rembrandt called home (and to tour his historic house) while shopping like the thriftiest of locals at Waterlooplein’s massive flea market, or even enjoying a craft beer beside the tallest wooden windmill in The Netherlands. This verdant, serene, and stately part of town is home to Artis Royal Zoo, one of Europe’s oldest (and still best kept) zoos, and Hortus Botanicus, one of the oldest botanical gardens in the world. It's also an ideal setting for the Dutch outpost of St Petersburg’s Hermitage.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the greenest part of the centre of Amsterdam, the Hampshire Hotel Lancaster offers rooms in all sizes, from the individual traveller to families. The rooms have a private bathroom with shower, free wifi, coffee and tea facilities, tv and a safe in the room. In our lobby we offer free wifi and free coffee. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Address: Plantage Middenlaan 48, 1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Price Range: $171 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Lancaster Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Lancaster
Eden Lancaster Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam staff and other travellers.
29 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check the size of whatever room is offered”
Artjo, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“You may want to ask for a room away from the lift.”
868davet, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“There is a heater beneath the windows! Cozy clean and comfortable , even if the beds are too soft”
anah154, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“Good bed. Quiet room near the park”
anjal148, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Away from main road & away from next door contrsuction, prob better on upper floors.”
skmiah, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$133* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$133
TripAdvisorUS$133
Orbitz.com
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates