We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Show Prices
#86 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,991 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,443: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I had one night in this hotel. The room was nice and I had good comfortable sleep. Reception was really good if not a bit slow but very friendly and polite. So why only 3 stars! The room was very very expensive 300 euros. I booked late so my fault! But when you are paying 300euros for one night you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil T
RenaissanceTeam, Executive Assistant at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Phil T, Thank you for review on TripAdvisor. We are sorry that the internet charges made you decide to give us a low rating, although you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed your friendly services. We regret that you were not informed about the possibility to join our Marriott Rewards program, which entitles all participants to free WiFi, inclusive...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Last weekend I visited Amsterdam on a work trip. My boss had booked the hotel rooms so I had no idea what sort of room had been booked and paid for. I was allocated a room by reception and went and got ready for the night ahead. My boss asked me at the bar what my room was like, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte B
RenaissanceTeam, Executive Assistant at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Charlotte B, Your feedback with regard to your experience last weekend caught my attention and I wish to apologize for the lack of service you encountered from my team. What happened does absolutely not reflect our normal high standard of operations and I would appreciate if you could contact me via amsterdam.guestservices@renhotels.com, so that I can get in touch...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Highly recommended hotel, great modern facilities, everything you could ask for. Helpful friendly staff and a great location 5 minutes from the train station and close to jordaan and the red light area. Museums a pleasant half hour walk. Only criticism, you have to pay for wifi in your room. Would use again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jimmypeck
RenaissanceTeam, Executive Assistant at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jimmypeck, Thank you very much for your wonderful review and compliments here on TripAdvisor. I am sorry indeed that you obviously were not informed about the possibility to join (free of charge) our Marriott Rewards loyalty program with which you can enjoy free WiFi. I trust we may enroll you next time. With warm regards, Hedwig Linzel Executive Assistant

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel was superb no flaws whatsoever, location great! Staff very very helpful, the room we got was spacious and very clean, the iron and all the extras where in a room, the only thing that was a bit weird is that we where two couples travelling and paid the same amount for our rooms ect but it seems the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nice1111
RenaissanceTeam, Executvie Assistant at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nice1111, Thank you very much for your wonderful review and we appreciate that you took the time to write your feedback on TripAdvisor. Will share your compliments with our ambassadors and hope to welcome you and your friends back for another stay. We are sorry that you and your travelling party had different kind of rooms and our Front...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is only 7 minute walk from central station ,it's beautiful decor modern and friendly staff,I brought my wife for our 5th wedding anniversary we were very impressed on arrival the guy on check in asked if we were here for anything special so I told him it was our wedding anniversary and I had emailed them prior to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank noel c
RenaissanceTeam, Executive Assistant at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review

Dear noel c, Thank you for your recent stay with us and your review on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to hear that we failed to surprise you with an amenity to celebrate your wedding anniversary and I have shared this lack of attention with the team involved as we always try to meet and exceed the expectation of our guests....

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is in a great location about a 5 minute walk from the train station. Walking distance to all the main attractions. The concierge team are very helpful and will assist with booking tours. We had cocktails in the bar which was definitely worth a visit. Bedrooms are clean and beds are extremely comfortable but I would not rate it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheneghan2017
RenaissanceTeam, Executive Assistant at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sheneghan2017, Thank you for your feedback on this platform. We are happy that you liked our central location and services, especially the assistance of our Navigators. We will share your compliments with the team and hope to welcome you back, next time your travels will bring you to Amsterdam. With best regards, Hedwig Linzel Executive Assistant

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night and would go back. It's in a very convenient location, spotlessly clean, and has a very good, attached, restaurant and bar. The concierge was extremely helpful with everything: baggage, tours, advice on anything etc. Everyone was very pleasant and spoke fluent English. Wifi was free in the lobby but we also had it free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sail_ski_dive
RenaissanceTeam, Executive Assistant at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sail_ski_dive, Thank you for very much your recent stay with us. We are happy with your wonderful review and look forward to welcoming you again, next time you return to Amsterdam. With kind regards, Hedwig Linzel Executive Assistant

ajijic
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a great time at the renaissance. Location is good, only a few blocks from the train station, and easy walk to dining and shopping. Service was excellent, staff very attentive to your needs.I highly recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tigit
RenaissanceTeam, Executive Assistant at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tigit, Thank you for your review and high recommendation of our property to other travelers. We hope to serve you again soon, with warm regards, Hedwig Linzel Executive Assistant

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel is perfect in city location . Very close to the major shopping street. Close to the red light district. Hence recommend if u r with family then avoid going that area. The area is full of pub bars n weeds shop. Not bit convenient for the families. Experience well with friendly staff. But going to my room have to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ritesh M
RenaissanceTeam, Executive Assistant at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ritesh M, Thank you for your time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you favored our central location and friendly ambassadors. We apologize for the inconveniences caused and trust we will be able to assign a room to you next tme that will be nearer to the main lobby. We realize that the parking charges...

Bogota, Colombia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When we were checking in, a person at the front desk named Kit made a mess with our reservations assigning the rooms incorrectly, with an arrogant attitude when we tried to clarify to him. When we said "...to avoid confusion...", he interrupted us to say: "I'm not confused, I'm very sharp" among other similar responses. After that, guest name confusion...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jairo L
RenaissanceTeam, Executive Assistant at Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jairo L, Thank you for your recent stay with us. We were in contact with you previously via e-mail and wish to apologize once again for the unpleasant arrival experience you had. As confirmed to you by Jana earlier, this incident has been thoroughly looked into and reviewed with all concerned. We furthermore marked in your profile your room...

809 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (755)
Viewed
Bathroom (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (172)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (128)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
1:39
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (338)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#82 of 361 in Amsterdam
2,643 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#29 of 361 in Amsterdam
1,261 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#71 of 361 in Amsterdam
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centrum

Neighbourhood Profile
Centrum
Amsterdam’s buzzing hub, with its sprawling network of tram rails and a seemingly constant flow of tourists and commuters, yields convenient access to some of the best sightseeing, shopping, and street life in Europe. Closest at hand are the Royal Palace, the quaint shops of Haalremmerdijk, the pedestrianized zones Kalverstraat and Dam Square with popular neighborhoods such as the Red Light District, and the Canal Ring hardly more than a moment’s stroll away. With the well-connected Centraal Station as Centrum’s base, it's easy to travel farther afield via one of the city’s iconic trams.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Price Range: $270 - $612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel staff and other travellers.
46 questions
Ask a question
Buffalo, New York
over a year ago
8 months ago

See all questions (46)

Questions? Get answers from Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Near the elevators as the hotel is a maze of hallways!”
 of 5 bubbles travellingboffin, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room on a higher floor otherwise you get all the noise from the lobby”
 of 5 bubbles annelieset2013, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms may be a walk to the elevator. Make requests accordingly.”
 of 5 bubbles Karanb66, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“In room 660 - no issues at all”
 of 5 bubbles yatri50, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the higher floors are supposed to be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles Berkeleytraveler, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5