We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

CancelonUS$218*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$452*
US$218*
Great Deal
US$239*
US$238*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

945 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 698: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel has a great location right by the Dam Square and National Monument of Amsterdam. During my visit the restaurant was under construction so I'm not sure if the lobby I entered in is the normal one or temporary. The lobby was rather simple and somewhat worried me about the quality of the hotel when I first walked in....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophie M
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just got back Home. We have really enjoyed our stay. Room 202 was excellent spacious, big bathroom, modern decoration, 2 tiny balcons, great view from the windows. Although there was constructions we haven't practically felt it but we have stayed only two workdays adn then on weekends there are no constructions. not noisy at all and if there is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 601diana
Management response:

Thank you for your great review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us as much as you did. Regarding the beds, we are happy to inform you that we will be renewing both our beds and matresses in the very near future. We too look forward to your return and will be delighted to welcome you...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First, there is no parking as advertised. They give you 2 options at check in but give the wrong price on both. They are both public garages in Amsterdam and not convenient at all. They cheaper garage is the Double Tree Hilton garage about a 2km walk. That was 20 euro and you can not come and go. Every hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John M
Management response:

Thank you for your review. We regret that you were displeased about the parking. On our website it is stated where the off-site garages are located and what the associated costs are. Unfortunately, I cannot trace back where you found the advertising claiming it as our own. We invite you to please inform us, so we can request to have...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My boyfriend and I visited this hotel on the 29th of April for two nights. The hotel is in a great location, a short walk from Central Station and the red light district. On arrival, the reception staff were very friendly and helpful. We got a free upgrade into one of the superior rooms - it was faultless. Not only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily C
Management response:

Thank you for your very kind review. We are delighted to hear that you had such an amazing stay. We will be sure to share your compliments with our staff, as they too will be pleased that you enjoyed their services. Do come back when our restaurant re-opens, we will be happy to welcome you once again! Kind regards, the...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2017

We arrived Saturday 8th April 2017 as part of anniversary trip we'd planned for ourselves. The room was cramped but clean and with a good view over Damrak. We had booked a double room but were given a twin room instead, with the two single beds pushed together and two single duvets on top. This was not what we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip B
Management response:

Dear Mr. Burke, We have written a full response to your personal email in reply to yours. If we may summarize here, a double bed is never a guarantuee but always a preference. One that we could unfortunately not meet on the day of your arrival, although we always strive to do so. We regret that our explanation was not...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 9 April 2017

Location - Can't ask for better: On main street, 10 minute walk from Centraal, and a block from the Dam! Rooms - CLEAN, nice. Are they smaller than many big hotels? Yes. BUT HEY! I needed the room to sleep, and not walk miles in the room. I was walking miles outside, in the city. For the purpose of spending...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ordubadli
Management response:

Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased you had such an enjoyable stay. We appreciate your comment on the shower and are looking into improving this. Kind regards, the General Manager

Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

I had a single room without breakfast with company rate for about €160. The room was very small, the bad just 90cm and the bathroom just allowed to turn around. At the same time the restaurant was closed and we had a construction zone right infront of the hotel. The hotel might be close to some spots but I wouldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carsten V
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Just come back from 3 night stay in Amsterdam. Stayed in Hotel de Roode Leuw. Central location just 10 minutes walk from Centraal train station. Room was basic but all I needed with a bed, desk, fridge and decent sized en suite bathroom. the main downside is the renovation of the restaurant. Building work can disturb your sleep after a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shane C
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

A nice hotel in the center of Amsterdam , the room is nice, clean and more spacious than I expected. The staff is nice and helpful. Pricing is reasonable, at least during the month of February. location is very central, going out of the hotel and everything is minutes a way from you, makes it comfortable especially if you're visiting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amrgffn
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

The location of the hotell is really good in the middle of the city in walking distance to all the major sights. You call tell that the have not updated the interior for a bit too long but it is ok. The breakfast is average but nice and friendly staff is a good thing. Recommended if you plan to spend...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jens M

536 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (261)
Viewed
Room/Suite (77)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
2:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (97)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (234)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Comfort Room (42)
Viewed
Economy Single Room (39)
Viewed
Junior Suite (50)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Superior Room (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#57 of 365 in Amsterdam
519 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#104 of 365 in Amsterdam
1,817 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#108 of 365 in Amsterdam
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centrum

Neighbourhood Profile
Centrum
Amsterdam’s buzzing hub, with its sprawling network of tram rails and a seemingly constant flow of tourists and commuters, yields convenient access to some of the best sightseeing, shopping, and street life in Europe. Closest at hand are the Royal Palace, the quaint shops of Haalremmerdijk, the pedestrianized zones Kalverstraat and Dam Square with popular neighborhoods such as the Red Light District, and the Canal Ring hardly more than a moment’s stroll away. With the well-connected Centraal Station as Centrum’s base, it's easy to travel farther afield via one of the city’s iconic trams.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Great central location, affordable rates, clean & comfortable rooms and friendly & attentive hospitality. In an amazing location, just off Dam Square and right in the middle of Amsterdam's city center, you'll find Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw. This is where you want to stay if you're coming to Amsterdam. We offer authentic friendliness and true hospitality with rooms that are comfortable, well maintained, and always spotlessly clean. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Address: Damrak 93 /94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Price Range: $252 - $535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Roode Leeuw Amsterdam
Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#85 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#107 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question
Fort Worth, Texas
over a year ago
Alabama
4 months ago
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“go for superiour ones”
601diana, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Choose an alternative hotel,”
PhilipB596, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“No lower floors in summer (noise)”
MuellerAndrew, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Best location; great value”
LenaBoh, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Superior rooms, although much more expensive, would be larger and better for a long stay.”
colleens983, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Cancelon
US$218* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$239
Booking.comUS$238
AMOMAUS$452
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates