We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

921 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
See the most recent reviews
Showing 689: English reviews
Belfast
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Good hotel, super location - We enjoyed a corner suite overlooking Dam Square. Nice modern, spacious rooms. Staff are very friendly and accommodating. Good restaurant with a great menu. Eight of us (4 couples) stayed at the De Roode Leeuw for the weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our hotel and it's surrounding. One disappointment we had. No bar area which means...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justin K
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to learn that you liked your stay. And we did like the picture you posted with all of you on the bed of your room. No, we do not have a bar but there are so many bars in the neigbourhood which can compensate this.so the minibar in the room has only to be used in...

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed here on the 9th February (4 adults, 2 rooms) for a brief overnight trip to Amsterdam. None of us had ever visited before, so this hotel looked ideal for it's location. Being opposite Dam Square and only a 5/10 minute walk from central station was ideal for us and out short time in Amsterdam. We arrived just after...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank El_Carlos1980
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

Also in winter Amsterdam is attractive and I am happy you enjoyed your visit to our city and the hotel. We are aware of the fact that we made a mistake in designing some bathrooms which causes flooding. We are trying to find a solution to it. |We hope that you will visit our city and hotel again in the...

Newport-on-tay
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I have just returned from a 4 day break in Amsterdam. The Hotel Amsterdam could not have been better situated. It is just round the corner from Dam Square and only a 10 minute walk from the Central Station. The rooms are modern but a little on the small side. Unusually they don't have carpet. Bed was very comfortable. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

I was pleased to learn that you had a pleasant stay in Amsterdam and enjoyed your stay at Hotel Amsterdam-De Roode Leeuw. Indeed we have renovated all our rooms and do not have any carpets on the floor anymore. In my opinior carpets are not very hygienic so I selected a covering of the floor that matches the requirements of...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2013 via mobile

I booked a surprise trip to Amsterdam for my boyfriends birthday. When we arrived at centraal station is was raining buckets. The hotel was about a ten minute walk from the station, by the time we arrived we were totally saturated by the rain and just wanted to get checked in and chill out in our room. The check in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tracey e
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

It was with regret that I learend that we have ruined your stay and apologize that we could not make your stay an enjoyable one. It started with pooring rain which is not the best way to start a stay . You mentioned that a sign stated that there would be an extra charge when food was found in the...

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 8 February 2013

January of 2013 was my 6th time in Amsterdam and 2nd time in this hotel. At my first time staying there, in January of 2012, I wasn't a big fan of the service already, we didn’t feel welcome. It’s almost like they are doing you a favor for letting you stay there. Since they had smokers rooms we decided to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarciaMancuso
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

It is with regret that I learned that you did not like your stay at our hotel mainly because of "The hater". My staff and myself do not work in the hospitality industry because we hate people but because we want to please our guests and want them to feel welcome. Nevertheless, there are some basic rules we should like...

Cumbria
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel - a group of 5. What a surprise it was as often when booking not known hotels or chains you do not know what to expect. All staff were friendly and went out their way to be so. The room was a refreshing surprise - Modern & non...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bradford99
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

Reviews of all guests our valued by me and my team but the reviews of persons working in the hospitality industry are valued even more as those persons are very critical when travelling, like I am myself . We cannot change the lay-ut of our hotel as the property is over 100 years old ( and still under the same...

Seattle, WA
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Just recently went on a trip to Amsterdam for a vacation. Stayed at the Hotel Amsterdam for 5 nights. We arrived on a Wednesday and stayed through the weekend. Rooms are updated and have modern amenities. Several outlets for international plugs. Small refridgerator and TV in the room. Beds were comfy and clean. The modern design shower needed a shower...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BizGuySeattle
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay. Smoking is prohibited by law in all public places, including hotels. Despite this interdiction there are still guests who do smoke and not only tobacco. If we discover this we invoice them with € 125.-- for cleaning expenses and this is written at the front-office desk as well as in...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 9 January 2013

I absolutely loved De Roode Leeuw. It was exactly what I expected of a little old hotel right in the centre of Amsterdam, just off Dam Square along Damrak. Very friendly staff. Relatively expensive room rates by some standards, but neither unreasonable nor unexpected for the location. Beautifully renovated and very tastefully furnished and decorated. The rooms, though small, were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank md3474
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

We were happy to learn that you liked our refurbished room as we designed those rooms ourseleves. By now only refurbished rooms are avail;able as we are finishing the renovation of the last rooms on the 4th floor. And yes, our location is unbeatbale. It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you again in the future |Yours sincerely...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We used the Hotel for three nights as a couple having a weekend break. It was reasonably priced and the location was perfect for venturing out during the day. It is up at the top of the Damrak so it's a 15min walk from Central Station and is located close enough to the Canal belt, Jordaan and other areas to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stu M
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

it was a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your visit to Amsterdam and that your stay at our hotel was a pleasant one. We regret that you heard some noise from the shops at the pedestrian street behind but as they only open around 9:30 am this is only a problem if you want to stay in bed a...

Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewed 31 December 2012

I was a little apprehensive when I booked as the hotel looked old and out of date but I was definitely surprised when we arrived. The location is great and the rooms have gone under a major renovation. Rooms are very modern and the front desk was very friendly and helpful. We chose not to pay for the breakfast but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeanne E
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

This old lady celebrated its 100 years last year and was awarded a Royal distinction by her Majesty the Queen of Holland. But 100 years old does not mean outdated. As you have experienced it yourself all our rooms have been fully renovated in the past month and I am pleased that you enjoyed them. We offer rooms with plenty...

530 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (255)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (75)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
2:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (95)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (234)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Comfort Room (42)
Viewed
Economy Single Room (39)
Viewed
Junior Suite (50)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Superior Room (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#52 of 361 in Amsterdam
437 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#99 of 361 in Amsterdam
1,749 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#105 of 361 in Amsterdam
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centrum

Neighbourhood Profile
Centrum
Amsterdam’s buzzing hub, with its sprawling network of tram rails and a seemingly constant flow of tourists and commuters, yields convenient access to some of the best sightseeing, shopping, and street life in Europe. Closest at hand are the Royal Palace, the quaint shops of Haalremmerdijk, the pedestrianized zones Kalverstraat and Dam Square with popular neighborhoods such as the Red Light District, and the Canal Ring hardly more than a moment’s stroll away. With the well-connected Centraal Station as Centrum’s base, it's easy to travel farther afield via one of the city’s iconic trams.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Great central location, affordable rates, clean & comfortable rooms and friendly & attentive hospitality. In an amazing location, just off Dam Square and right in the middle of Amsterdam's city center, you'll find Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw. This is where you want to stay if you're coming to Amsterdam. We offer authentic friendliness and true hospitality with rooms that are comfortable, well maintained, and always spotlessly clean. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Address: Damrak 93 - 94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Price Range: $218 - $525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Roode Leeuw Amsterdam
Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#82 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#107 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question
Fort Worth, Texas
over a year ago
Alabama
1 month ago
2 months ago
Kuwait City, Kuwait
8 months ago

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No lower floors in summer (noise)”
 of 5 bubbles MuellerAndrew, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Best location; great value”
 of 5 bubbles LenaBoh, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Superior rooms, although much more expensive, would be larger and better for a long stay.”
 of 5 bubbles colleens983, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“superior room,facing the front of the hotel, with a balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles evans333, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Best view is at the hotel overt looking the main road and the de Bijenkorf department store.”
 of 5 bubbles SquirrelNutikin, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5