We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

921 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
See the most recent reviews
Showing 689: English reviews
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2012

just returned from a short break to celibrate the wifes 60th the hotel is in a great location , almost on dam square , walking distance to most of central amsterdam the staff were very friendly and the room we had was on the front overlooking tram stop ,great views , but did not hear much noise at all ,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kbgas
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

We were pleased to learn that we contributed a little bit to making the birthday journey of your wife an enjoyable one. Unfortunately we have to inform you that the smoking rooms will be phased out at the end of the year. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future Yours sincerely Rene Wildeman, General Manager

Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I had a weekend off during a 3 week European business trip and choose this hotel based on price (under $200) and location. It is about 700 metres from Central Station and right off of Dam Square. When I booked the room I requested a room facing Damrak and when I checked in I was extremely pleased as the room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pistolpjh
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

We were happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay despite the fact that you were sick when you arrived. We were pleased that you liked the refurbished room. We have played our own interior designer and we get many positive comments of our guests. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future and...

manchester
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Good location, central to main attractions. On arrival, Virginia greeted us and checked us in. Very friendly, quick and efficient. We had a smoking room and it was as expected. Quite small, tiny bathroom but clean. Tea and coffee making facilities aren't the best. Room was tired, dated and old looking however hotel lobby was nice. Mediocre at its best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bubblegum5131
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

Let me begin with presenting my apologies for the fact that you had to wait 10 minutes before the door was opened when returning at night. We shall look into this matter as this is not acceptable. We fully agree that the room on the "smoking" starts to look dated. All our rooms were refurbished 10 years ago so we...

Haslemere, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank S H
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

glasgow
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Excellent base for exploring. Only ten mins walk directly down from Central Station. A haven of tranquility on a really busy street! Not the largest room to move around in but very modern and clean.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank julesmayb
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

We were pleased to learn that you had a pleasant stay. Yes, our location can not be beaten and due to our double-glassed windows the interior is quiet. We hope to see you again With best regards Rene Wildeman, General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed in this hotel in March and I couldn't fault it! Perfect location, room clean and tidy, mini bar was well stocked and a smoking room! Staff were attentive and helpful. I would definitely stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Misscotland
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

We were pleased to learn that you had a great stay at our hotel but are sorry that we have bad news for you. At the end of this year we shall not offer any rooms for smokers anymore. Operational wise it became too difficult to manage the mix between non-smokers and smokers. We hope that we shall see you...

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Stayed in this hotel with friends. Best location in Amsterdam. Close to all services and attractions. Staff were great. Quiet and comfortable. Rooms small(ish) but acceptable. Best value I found in Amsterdam. Definitely will use this hotel again if I visit Amsterdam. well done and keep up the great value and quality

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wmccorma
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. Yes, we do not have the largest rooms but with the recent renovation of 2 floors and the renovations of the rest of the hotel by the end of the year we try to compensate size by creating a nice atmosphere. And despite the investment we shall not raise our rates. We hope to welcome...

West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Great location in Amsterdam, short walk from the train station (maybe 0.5 miles), right next to Dam Square, and just outside of the Red Light District. Room was easily big enough for 2 people, was clean, beds were comfortable, and no problems with the temp in the room! Our room was located on the side facing Damrak street, with a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Expat_in_UK113
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

A quiet sleep is appreciated by everyone and with our double-glassed windows we can assure our guests that it will be quiet, even at the front of the hotel We were happy that you enjoyed your stay with. And we are sorry that you had to explore the city to eat a pancake. We promoted pancakes some years ago but...

Longford, Ireland
Reviewed 22 February 2012

we have just returned from a 3 night stay in Amsterdam. we booked this hotel based on trip advisor reviews. the location is right beside dam square and just 700 m from central station. it is a perfect location for people who are travelling to tour and view Amsterdam. the staff at reception are very helpful and efficient. the rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank helenawesome
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

We were happy to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. We presume that you had one of the renovated rooms as you describe that the rooms were modern. Renovation will be continued this fall and will be ready for all rooms at the end of February 2013. We hope that you will pay us a visit again....

Groningen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Phantastic location in the centre of Amsterdam. All major topics are on walking distance. Room was clean, but unfortunately a little cold. Adequate reaction on our complaint. One of the few hotels with a smoking room policy, that leaves the choice with the guests. We really enjoyed our stay at a fair rate.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sjaak J
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

We appreciate your review and have taken note that the temperature in the room was a little cold during your visit. I do not know if this was during the period of frost . I apologize for the inconvenience. Our climate control system should allow temperatures up to 28 C . Unfortunately I also have to disappoinht you. Starting January...

530 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (255)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (75)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
2:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (95)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (234)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Comfort Room (42)
Viewed
Economy Single Room (39)
Viewed
Junior Suite (50)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Superior Room (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#51 of 361 in Amsterdam
441 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#100 of 361 in Amsterdam
1,749 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#105 of 361 in Amsterdam
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centrum

Neighbourhood Profile
Centrum
Amsterdam’s buzzing hub, with its sprawling network of tram rails and a seemingly constant flow of tourists and commuters, yields convenient access to some of the best sightseeing, shopping, and street life in Europe. Closest at hand are the Royal Palace, the quaint shops of Haalremmerdijk, the pedestrianized zones Kalverstraat and Dam Square with popular neighborhoods such as the Red Light District, and the Canal Ring hardly more than a moment’s stroll away. With the well-connected Centraal Station as Centrum’s base, it's easy to travel farther afield via one of the city’s iconic trams.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Great central location, affordable rates, clean & comfortable rooms and friendly & attentive hospitality. In an amazing location, just off Dam Square and right in the middle of Amsterdam's city center, you'll find Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw. This is where you want to stay if you're coming to Amsterdam. We offer authentic friendliness and true hospitality with rooms that are comfortable, well maintained, and always spotlessly clean. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Address: Damrak 93 - 94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Price Range: $218 - $525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Roode Leeuw Amsterdam
Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#107 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question
Fort Worth, Texas
over a year ago
Alabama
1 month ago
2 months ago
Kuwait City, Kuwait
8 months ago

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No lower floors in summer (noise)”
 of 5 bubbles MuellerAndrew, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Best location; great value”
 of 5 bubbles LenaBoh, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Superior rooms, although much more expensive, would be larger and better for a long stay.”
 of 5 bubbles colleens983, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“superior room,facing the front of the hotel, with a balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles evans333, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Best view is at the hotel overt looking the main road and the de Bijenkorf department store.”
 of 5 bubbles SquirrelNutikin, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5