We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,859 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 922: English reviews
Start your review of Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
 Click to rate
Bexley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Lovely helpful staff! Rooms are cleaned everyday, you have everything you could possibly need including an iron and board, tea coffee. There is a supermarket about 5-10minutes walk if you turn right outside the hotel and head over the bridge keep walking straight it's on the right hand side. Hotel charges €2.50 for 1 bottle of water, for about €2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rebeccascott2689
England
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 3 February 2017

Very welcoming reception staff with perfect English, Rooms are very large and modern beds very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Lots of wardrobe space. Bathroom modern and again very clean with toilteries replenished daily and of good quality. The breakfast was wonderful with quality english breakfast and varied continental I loved the choice in bakery goods the gingerbread with apricot jam...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank isobeloffife
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Laura H, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

After paying $500.00 for a booking in August we relised we booked a week too early. They refuse to change dates. They want us to rebook dates and pay another $500.00. Theiving bastards. Beware of this hotel MECURE HOTEL AMSTERDAM

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anne W
Laura H, Management Assistant at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Anne W., I am very sorry to read about your complaint. At Mercure hotels we offer several different rates that guest can choose from: The standard rate which has to be pre paid and which cannot be changed or refunded or the flexible rate which allows you to pay in the hotel and can be cancelled or changed...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed in this hotel last weekend and was bitten all over face neck hands and feet. Even saw an adult bed bug on my pillow but did not know at the time that that is what it was, until I reacted to the bites today and investigated on NHS website. Low and behold a picture of the bug I saw...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Jenny K
Laura H, Management Assistant at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review

Dear Jenny K., Thank you very much for sharing this information. As soon as your review reached the hotel on Saturday we have blocked the room and put it out of service until further notice. In line with our policy we have immediately hired a pest control specialist to investigate the room. As you have booked your room through an...

Western Ireland, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank JujuMac90
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We got a free upgrade which was lovely but then the shower wasn't working and flooded our room! 😱 Staff were very helpful and moved us to a new room. Good facilities in room and while not central, hotel is right beside the metro. Our main complaint was that breakfast was not included and at 22.50 seemed overpriced.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bramy1308
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked via Expedia. When we went to the hotel they said that there was no such reservation although we'd received a confirmation mail. It took about half an hour to find a room for us which was eventually very small for 2 adults and 2 children. They changed our room next day but the first night was a nightmare....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Murat M
Laura H, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review

Dear Murat M., Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your stay in Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. We are sorry to hear that you had a difficult check in and that your room was not adequate the first night for your family. Thank you for also leaving your compliments on the cleanliness of our hotel and...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just had 3 days in this hotel for my birthday and cannot fault it. Staff so friendly and nothing is too much trouble. 7 minute walk to the metro and then 6 stops and you in the centre.. Would definitely stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Laura H, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to meeting you and your children. Sincerely, Laura Heeringa

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 1 week ago

Extrem friendly staff. Nice room, they are tiny but still comfortable. Great view out of the window. Good connection with public transportation. Good breakfast. You can park in the street - is cheaper than the parking place of the hotel..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cbersch
Laura H, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful compliments. We hope to be able to welcome you again soon! Sincerely, Laura Heeringa

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was very cool, all comforts available, very clean room and excellent service. It has a wonderful lounge room, a small food shop inside and a very furnished restaurant. When we'll come back in Amsterdam we will surely come back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Riccardo P
Laura H, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review

Dear Riccardo, Thank you for your lovely comments on our lobby and our restaurant. We are glad you enjoyed yourselves and we are looking forward to see you again soon! Sincerely, Laura Heeringa

1,045 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (540)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (93)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (133)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (192)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (445)
Viewed
Amenities (42)
Viewed
Privilege Double Room (80)
Viewed
Dining (81)
Viewed
Standard Room with Double Bed (58)
Viewed
Standard Room with Three Single Beds (55)
Viewed
Standard Room with Two Single Beds (54)
Viewed
The Hotel (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#121 of 361 in Amsterdam
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City is an entirely non-smoking, modern 4 star hotel. Situated in the south of Amsterdam, close to the Amsterdam RAI Event Centre and just 15 minutes away from the centre of Amsterdam. The hotel is close to the A2 and A10 motorways and just 15 km from Schiphol Airport.The hotel offers modern rooms, free WIFI-access, a breakfast restaurant L"Ambiance,a la carte restaurant La VOC, a bar, 14 meeting rooms and leisure facilities including a modern fitness centre, sauna and steam room ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City

Address: Joan Muyskenweg 10, 1096 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Price Range: $121 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Travelocity so you can book your Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
#60 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#75 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#94 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City staff and other travellers.
82 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (82)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not at the city center but affordable and nice and clean”
 of 5 bubbles 272muratm, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher floor with Amsterdam City View”
  • From different view
  • Normal view
 of 5 bubbles the_traveller_greg, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back and side overlook the canals. Good location for visiting the Ziggo Dome”
 of 5 bubbles lynndy2017, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“6th floor appeared to be quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles FJ2205, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you get room 1721 ask for a new room!”
  • Room 1721
 of 5 bubbles dan_elp2014, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5