We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam

Booking.comUS$51*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,201 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 780: English reviews
Start your review of Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The worst service ever ... ha ha that's false. we had a nice time in the hostel and the service was superb. On the other hand the hotel is closeby to the city ( Amsterdam ). No one can ask for a better hostel than Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rumesh R
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Hahaha yes just joking, you got it! Thanks for your review and great you had a good time, please come back some day :)!

Neuchatel, Switzerland
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Hans Brinker was a great place to stay and Id recommend it any day. Receptions open 24hrs, theres secure luggage storage, the rooms are big and the beds comfy. Plus a delicious free breakfast, funky atmosphere and a great location! Its amazing value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sdpawlowski95
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for your review! What else can i say about it? Great!

Naples, Florida
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Feels like a typical hostel. We stayed in a private two person room with a bathroom. The room had a bed with blanket and pillow and locker and it was clean and so was the bathroom. The room was well heated and there was hot water for the shower. Because it was on the fourth floor we didn't hear any...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LNGeib
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Overall a great review, thank you :)

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

It's cheap and you get what you pay for, but it's really not bad at all. I've stayed in way worse airbnb's. We had a private 2 bed room with a private bathroom. It was fairly clean but barebones. Looked like a prison cell but for what we paid it was fine. Warm room, fresh towels everyday, hot water. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geibers
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review

No we're not the worst :) You figured it out! The fees are just a deposit for the key and the city tax. But sounds like you enjoyed your stay. Happy to hear that and please come back some time!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here twice because of its location. Excellent indeed! It is very central so you can walk everywhere you want very very easily. There are lots of different shops around , small Magazines, tons of Italian restaurants, a supermarket etc Rooms are big enough so that you do not feel crowded by everyone. The shower is good even though...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michele T
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Yes you survived! Thanks for your review and yes we're in the middle of the center, isn't that great?

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

me and my friends went to amsterdam and we wanted only a bed to sleep on because we was all the day out..! it was not something special..! but it was exactly what we was expecting..! except the breakfast that was little poor..!! great reception all the people was awesome and very helpful..!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paris I
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Exactly what you were expecting, exactly what we offer you! That's the way it works :)

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Absolutely loved my visit here! Everything you need and more! Club downstairs and bar upstairs! Great for groups of people! Would love to come back here when visiting Amsterdam again as plenty of activities can also be easily organised by staff!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank edajnelle
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Great review, thanks a lot!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First I'll say this: read the hostel description. If this doesn't seem like somewhere you can stay - don't bother! I stayed here with two of my friends for 3 nights. We had a 3 bed room with a private bathroom. For the amount we paid it had everything we needed. Pros: the room we stayed in was clean. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MissKimberrr
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel is close to pretty much everything. 5 minutes by tram to the Dam square and the central station. The rooms are standard, no high expectations in there but the hostel has a cool vibe, recommended for young people !!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yara M
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Clear review thanks!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What can I say, my friend and I had been staying at a different hostel in Amsterdam and then ended up moving to Hans Brinker for the last night. We walked into the hostel and were greeted by a graffitied elevator with all the mirrors vandalised. We when to the front desk to check in and the woman was so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellie M

437 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (182)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (78)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (239)
Viewed
Amenities (39)
Viewed
Four Person Dorm (37)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Six Person Dorm (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)
Viewed
Triple Room (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#13 of 227 in Amsterdam
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Flying Pig Uptown
Flying Pig Uptown
#8 of 227 in Amsterdam
788 reviews
WOW Hostel Amsterdam
#42 of 227 in Amsterdam
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)

Neighbourhood Profile
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
This UNESCO World Heritage Site is as historically significant as it is perennially popular. Whether you’re a history buff, architecture enthusiast, shutterbug, or fashionista, odds are you’ll find the Amsterdam you're looking for while roaming around the Grachtengordel (Canal Ring). A brilliant place to get lost in a moody meander and a key component to any sightseeing trip to Amsterdam, this area's major draws include the Anne Frank House, the Bloemenmarkt floating flower market, an enviable assortment of independent boutiques along De Negen Straatjes, and of course all of Grachtengordel’s lovely canals and bridges.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Hans Brinker, the cheapest, the worst, the best..No swimming pool, no roomservice, no pick-up service, no bridal-suite, no gym, no spa,no bellboy but cheap rooms, a restaurant, a nice bar, a club, 24 hour reception and 500 beds. The Hans Brinker Budget Hotel is the famous budget hotel in the city centre Amsterdam. It's located between the canals with a 2 minute walk to the famous entertainment area Leidseplein and a 5 minute walk to the museums at Museumplein. Public transport is nearby the hotel: you can take the tram to every direction in Amsterdam within a 2 minute walk. From Amsterdam Central Station take tramline 1, 2 or 5 to the hotel (in approximately 10 minutes at stop Keizersgracht). This budget hotel can accommodate individuals, backpackers and groups (students, scholars etc.). The hotel has single, double and triple rooms and dorms up to 8 persons. Each room has a private bathroom and lockers for personal belongings. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served at the spacious common area. There is a bar and an underground club, which is open every night till late. Free WIFI-access is available in the common areas. For the best stay in Amsterdam Hans Brinker provides tickets for many activities, bike rental, boat tours and other great deals. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam

Address: Kerkstraat 136 /138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Price Range: $35 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam 2.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hans Brinker Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam staff and other travellers.
68 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (68)

Questions? Get answers from Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the first floor are quieter.”
680rumeshr, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room”
376elliem, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Located in the city center; Establishment nice to meet people”
valentinedarde, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“book a room away from the courtyard.”
P1CKY34T3R, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room on the back and on a higher floor to avoid noise at night from the club/bar.”
Melian5, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$51* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUS$96
Orbitz.com
Cancelon
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates