We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Abba

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Abba
Hotel Abba
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

427 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 217: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Abba
 Click to rate
Rethymnon, Greece
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Its a very good choice if you are a couple travelling and want some privacy! Its very close to everything by walk and its a nice and calm place! The breakfast was also very nice and simple! I would stay there again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Μυρτώ Κ
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is not a hotel! This is a hostel. The only thing good its the breakfast but is quite simple as well. The "hotel" need a reconstruction. Its smells smoke since we enter to the rooms. Nice if you go with friends! The tv doesn't work.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rodrrr
SorchaDP, General Manager at Hotel Abba, responded to this review

Dear Rodrrr, Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. We are indeed a smokers friendly hotel, as stated on every website we're bookable on. We'll try and find out which exact tv isn't working, if we had have known during your stay with us, we could have done something about it. Thanks again....

Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great hotel, central to walk or get the tram, breakfast basic, friendly staff very helpful only down fall is steep stairs and no lifts, no hairdryer in room as advertised, excellent place to visit, would recommend, clean rooms

 Report
Helpful?
Thank weelou
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Staff is very friendly. Breakfast is good (from 8-10). It's possible to walk from the hotel until center without problem. It's perfect! My room has nicely bed, the toilet is fine and the shower is OK and one terrace with nice views to one garden!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jesus G
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 December 2016

Great budget hotel, 5 people in 2 rooms. very convenient for the tram line number 1. excellent breakfast, very friendly staff. room was ok, had shared bathroom in corridor but this was not a problem. would stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
SorchaDP, General Manager at Hotel Abba, responded to this review

Hi Peter, Thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host your stays in future. If next time you would prefer a room with a private bathroom, we do have them available, at €10 extra per night! Thanks again! Hotel Abba

Vilafranca del Penedes, Spain
Reviewed 29 November 2016

The hotel was average. I know that prices in Amsterdam are quite high, but well...I think it was too expensive for the type of room we had. 2 separate beds in a mini room, one of the beds was just in front of the wardrobe, so there was no way to open it if you didn't move the bed. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NurPalau
Ware, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Great location ,walking distance to main attractions and city center.Room was big and clean,bathroom always clean despite was shared, staff helpful and polite.Breakfast included,food fresh and tasty.Supermarket next door .

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mariolam67
SorchaDP, General Manager at Hotel Abba, responded to this review

Hi Mariolam67, Thanks very much for your review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in future! Kind regards, Hotel Abba

East Lothian, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Hotel in excellent location, close to tram lines, and walking distance to all main sights. Breakfast adequate but nothing special. Our rooms were on top floor, quiet but did smell of smoke! We were unaware when we booked that this is a hotel that 'welcomes smokers'. If I had known this I wouldn't have booked and because of this wouldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lyndawilson72
SorchaDP, General Manager at Hotel Abba, responded to this review

Hi Lyndawilson72, Thanks for writing us a review! We're glad to hear that you find our location excellent. Sorry that you only later found out that we're a smokers friendly hotel, if we ever change our smoking policies we'll let you know :) Kind regards, Hotel Abba

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016

I was only in Amsterdam for 1 night but had a great stay at Hotel Abba. The staff were friendly and welcoming, the room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and it was really quiet considering it's on one of the main roads. The location is ideal, just a short walk to the Van Gogh museum and it's easy to...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sophia S
SorchaDP, General Manager at Hotel Abba, responded to this review

Hi Sophia, Thank you for your positive review! Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to host your stay in future! Kind regards, Hotel Abba

Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights - 26th - 28th October. The location is perfect, it's on team route 1 and the stop is "1st Const. Huygenstr. This is one stop away from Leidseplein which is where all the nightlife is located. We were greated by a really friendly receptionist who showed us to our room. There were three keys to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hayley I
SorchaDP, General Manager at Hotel Abba, responded to this review

Hi Haley, Thanks a million for your great review! We're very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting your stay in future :) Thanks again. Kind regards, Hotel Abba

504 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (147)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (57)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (331)
Viewed
Double Room Private Facilities (40)
Viewed
Family Room Private Facilities (64)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
Single Room Shared Facilities (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (99)
Viewed
Triple Room Private Facilities (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#235 of 361 in Amsterdam
419 reviews
De Pijp
Bicycle Hotel
Bicycle Hotel
#195 of 361 in Amsterdam
214 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#265 of 361 in Amsterdam
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#210 of 361 in Amsterdam
984 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#290 of 361 in Amsterdam
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Abba is a one star budget hotel located smack bang in the middle of all the action. We are within walking distance of the main going out area Leidseplein, the museum district, the famous canals and Amsterdam's largest park the Vondel park. So wether you're here to party, explore Amsterdam's culture, stroll along the scenic canals or relax in the park along side the locals, you're in the right place for it! Hotel Abba has been offering proper Dutch hospitality with an international touch for over 20 years! Our selection of 38 rooms offers the perfect base to explore this wonderful city. All prices include a fabulous breakfast served from 08:00am until 10:00am. We offer FREE Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and have kettle's, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards available in reception. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Abba

Address: Overtoom 118-122, 1054 HM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Price Range: $93 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Abba 1*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Abba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abba Hotel Amsterdam
Best Western Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Abba staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Abba staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“higher rooms are bigger but have lower ceilings”
 of 5 bubbles 924SueW924, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room away from the street. Be aware that my room at least had thin walls, so you hear much next door, including noisy keys opening/closing doors. ”
 of 5 bubbles VancouverTraveller1, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“they need an elevator the only thing”
 of 5 bubbles U1054OFsarad, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a second floor or higher on the inner courtyard side”
 of 5 bubbles JuneinNorway, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“At the front there is traffic. It is possible that you have to walk three or more stairs, check before you make a booking.”
 of 5 bubbles LouisK_11, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5