We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam

Hostelworld.comUS$54*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam
Panoramas (35)
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

444 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Showing 227: English reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Shelter City was the prime, inexpensive choice for my quick visit to Amsterdam. It is located in a beautiful safe central area, steps away from the canals, great restaurants and tourist attractions. My friend and I stayed on the attic floor in a private room, which was a bit of a steep climb up narrow staircases with suitcases in tow,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julianna W
ShelterCity, Front Office Manager at Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Hi Julianna, Thanks for the review. So true what you say about steep and narrow staircases. Dutch are so much known for their unique (and most inconvenient) staircases! We feel you! Please, come back soon!

Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

It's a very comfortable hostel. I'm not religious and they didn't try to push any sort of papers or ideals. Ya, alcohol and drugs aren't allowed but who cares. In fact in made for a really good place to get a good night's rest. The breakfast was okay, the showers were nice and warm, the staff are friendly, and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marikka B
ShelterCity, Front Office Manager at Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Hi Marikka, Glad you enjoyed your stay. We thought that our breakfast is superb... Anyways, we will do our best to move from 'okay' to 'superb'! Let us know when you will be coming back.

Reviewed 12 September 2016

Firstly, I didn't know it was a Christian hostel so read descriptions people! I had such a wonderful time here. Their 16-bedrom dorms were cleaned daily as well as all the facilities. The hostel is run by volunteers who are super friendly and helpful. There's cafe where you can have free brekky and a lovely courtyard where you can relax....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Piper H
ShelterCity, Front Office Manager at Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Hi there! Thank you for your response. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and had a good experience. We trust that you had an equally great experience of A'dam!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed here with a friend for five days, in a 15 person womens only room which was clean and quite spacious. The only problem with the room was there were no curtains on the top half of the windows so sunlight woke us up (maybe bring sleeping masks), although this did mean we never missed the free breakfast! The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pr0fessi0nal_0pini0n
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

We were a bit surprised to find the words 'Christian Hostel' when we arrived, but apart from a few prayer readings and Bible study sessions that can be avoided really, it was just a normal hostel. Which I found slightly funny considering the fact it shares a street with some of the red light district. The location is fantastic, about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellie K
ShelterCity, Front Office Manager at Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Ellie, Thank you for your kind and very thorough review. Thank you for staying with us.

Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

This hostel is very different to any other hostel, I booked here because that's where my friends had booked, not knowing it was a Christian hostel. In that sense it was okay, we were offered bibles and the opportunity to join prayer circles but it isn't compulsory or forced. Is actually quite a good get away from the smell of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa O
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Considering the amount of drugs and alcohol their strict policy gave it a very safe feel. The staff were extremely friendly and up for s chat. Free wifi! Great location, and it's actually a Christian hostel so you can go to bible class if you really needed to repent for your sins.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
ShelterCity, Front Office Manager at Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Thank you Sarah for your review. This is indeed what we aspire to be - a small island of tranquility in a very busy city. Glad you experienced it.

Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

Absolutely amazing location, right in the middle of the Red Light District - about a ten minute walk to central station. Facilities were good but not great, and unfortunately there was no kitchen. A really yummy cooked breakfast is provided every morning (pancakes, French toast, fried eggs), as well as muesli and bread. The staff were friendly, but it wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Remy W
ShelterCity, Front Office Manager at Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us.

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 16 August 2016

I was staying in the 16 bed dorm. location of Hostel is perfect. Volunteers there were very generous. Breakfast was also very good. But if you want to party then avoid staying here as it is very religious hostel (drinks and drugs aren't allowed) and i didn't like the fact that everyone has access to 16 bed room, even though...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ruturajshinde7
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Great location in city, not to far to walk from Centraal Station. Very safe and everyone is friendly and helpful. There are no drugs or alcohol allowed which is great. There are coffee shops and bars very close by if you want that. The breakfast is always delicious. Have stayed here three times and will stay there again on my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank millertron84

334 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (108)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (49)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (225)
Viewed
16 Bed Dorm Shared Facilities (0)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Shared Bathroom Facilities (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Flying Pig Uptown
Flying Pig Uptown
#7 of 227 in Amsterdam
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#12 of 227 in Amsterdam
1,215 reviews
WOW Hostel Amsterdam
#42 of 227 in Amsterdam
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Red Light District (De Wallen)

Neighbourhood Profile
Red Light District (De Wallen)
To visit Amsterdam and not explore De Wallen (the Dutch name for this area) or to go only to gawk at its saucier aspects would mean missing the opportunity to view some of the city’s most picturesque canals, historic landmarks, and impeccably presented examples of traditional local architecture – not to mention Amsterdam’s own Chinatown, Europe’s largest Buddhist temple and more local treasures. Sure, there are some less salubrious activities drawing the curious to this age-old part of time. Nevertheless, the Red Light District is still a very safe and incredibly fascinating area where at the turn of a corner you can be transported from the dingy glow of modern day neon red to a glorious 16th century Delft blue dreamscape.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Friendly, clean hostel in the centre of Amsterdam. Single-sex dormitories and rooms with 4-8 beds, some with en-suite bathrooms. 24 hour reception, cafe with cheap food and drinks, free use of lockers, great garden to hang out in with giant fish-pond! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam

Address: Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Price Range: $47 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shelter City Hotel Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure you bring a padlock for your locker”
EmmaA16, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“You have to bring towels and keys for the locker...”
lucerop22, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“DO NOT choose a dorm, instead go for a private ensuite. Maybe then you'll enjoy your stay.”
897allisonk, 26 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors many stairs.”
671dianne, 20 Jan 2016 | Read review
“the room that I was really good and quiet.”
618fabianab, 5 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$54* /night
View Deal
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates