We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

227 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 126: English reviews
Start your review of Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

We were not aware this was a Christian Hostel,so if you are looking for a place for pub crawl and party this is definitely not the place for you. If you rather prefer bible discussions or bible meditation,you have come to the right place ;) Best part of our stay was the breakfast. Other than that,OK standard for rooms, a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susanne H
Shelterams, Front Office Manager at Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Susanne, I am very sorry for your experience. We are very open and always state that it is a Christian hostel. However, it does not meant that the guests have to be Christians. In fact, absolute majority of our guests are non-Christians. And everyone is free to choose if they want or not want to join in for bible...

Reviewed 1 January 2017

I was in Amsterdam for 4 days and had stayed at Shelter Jordan. Pros - * The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. They are available round the clock to help you with your queries. * Very close to the public transportation (Bus & Tram) * Neat and clean rooms with free wifi and locker facilities. * Excellent platform to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abhishek K
ShelterCity, Front Office Manager at Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Abhishek, Thank you for such a kind response! You make us blush... In return we should recommend you as an awesome guest !

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 8 December 2016

For the price I paid, I expected more from this hostel. The staff were unfriendly and seemed to not know what they were doing, my locker wasn't working (I had to use a locker in the hallway), and the bathroom cleanliness was less than stellar. And everything was just old. I was happy when check out time came. Pros: This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peainsea
ShelterCity, Front Office Manager at Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Peainsea, We are very sorry for your experience. We are also undergoing reconstruction, thus your observation that it is a bit old is for sure true, however we already have one floor renovated and another is on the way. We hope that the renewed hostel should be more cozy place to stay.

Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Reviewed 8 December 2016

We stay there about 3 days and 2 nights. We have been travelling around all year and would say this is one of good quality hostels, especially for backpackers. The staff were friendly, they help us a lot in preparing foods and giving guides. They are even come and speak to us during free time. Room was clean and tidy,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zakwan H
ShelterCity, Front Office Manager at Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Zakwan, thank you for stopping by. We would love to have you back at some point!

Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

I make it poor because it's not average. I have stayed at an amazing hostels and now a poor hostel. Staff unfriendly. People didn't follow directions and staff didn't endorse the rules with those individuals. Staff didn't have good customer service nor did they communicate with each other. Would have to repeat myself many times. Food is poor. My friend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katelyn B
ShelterCity, Front Office Manager at Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Katelyn, Thank you so much for your honest review and critique. We are working hard to make a stay of our guest at the hostel as enjoyable as possible. Since, we are volunteer based hostel, staff turn-over rate can be rather high and always it takes for new people to get adjusted and grow. We will definitely take seriously...

Taylor Mill, United States
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Overall, the staff seemed incompetent. They were not welcoming and seemed burdened by us. I had one male staff member when asked if I could rent bikes, ask me if I could come back in ten minutes. I went elsewhere. It seemed too much for them to juggle multiple customers at once. As far as the breakfast goes, we never...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abby G
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Very nice and clean hostel and friendly staff. I was there for two times and it was a good experience. However at the second time, the locker in my room was between the bed and the window, really hard to put our stuffs inside that. Good breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isabela M
ShelterCity, Front Office Manager at Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you Isabela for your kind review. Please come again. Especially, because we will be starting renovation in November and all will be fresh and new afterwards!

Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

It's a hostel with good prices and good location. They offer breakfast in the morning and the staff was kind with me and my mom. I feel safety in this hostel. I really recomend this Place to stay in Amsterdã :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Camila P
Reviewed 21 September 2016

There were bed bugs in my bed (not 1 or 2 bugs, LOTS), and in a bed on the other floor as well. The staff were kind when I complained, but didn't handle it the best they could - they should have sought professional services for pest control, but didn't (as far as I'm aware), and just kept on admitting...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Maia S
ShelterCity, Front Office Manager at Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Maia, Thank you for your review. We were fighting bedbugs on and off for some time, using the service of professional pest control service. However, now we will be doing a complete renovation of the hostel starting from November to get rid of bedbugs completely and to make hostel cozier.

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed in early September, booked by a friend not knowing the hostel was in fact a Christian run business. Check in was ok, but this is a place you need to read up on before booking, the dorms are separated, and men and women are not even allowed to enter each other's floor. Pretty annoying as we were staying as...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jamesbell88

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dutchies Hostel
#41 of 225 in Amsterdam
62 reviews
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Jordaan
International Budget Hostel
International Budget Hostel
#135 of 225 in Amsterdam
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostelle
#38 of 225 in Amsterdam
237 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Flying Pig Uptown
Flying Pig Uptown
#8 of 225 in Amsterdam
777 reviews
WOW Hostel Amsterdam
#40 of 225 in Amsterdam
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Jordaan

Neighbourhood Profile
Jordaan
One of Amsterdam’s most preferred outdoor markets and some of the city’s favorite watering holes are but two of the many reasons to save ample time for a stroll through this especially convivial warren of narrow streets with its unfair share of quirky shops and quality galleries. Historically a haven for the working class and emigrants, these days the Jordaan is better known as an enclave for artists and designers. As popular as the Jordaan is as a destination for locals and out-of-towners alike, the area never feels particularly touristy or overrun with outsiders. A highlight even for long-time Jordaan residents, be sure to accept any invitation to step within one of the area’s beloved courtyards or to have a sneak peek inside one of its many working studios.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Shelter Jordan - Popular for its warm and welcoming atmosphere - An amazing location for a great price! Shelter Jordan is in the heart of Amsterdam, close to Anne Frank House, Dam Square, Royal palace and the Museum District. A direct bus to Schiphol Airport is just around the corner. The Jordan area is full of charming streets, picturesque canals and fascinating hidden courtyards. Experience real Amsterdam in the lively street markets, "brown" cafés and the tulip and cheese museums. This area is famous for hip and trendy boutiques as well as endless restaurants and cafés. With less than 100 beds the hostel is smaller than many in Amsterdam, creating an atmosphere where it's easy to feel at home and make friends The courtyard garden is a great place to hang out when the sun's shining and you can buy drinks, snacks and meals in the café. We cook a home-made dinner each evening for our staff and you are very welcome to join us. You'll also find games to play, books to read, tables where you can write your journal, a chill-out area with comfy sofas where you can relax and chat to other guests and free WiFi access to keep in touch with home. FREE: Breakfast, WiFi, Lockers, Maps, Sheets and Showers. No hidden extras - all taxes are included in the low prices. Female only floor. Choice of rooms with 4-18 beds and shared bathrooms. The large dormitories have dividing walls between the beds. Free lockers are available - bring your own padlock or buy one at reception. 24 hour reception with tourist information and discount tickets for canal cruises, bike hire and museums. Good security, free luggage storage, no curfew, no drugs and no alcohol. Run by Christian volunteers from all around the world. This not-for-profit hostel will give you a good night's sleep in a clean and friendly atmosphere. A favourite Amsterdam hostel since 1971 with many guests coming back year after year. Come with your friends or make new ones. Experience Christian hospitality during your Amsterdam adventure! Come and discover why Let's Go guide book described Shelter Jordan as "one of the very best". ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel

Address: Bloemstraat 179, 1016 LA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Price Range: $35 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelter Jordan Hotel Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for one that has been fumigated for bed bugs”
 of 5 bubbles ssamoore, 4 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Don't book the 18 bed dorm!!”
 of 5 bubbles PlainLauraJane, 30 May 2016 | Read review
“something other than the 8 bed dorm maybe?”
 of 5 bubbles barty1013, 13 Apr 2016 | Read review
“ask if you will have your own bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles DiegoS343, 9 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Near the window because you can see the roofs of other houses”
 of 5 bubbles MattR476, 21 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5