We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, an IHG hotel

Zwaansvliet 20, 1081 AP Amsterdam The Netherlands
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (212)
Room & Suite (75)
Dining (26)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, an IHG hotel
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#97 of 419 hotels in Amsterdam
Summer Offers with 10% discounts Spring is upon us and so is the new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - SouthThe new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South is ideally located near the financial district of Amsterdam, the South Axis. When using tram or bus which stops in front of the hotel, guests are in close reach of all main financial institutes, the VU Medical Center and the RAI Congress Center (all at 5-10 minutes door-to-door travel). The sound proof, well-furnished and spacious rooms offer modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite, free Wi-Fi, coffee/tea facilities and a walk in shower. On top of all these facilities, our guests are served a complimentary Continental breakfast and also a free daily kosher breakfast is available with no advance reservation required. Next to this the hotel offers special kosher sandwiches. The hotel is located in the Jewish community of Amsterdam and Amstelveen and therefore you will also find many Orthodox Synagogues within walking distance and special Shabbat amenities are available in the hotel.With close proximity of the A10 around Amsterdam, you can easily travel to many main destinations in the Netherlands (Haarlem, The Hague, Utrecht, etc.) and also sightseeing to the most important sites (for instance the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Anne Frank House and the Royal Palace) are in good reach via public transport. The Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South welcomes you.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Vending machine
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Residential Neighbourhood
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Dutch


Full view
78Somewhat walkable
Grade: 78 out of 100
41Restaurantswithin 1 km
10Attractionswithin 1 km
884Reviews32Q+A88Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 462
  • 332
  • 73
  • 11
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Fabian wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
The hotel is conveniently located on the tram line 5 and the rooms are nice. The cleaner left some blue cleaning spray in my room - not sure how other rooms got cleaned without? On check-in there was a problem with the card reader so the chrck-in person advised to use the pre-authorization on check-out to avoid double-payment. I had booked an early breakfast bag for 5.45 the next morning and showed up on time. Nobody at reception or in the breakfast area. I waited and called, even openend the door outside to call. After a considerable wait the night audit appeared from outside. He was not welcoming from the first moment. He refused using the pre-authorization in saying I would not receive an invoice. Pay or I know what do to, your choice were his words. I mentioned his colleagues advice, he did not care and got verbally more agressive. I told him I'd pay as I needed the tram to catch my train. He said he did not care about my tram and I would miss the next two trains,because now he would decide how much time it takes to check me out. Needless to say it took a lot longer than ever. My ask for an envelop got refused and he called me a "bad person' who needs "more sleep". When I asked for my breakfast bag he again made me wait and disappeared into the back. Nothing happened and he was not using the prepared food in the breakfast lobby for my bag. Running out of time and being concerned about him compromizing the safety and hygiene of my bag I left without breakfast after 15 mins in the lobby. Thank you HI Express for missing my train! Generally I like the HI Express chain, but I won't return and can't recommend the hotel because of staff and the cleaning.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, an IHG hotel
Responded 10 Nov 2021
Hi 659fabian, Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to leave us feedback. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it is apparent in your case we fell short. I am sorry we missed the mark on the level of customer service you received. I have alerted the hotel management about your comments and have also sent you a private message to obtain additional information. Again, thanks for staying with us. We value your feedback and welcome the opportunity to provide you with a better experience. Sincerely, Connie D Case Manager IHGService
Read more
CSB_Caracas wrote a review Oct 2021
Caracas, Venezuela278 contributions90 helpful votes
We were looking for a hotel out of the Amsterdam center frenzy as we were planning to drive about the towns around Amsterdam. The hotel was a block away from public transportation so it was easy to go downtown and had convenient parking just at its side. Room and beds wwere right and bathroom was good. Breakfast was simple. It might be a little far if your main plan is to visit Amsterdam.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Response from Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam South, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, an IHG hotel
Responded 21 Oct 2021
We appriciate that you left us a nice review. We are glad to hear that we met all your expectations, that is where we aim for. Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam South and we hope that you will consider us for your next business trip! Kind regards, Jermaine Front Office
Read more
SKGEmmanuel wrote a review Oct 2021
Brussels, Belgium169 contributions102 helpful votes
Honest to the principles of its brand in a quiet area. In a way, it is a very Dutch hotel : organised and with a sense of regularity, honest on their offering, and with a goal-oriented and no-fuss approach. The connection links with public transport are perfectly adequate and frequent enough towards the city centre, though it would best cater for those who are on business in the area (or simply need to be away from the hassle of the centre). I’ve also noticed that families are accommodated, which is great for them, since not many hotels are genuinely family-friendly (it’s less great when a child cries nonstop, but that’s life I guess). The rooms are maintained to a good standard; well cleaned and more spacious that pictures imply. The bed felt somewhat springy but it’s still great to sleep and far from needed to be replaced. TV could be bigger but it’s also more than adequate. No fridge in the room but the personnel with happily store items for you in the communal fridge at the reception and also offer the option of renting one in the room (upon availability). Everything needed is there and it’s done well. I particularly liked the simplicity of things, since nowadays there are hotel rooms where one has to deal with switches of all sorts before going to bed; in this hotel, it’s about going back to the basics of what a hotel is meant to offer over a short stay with simplicity, efficiency, and doing well what is actually offered. Breakfast is complimentary : small range but varied enough for a few days and it actually has everything needed for a decent breakfast. I appreciated the fact that one can “pre-book” a time slot for breakfast as a means to control flow and manage capacity for the interests of everyone. Personnel was effective on its attitude and pleasant to deal with; kudos to the young lady who was doing a late afternoon shift on her own, for her professional and proactive approach to everyone, and always with a smile. The quality/price ratio appears to be attractive and better than other similar establishments on the same category, and therefore I would happily return if I need to stay in the area again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
1 Helpful vote
Tom wrote a review Sep 2021
Saint Paul, Minnesota2 contributions
I had booked a room at the Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South through my IHG rewards membership for 12 nights, beginning Sept 5, 2021, to visit my son. My credit card was charged $810.98 for a deposit in July, 2021 when I made the booking. On Friday, Sept 3, the day before my flight was to depart, the government of the Netherlands placed the USA on the unsafe country list due to rising Covid-19 rates. Residents of the USA were then subject to a travel ban starting Sept 4. I had no choice but to cancel my trip, which I did online. The airline and other venues issued me credit for the cancellation. I reached out to the hotel on Sept 8 when I did not see a credit for the booking deposit. I called the hotel, and the front desk staff suggested I try emailing the front office . I sent an email, explaining that I was forced to cancel the day before I was to leave due to a decision by the Netherlands government. A member of the front office replied, stating that there would be no refund since the cancellation was less than 7 days before the start of the reserved stay. I wrote again, requesting the decision be reconsidered. The Guest Service Manager replied by email, maintaining that there would be no refund. I then called the IHG Worldwide customer service line and explained the situation. The agent assured me that she could help me, and put me on hold while she spoke to the hotel management. The agent returned to the line and told me that she was unable to secure a refund, and that she was shocked and disappointed by the decision of the hotel management, but there was nothing else she could do. I agreed with her assessment of the situation. I then submitted a dispute request to my credit card company, and after reviewing my case, the credit card company credited my account the $810.98, stating I have a valid claim and that they will be in contact with the hotel. The hotel still has not, at this time, agreed to refund the deposit. I'm sure the hotel is a nice property, but I am very disappointed with their stance on unavoidable cancellations.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Room Tip: I'm sure the hotel is a nice property, but I am disappointed with their stance on unavoidable...
See more room tips
Bayla B wrote a review Aug 2021
4 contributions1 helpful vote
I have stayed at many hotels and accommodations over the years and have had good experiences but this was exceptional. The staff was super nice, helpful and accommodating, very attentive to our needs. Anytime we asked for help or advice they spent time to explain and be of assistance. They were very friendly and the place had a very homey feel, it was my home away from home in a way. The place was very very clean as well. Room cozy and comfortable, comfortable beds. Nice location and close to transportation, very accessible. I also would like to note that as religious Jews they were VERY accommodating and helpful, very respectful of our customs. They had a big hand in making our stay enjoyable and comfortable in line with our traditions. Kosher breakfast available, Shabbat accommodations like keys, perfect for Shabbat observant guests! (and for all guest in general) Really recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Sleep Quality
Response from Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam South, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, an IHG hotel
Responded 10 Sep 2021
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We really appreciate the kind words about our staff and service. We are glad that we met all your expectations, that is where we aim for! It's also very nice to hear that you were able to enjoy the service we provide for the Jewish guests. We would love to have another wonderful experience with you in the Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam South! Kindest regards, Jermaine, Front Office
Read more
US$92 - US$225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamBuitenveldert / Amsterdam South / Buitenveldert-West / Zuideramstel
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, an IHG hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, an IHG hotel?
Nearby attractions include Amsterdamse Bos (0.8 km), Gelderlandplein (0.9 km), and Fun Forest Amsterdam (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, an IHG hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, an IHG hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, an IHG hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, an IHG hotel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, an IHG hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bolenius, Happyhappyjoyjoy Zuidas, and De Veranda.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, an IHG hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, an IHG hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, an IHG hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, an IHG hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Anne Frank House (5.6 km), Concertgebouw (3.4 km), and Portuguese Synagogue (5.3 km).
Is Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, an IHG hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.