We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel New York

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel New York
Hotel New York
Panoramas (25)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,091 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel New York
See the most recent reviews
Showing 389: English reviews
Somerset West
Reviewed 2 August 2015

Recently I had dinner here by invitation, and left the place with very mixed feelings. The hotel/restaurant is beautifully located at one of the historic places in Rotterdam, where cruise ships left for the United States. The building is magnificent and the interior is, although not my taste, well appointed. The extensive menu was given to us and I opted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LaurentPerrier
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time on writing this review. I'm sorry to read your diner was not what you expected it to be. I will definitely discuss this matter with our kitchen chef. Again I apologize and still I hope to welcome you again as our guest. rdusseldorp@hotelnewyork.nl

Lanarkshire
Reviewed 31 July 2015

I loved my experience at the Hotel New York. It is an old, characterful edifice in a beautiful area of Rotterdam, a far cry from the luxury, yet cold standard of many chains across the globe. Beautifully appointed room and very attentive service. Great staff, in fact the best reception team I have ever met in my journeys. Room service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FranBoyle
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this review

Thank you very much for leaving your review. I will definitely will give your compliments further to our reception desk. As for your comments on our shower, I will also keep this in mind. I apologize for the inconvenience caused. Hopefully we can welcome you again as our guest in the near future! rdusseldorp@hotelnewyork.nl

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 28 July 2015

It is a bit away from the centre but you have a very interesting building, nice resto and views on present and past of Rotterdam. Windows need thorough cleaning. The hotel could negociate a deal with the water-taxi.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sabina520
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am happy to hear that you had a good stay. Considdering our location, it is indeed sometimes hard to keep our windows clean. And about the watertaxi: I don't know what you exactly mean by a deal? Despite this, we hope that we can welcome you again as our guest in the...

Southampton
Reviewed 27 July 2015 via mobile

I picked the hotel out from previous Trip Advisor reviews because I loved its location and quirkiness and nothing disappointed. We were celebrating our anniversary and the hotel came up trumps with a great room and a postcard that even said Happy 28th anniversary, so we'll done to the reception staff. Every one of them congratulated us, which was lovely....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dougalldays
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive words! We were happy to welcome you when you had your anniversary. You had one of our most special rooms and I am happy to read that you had a good time. And that you appreciated the location, the nostalgic elements and the restaurant. We hope to see you around your next anniversary?...

Weert, The Netherlands
Reviewed 23 July 2015

I stayed two nights at this hotel, located in the middle of the city. At arrival I met very friendly people at te reception desk . Room is big enough and very nice decorated, all in style with the history of the Holland American line. Service at the terrace was what in-efficient (maybe due to holiday season)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erwin J
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am happy to hear that you experienced our hospitality as positive. Next time we will do everything we can to do the same on the terrace. We hope to see you again in the future! rdusseldorp@hotelnewyork.nl

Pfaeffikon, Switzerland
Reviewed 19 July 2015

Indeed a special place to stay, and probably the best spot in Rotterdam to enjoy your drinks on a nice day sitting on the open terrace in front of the historical building of the Hotel New York, the former head office of the Holland America Line. At the very end of the Wilhelmina pier on the river Maas, it offers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ElenaNW87RL
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We can only agree that our terrace is one of the best spots in Rotterdam for drinks and food. The view is, also for ourselves, spectaculair. rdusseldorp@hotelnewyork.nl

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 17 July 2015

Hotel New York is located in the heart of old Rotterdam, in the middle of the busy harbour. The building is the old office of the Holland America Line, from where the Dutch emigrants used to leave for the US. The building is left intact as much as possible, which gives a great, historical, atmosphere, with stunning details in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert v
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is good to read that you enjoyed your stay in Rotterdam an ofcourse that you liked Hotel New York ! We hope to welcome you again as our guest in the near future. rdusseldorp@hotelnewyork.nl

Ghent, Belgium
Reviewed 17 July 2015

As comfortable the room was, as large the bed was, as great the service was, the main problem with booking a room here, is that the hotel seems to want to slowly but steadily cook its visitors. Yes, they advertise that they have air conditioning. And they do…. but it didn't go below 22C. Which on an hot summer night,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank P C
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this review

Thank you for feedback. It is good to read that you liked the size of the room & bed and that you appreciate our service. Your comment about the aircondition surprises me. Normally our airconditioning can cool the room enough to have a comfortable temperature. It is through that ther is a safety build in to the system at 22C....

Utrecht Province, The Netherlands
Reviewed 7 July 2015

This hotel is stunning, the service every so friendly and the special arrangements we had (water taxi, Rotterdam harbour tour and buffet breakfast) were above expectations. Being Dutch, this is our favourite tourist spot within our own country so far. The tower room with view of the Maas river and Euromast is an absolute highlight of the hotel!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline H
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. How nice to read that you are a Dutch fan of the hotel and especially of the tower room. We are looking forward to see you again in the future!

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 July 2015

This former HQ of the Rotterdam-New York ocean line is an architectural jewel with enormous modernised rooms furnished with desks and stands made from metal packing cases, lighting from old theatre spots and a restaurant resembling the dining room of an ocean going steamer. The room is a little more expensive than average but worth it, and the restaurant is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harry K
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. Ofcourse we hope to welcome you again in the near future as a guest of our hotel. Kind regards ! rdusseldorp@hotelnewyork.nl

880 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (381)
Viewed
Room/Suite (88)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (76)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
1:22
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (150)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (491)
Viewed
Amenities (46)
Viewed
Balcony Room (54)
Viewed
Boardroom (57)
Viewed
Corner Room (45)
Viewed
Dining (134)
Viewed
Riverside Tower Room (71)
Viewed
The Hotel (84)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
nhow Rotterdam
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,320 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#4 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,024 reviews
Suite Hotel Pincoffs
#1 of 52 in Rotterdam
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,162 reviews
SS Rotterdam
#10 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,594 reviews
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#3 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel New York is located in the beautiful former headquarters of the Holland America Line, situated on the banks of the river Maas in Rotterdam in The Netherlands.A visit to Hotel New York is both a journey into the past and into the future. The nostalgic building symbolizes the departure of many emigrants with hope and tension of their new homeland.The agitated history is still touchable in the building: many pictures and suitcases of the emigrants, as well as the 6 former board rooms are keeping the history alive.Hotel New York has 72 exceptional hotel rooms, 7 unique halls and meeting rooms. The ground floor features a large café-restaurant, where 400 guests can enjoy an extensive or simple a-la-carte meal in any price category from early in the morning until late at night. High ceilings, colourful lights, sturdy nautical elements and robust tubes and pillars provide a maritime and industrial atmosphere, where everyone feels at home! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel New York

Address: Koninginnenhoofd 1, 3072 AD Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Price Range: $154 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Hotel
New York Rotterdam
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rotterdam
#4 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Rotterdam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
#9 Green Hotel in Rotterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel New York staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Sanibel Island, Florida
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel New York staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Select whether you want outside view or not”
 of 5 bubbles johanb970, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“A room close to parking lot and road is not recommendable due to the noise”
 of 5 bubbles 778marcv, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“This hotel has some wonderful rooms, all different, depends on your taste and how much you want to pay. The boardrooms are fabulous”
 of 5 bubbles judithlorraine123, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose for rooms with a view at the water side”
 of 5 bubbles JLa54, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for waterview!”
 of 5 bubbles 805NathalieR, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5