We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Banks Hotel

Booking.comUS$106*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$110*
US$106*
US$110*
US$110*
US$106*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Banks Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

414 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 203: English reviews
Start your review of Banks Hotel
 Click to rate
Meppel, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been in this hotel several times the past years, but the once very charming and well designed hotel has lost its charm. Faulty sanitary, old beds, doubtful service during our last stay. Not to be recommended any more.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Framdon
Banks-Antwerp, Manager at Banks Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your time to share your feedback with us and of course we are sorry to read we have not met your expectations on this occasion. We would have loved to hear your remarks when you were in the hotel, so we could act upon them immediately. The Auping Boxspringbeds with real duvet quilt and linnen...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The most positive point is the location. Banks is situated in the centre of beautiful Antwerp. I made a booking for 3 rooms. This is called "a group reservation" for Banks and means they precharge it on your credit card. Not a friendly first impression. After 2 comments about the poor WiFi connection in my room, they reset the router....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Renate020
Banks-Antwerp, Manager at Banks Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Renate, Thank you for your time to share your feedback with us and thank you for appreciating our location as you did. We do apologise for the WiFi, and this issue is raised with our provider and solved by them. Indeed we apply the group policy to 3 rooms or more, which we do communicate. Of course we hope...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a compact room so probably our fault for not checking actual size bit it was basically a wardrobe.The bathroom door wouldn't slide properly either so we asked to be moved. We had to pay an extra 150 euro to be "upgraded" room was bigger but certainly not an upgrade. Bathroom flooded every time we had a shower. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eileen L
Banks-Antwerp, Manager at Banks Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Eileen, Thank you for your time to share your feedback with us. The roomsize of our compact double is compact as advertised, but the room does have all the comfort found in other rooms; extra long Auping Boxspringbeds with real duvet quilt and linnen of the finest quality, coffee & tea facilities, walk-in shower etc. And the price for...

Hilversum, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is situated in the centre of Antwerp. Simple rooms with a glass bathroom and toilet. Modern style. A set breakfast is served at your table. Great: happy hour from 16.30-20.00. All beverages like wine, beer etc are free and there is also a good selection of little snacks (tapas)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AstridY55
Banks-Antwerp, Manager at Banks Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Astrid, Thank you for your time to share your feedback with us and we are happy to read Banks has met your expectations and that you enjoyed our free drinks & bites. We look forward to welcoming you again in Banks with a chilled welcome drink during your next trip to Antwerp. With kind regards, Niesje Hogewoning Manager

Maastricht, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Modern hotel that's located close to both the historic centre and the main shopping areas. We liked the minimalistic design, though two things could be improved: 1) one side of the bed was very soft, so turning around mattresses every month or so would be advisable; 2) while we had no problems with outside noise, it was quite easy to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrick B
Banks-Antwerp, Manager at Banks Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Patrick, Thank you for your time to share your feedback with us and appreciating Banks for being "very good". Thank you for your tips, we will consider these in our continuous process to improve our service and product. Thank you for appreciating our design and our central location in Antwerp. And we look forward to welcoming you again in...

Pays de la Loire, France
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A good location, nice lounge, friendly staff. The room was clean and minimalistic but very cold on arrival in the evening, it took almost an hour to get a comfortable heat... The unpleasant surprise is that at 7.00 started continuous noise of trucks and works in the street for all day! The receptionist was sorry the hotel can't help that,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lila B
Banks-Antwerp, Manager at Banks Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lila, Thank you for your time to share your feedback with us. And that Banks has met your expectations. Of course we do apologise for the inconvenience you experienced due to the refurbishment of the street, but unfortunately we can not influence the city's planning. Therefore we do hope we may welcome you again in Banks to show you...

Dendermonde, Belgium
Reviewed 21 March 2017

When arriving at the hotel we were welcomed with a glass of Cava, the entrance is revealing a marriage between art and design. Allowing artists to expose their art on the walls. The exposed pieces of art definately brings an artistic and charming feeling. The room was perfectly clean! I have no comment in what's so ever about the maintenance....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dana_from_Belgium
Banks-Antwerp, Manager at Banks Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dana, Thank you for appreciating Banks with 5 stars. We are very please to read Banks has met your expectations and that you had a great time in Antwerp. And thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and we do look forward to welcoming you again in Banks with a chilled welcome drink during...

Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

I spent just one night in this hotel with a friend as we were in the city for a concert. Very friendly staff, glass of sparkling upon arrival, and free snacks and tapas in the afternoon. Loved it! The room is simple, nothing too exciting, but the shower is good and beds are very comfy! Location good as well. Would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anouk M
Banks-Antwerp, Manager at Banks Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anouk, Thank you for your time to share your feedback with us and we are happy to read you found Banks "cozy and generous". Thank you for appreciating our Crew, welcome drink, free drinks & bites, extra long Auping boxspringbeds with real duvet quilt and linen of the finest quality great and that you also enjoyed our walk-in shower...

London
Reviewed 7 March 2017

It’s taken me longer than usual to write a review of Banks, as it doesn’t fit into any of my usual hotel categories. It’s certainly not “budget” but then again, it isn’t expensive. It is as far away from a “traditional” as you could imagine. Then again, it isn’t 5* over-the-top luxury either. I’ve never stayed anywhere quite like it....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JandApe
Banks-Antwerp, Manager at Banks Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your time to share your feedback with us. And we look forward to welcoming you again in Banks. We will use your feedback in our continuous improvement process and really like to thank you for your extensive input. As said we look forward to welcoming you again in Banks with a chilled welcome drink. With...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2017

We booked a room for the weekend to explore Antwerp. Unfortunately this apparently happened to coincide with some other event that appealed to.....how shall I put this....people who wanted to overindulge (and therefore become absolute terrors to reside next to). We had awful neighbours on both sides :( People screeching at the top of their lungs, evidently completely drunk/out of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ahelm2408
Banks-Antwerp, Manager at Banks Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your time to share your feedback with us and we are happy to read you enjoyed Banks considering the circumstances. Of course your compliments are shared with our Crew and we do hope we may welcome you again in Banks during your next trip to Antwerp. With kind regards, Niesje Hogewoning Manager

117 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (89)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Matelote
Hotel Matelote
#22 of 72 in Antwerp
308 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
0.2 km away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel O  Kathedral
Hotel O Kathedral
#25 of 72 in Antwerp
266 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Les Nuits
Hotel Les Nuits
#24 of 72 in Antwerp
157 reviews
0.7 km away
Theater Hotel
Theater Hotel
#23 of 72 in Antwerp
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
BANKS, a wonderful hotel where you can find a Daytime Café and a Lazy Lounge. Located right in the middle of the most fashionable area in town. You will be charmed by the original and modern look of its interior design. Wood, glass and concrete were melted together to enhance a harmonious mix of design and tradition. The furniture has been selected with the utmost care and is completed by their owners creations. A display of exhibitions by young artists decorate the walls. The result is fresh, bright and invigorating. Lounge next to the open fire place or a stroll straight into town? Always feel welcome at BANKS! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Banks Hotel

Address: Steenhouwersvest 55, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Price Range: $140 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Banks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Hotel Antwerp
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Banks Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room number 312 is the 3rd floor corner (small suite) room with open fire and bath.”
Dana_from_Belgium, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I guess ask to not be placed next to "party" guests.”
ahelm2408, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are more quiet, no view”
WimLeuven, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book elsewhere”
, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“rooms over street can be noisy and lack aircon so closing windows can be tricky. we moved to top floor room facing off street with aircon”
681gerryw, 3 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$106* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUS$110
TripAdvisorUS$106
Hotels.comUS$110
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates