We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Royal Tahitien

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Royal Tahitien
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 59: English reviews
Camden, Maine
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a delightful dinner in the restaurant by the water. The menu had a wide selection of choices. My fish was cooked just right and the green beans made for a nice side dish. The service was just as it should be. It was a quiet Thursday evening, I am told it get a little wilder when the band...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Etienne P
Mooresville, North Carolina
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Easy place to get to from the airport. Water garden is wonderful and the grounds are well kept. Restaurant is pricy but expect a large crowd on weekend evenings. Singing and dancing with a meal. Food is very good especially the deserts. Hotel itself is very dated. The concept was nice in the past but has not been updated from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kcnc2
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 July 2016

This is well situated not far from the town centre next to the beach with lovely grounds and a view behind of the mountains (when not covered in clouds). But it has seen better days. There is a nice swimming pool and lounging area. There are the inevitable cockerels roaming to wake you up just that bit earlier than you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barry M
Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

Just left there and I must say the staff are amazing and helpful! We had family illness while in Tahiti and had to be in hospital almost across the street. Used this hotel due to location to hospital. Very dated rooms, dark and two lights did not work. I am sure in its heyday it was great just needs much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn M
Alberta, Canada
Reviewed 22 April 2016

Pleasant staff. Room bare but clean. Our plane did not leave until midnight after getting off ship in morning. We appreciated somewhere to nap and shower before going to airport. Not much to do at this hotel but it does have a restaurant and bar right at oceanfront. Food was good but pricey. Grounds are pretty. Although pool is available...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy P
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night as I was on my way to Moorea. Reception were really friendly and welcoming (I arrived around 630pm) and was shown to my room. Rooms are dated which i don't normally mind but dated and dirty is another thing. Left the room almost as soon as I arrived and headed down to the restaurant. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank phoebe_ferens
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 April 2016

Ok for one night but rooms were dated and dirty ...a long walk through dark gardens that were neglected. Restaurant food was surprisingly good..as with most places in the Pacific plastic chairs abound. Staff were mostly friendly. Probably wouldn't stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
california
Reviewed 25 February 2016

I read a lot of reviews of the Royal Tahitien before I booked, and I booked it mostly because of its location. And if we had a car, it would have gotten an excellent rating. A taxi to the hotel from either airport or downtown is $25 - $30. The buses are quite comfortable, but do not run regularly -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank newawil
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 22 December 2015

Arriving in the small hours of the morning we were shepherded across the cold wet lawn to our room seems like nothing out of the ordinary. The disappointment starts when you enter the room. Not that anything would crawl in but a hole in the door on the inside doesn't create a great first impression. The bathroom is out of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DeanneS228
vaitiare m, Responsable relations clients at Royal Tahitien, responded to this review

Dear Deanne, Thank you for taking time to write your impression on our hotel. The Royal Tahitien was built in the 1960's and has been refreshed 2 years ago. I take good note of your remarks and will fix the little inconveniences. Regarding the price, could you please tell me where you've booked your night as the average price per...

Eltville am Rhein, Germany
Reviewed 12 December 2015

Because we had some health problems, we had to cancel our flight back to Europe and send a lot of papers to different insurance companies etc. My mobile phone didn't work and everything was difficult. The staff in the reception was just great, they helped me with everything, calling, scanning papers, cheering me up, just everything. I don't think that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nilla425

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pirae
11.1 km away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
2.3 km away
Hotel Tahiti Nui
Hotel Tahiti Nui
#2 of 4 in Papeete
1,020 reviews
3.0 km away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#3 of 4 in Papeete
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
14.2 km away
Le Meridien Tahiti
Le Meridien Tahiti
#1 of 4 in Papeete
1,530 reviews
4.3 km away
Tahiti Pearl Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Royal Tahitien

Address: Pirae, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Pirae
Price Range: $184 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Tahitien 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Tahitien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Tahitien Hotel Pirae
Royal Tahitien Hotel Papeete
Royal Tahitien Papeete
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Tahitien staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Volcano, Hawaii
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Tahitien staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Have them show you a few rooms before you choose.”
 of 5 bubbles EtienneP517, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms are probably best”
 of 5 bubbles BarryM117, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I think the standard is pretty shabby across the board. .nothing is close to reception .”
 of 5 bubbles Patz02, 31 Mar 2016 | Read review
“I wouldn't choose a corner room - two wings with two floors are very similar.”
 of 5 bubbles newawil, 25 Feb 2016 | Read review
“There were some rooms closer to the sea but not many”
 of 5 bubbles DeanneS228, 22 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay