We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal Tahitien

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Royal Tahitien
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Royal Tahitien
See the most recent reviews
Showing 62: English reviews
california
Reviewed 25 February 2016

I read a lot of reviews of the Royal Tahitien before I booked, and I booked it mostly because of its location. And if we had a car, it would have gotten an excellent rating. A taxi to the hotel from either airport or downtown is $25 - $30. The buses are quite comfortable, but do not run regularly -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank newawil
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 22 December 2015

Arriving in the small hours of the morning we were shepherded across the cold wet lawn to our room seems like nothing out of the ordinary. The disappointment starts when you enter the room. Not that anything would crawl in but a hole in the door on the inside doesn't create a great first impression. The bathroom is out of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DeanneS228
vaitiare m, Responsable relations clients at Royal Tahitien, responded to this review

Dear Deanne, Thank you for taking time to write your impression on our hotel. The Royal Tahitien was built in the 1960's and has been refreshed 2 years ago. I take good note of your remarks and will fix the little inconveniences. Regarding the price, could you please tell me where you've booked your night as the average price per...

Eltville am Rhein, Germany
Reviewed 12 December 2015

Because we had some health problems, we had to cancel our flight back to Europe and send a lot of papers to different insurance companies etc. My mobile phone didn't work and everything was difficult. The staff in the reception was just great, they helped me with everything, calling, scanning papers, cheering me up, just everything. I don't think that...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nilla425
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 25 October 2015

Don't be fooled by the photos. This place is a ghost town.. I'm sure it was rocking in 1972. The pool is tiny and dirty the waterfall feature is dead same with this hotel, not even a beach chair. The black sand beach you came here for is filthy..littered with garbage. Rooms are clean that's it.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kristin_scattergood
Devonport, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 October 2015

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. We enjoyed our time at the hotel; staff was great. Grounds were beautiful. Facilities were heading toward the run down as described by other reviewers. I was most surprised when we stayed at the Intercontinental Hotel Tahitian our last night and the food on their menu was significantly less expensive!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy R
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Reviewed 18 October 2015

My experience at the Royal Tahitian was definitely a positive one. While the physical plant is a bit tired, it isn’t nearly as bad as some of the older reviews indicate. My room was clean, relatively modern and well appointed. My little patio faced a beautifully landscaped, inward oriented green space with a generous serving of grass, trees and lilies...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dennisvj
vaitiare m, Responsable relations clients at Royal Tahitien, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write your comments about our hotel and restaurant. I will definitely pass on your compliments to Yasmina. Looking forward to see you again. Best regards, Vaitiare

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed for eight nights and I couldn't disagree more with some earlier reviews. I was a bit concerned after reading the latest review the day before flying out so took some insecticide with me. I had no need of it as our room was completely bug free. The door was fitted with insect screens which we kept closed at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daisynz
vaitiare m, Responsable relations clients at Royal Tahitien, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write such a nice comment on our hotel and staff. All your comments are well noted and we will do our best to fix the little things that you have pointed-out in order to get rated 5 stars from you ;-) We hope to see you soon as the way you feel about our...

Santa Cruz, California
Reviewed 29 July 2015

We rented this as a day room between flying back from Tikehau in the am and waiting for our late night flight back to the US. Although the room looked clean, the cockroaches were everywhere. We changed into bathing suits and thought we'd get in a little beach time or a swim in the pool. Both were so dirty and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alida S
NZ
Reviewed 3 July 2015

We stayed here for 3 nights in June. The rooms were ok apart from two huge cockroaches visiting us. The hotel is a bit tired and seemed quiet. However the swimming pool seems to be never available for hotel guests as it is used by the locals for birthday parties. The local beach is dirty and awash with juice cartons...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pamela_NZ
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 7 June 2015

For the price this hotel is not to par. Very old rooms, bathroom only just clean enough and no real hot water. Sheets had make-up stains. Restaurant very overpriced, especially breakfast. Was brought the wrong order and the waitress tried to get me to just live with it instead of taking it back and getting the right order, was friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank McannieF

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pirae
11.1 km away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
3.0 km away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#2 of 3 in Papeete
253 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel Tahiti Nui
Hotel Tahiti Nui
#1 of 3 in Papeete
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 km away
Le Meridien Tahiti
Le Meridien Tahiti
#2 of 3 in Punaauia
1,644 reviews
9.2 km away
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
4.3 km away
Tahiti Pearl Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Royal Tahitien

Address: Pirae, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Pirae
Price Range: $158 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Tahitien 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Tahitien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Tahitien Hotel Pirae
Royal Tahitien Hotel Papeete
Royal Tahitien Papeete
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Tahitien staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Volcano, Hawaii
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Tahitien staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Have them show you a few rooms before you choose.”
EtienneP517, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms are probably best”
BarryM117, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I think the standard is pretty shabby across the board. .nothing is close to reception .”
Patz02, 31 Mar 2016 | Read review
“I wouldn't choose a corner room - two wings with two floors are very similar.”
newawil, 25 Feb 2016 | Read review
“There were some rooms closer to the sea but not many”
DeanneS228, 22 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5