We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Pousada de Sagres, Infante

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Pousada de Sagres, Infante
Pousada de Sagres, Infante
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

631 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 308: English reviews
Stavanger Municipality, Norway
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel building is impressive, just like a Pousada should be. We had a room on 1.floor with a stunning view overlooking the point with the Fortaleza. The room was good and so were the beds. A little touch up here and there will make it even better. Bathroom Ok and clean. The lounges on ground floor are fantastic and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
Calgary
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed there for 4 nights and really appreciated the room and the included buffet breakfast. King sized comfortable bed on second floor with balcony with 2 chairs and a table looking east. Buffet at breakfast was about the best included breakfast we've had in Portugal this trip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BabyboomerCalgary
_FCoelho_Sagres, Gerente at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your valuable time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read your comments and I am happy that you had a nice experience with us and that the services of our staff met your expectations. I have personally conveyed your feedback to the teams and they are all very happy to...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I,ve been before in other pousadas and I was expecting more, it is an austere place. On the contrary the service is excellent, sea views are awesome, with sunset and sunrise in the background, and the food is veri good, especially breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emilio a
_FCoelho_Sagres, Gerente at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Emilio, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your compliments about the service provided by our staff! Looking forward to welcome you back. Best regards, Fernando Coelho | Unit Supervisor

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We loved this hotel but found they weren't quite prepared for having kids there. We wished we had chosen a more kid friendly hotel. But the location is gorgeous and this staff is for the most part very helpful (if possibly a bit understaffed). The restaurant was nice for dinner but quite expensive compared to most places in Portugal. For...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne U
_FCoelho_Sagres, Gerente at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review

Dear Ms Anne, Thank you for taking your valuable time to post a review in our page. I am delighted to read your comments and I am happy that you had a nice experience with us and that the services of our staff met your expectations. We are glad to tell you that recently we've started a renovation and modernization...

Carvoeiro, Portugal
Reviewed 30 October 2016

We stayed here for one night. The location is fantastic with sea views all round. The room was comfortable, though I suggest asking for a west facing one with the best views and sunsets. They offer discounted prices to over-55's. Reception staff and the ones in the breakfast room were very helpful, but at other times like in the bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HCB911
_FCoelho_Sagres, Gerente at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your valuable time to post a review in our page. I am delighted to read your comments and I am happy that you had a nice experience with us and that the services of our staff met your expectations. Once again we would like to thank you for supporting us and we are looking...

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

We really enjoyed our one night here, the hotel was very relaxing and food and service was impeccable. We had a room facing the seaside and the Sagres fort, the views really are spectacular to wake up to, looking forward to retuning next year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hellsbells87
_FCoelho_Sagres, Gerente at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor and for your kind comments about the staff. We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your compliments about the service provided by our staff! Looking forward to welcome you back. Best regards, Fernando Coelho | Manager

Reviewed 29 October 2016

The linens and mattress need updating. We stayed in three Pousada in two weeks and this is the only one we were disappointed in. The location is quite nice but not as convenient to eating as others. Nice cliff walk and views from this location

 Report
Helpful?
Thank juliebM4920VW
_FCoelho_Sagres, Gerente at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Julie, On behalf of the whole team at Pousada de Sagres | Charming Hotel let me thank you for your interest and preference. We've taken notes about your experience. We are fully committed on have a service of excellence to our guests and therefore it was with great pleasure that we read your positive comments on your experience...

Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016

The location of this hotel should give it a head start, unfortunately it doesn't take advantage of that fact. We had a room with a magnificent sea view that said it was very tired, grubby paint and an unhinged toilet seat. Dinner was awful, a monkfish and prawn curry made with curry powder that overwhelmed the dish completely, a duck...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tom p
_FCoelho_Sagres, Gerente at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review

Dear Mr Tom, Thank you for writing to us and letting us know your concerns. We really sorry to see of the inconvenience you have experienced and to read about your disappointments and observations. These situations should not have happened because we have high standards services and we are a Pousada recognized for serving our Guests very well. We regret...

Jordan, Canada
Reviewed 23 October 2016

The view was beautiful! The location was windy but it was on the edge of the ocean. Our room was dated and the bathroom smelled of urine and septic. The breakfast was very good, the staff, very helpful. We loved the Portuguese restaurant in town called Gigi's. If you like Portuguese food, it's a must!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline H
_FCoelho_Sagres, Gerente at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review

Dear Ms Caroline, Thank you for taking the time to comment your stay at the Pousada de Sagres. All your comments benefited my best attention and I apologize for all the inconveniences. I'm glad to tell you that recently we've started a renovation and modernization project to Pousada de Sagres. Soon we will offer to all our guest a renovated...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

This was by far our favorite accommodations during our 6 night trip to the Algarve. The building sits atop an incredible cliff overlooking a spectacular beach. The common areas are beautifully decorated in a Portuguese theme. The pool area is second to none, although the pool was very cold. We were there for a slow time (late October) so no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chimomstyle
_FCoelho_Sagres, Gerente at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to comment your stay at the Pousada de Sagres. Best regards, Fernando Coelho | Manager

631 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (390)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (85)
Viewed
View from Room (63)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (49)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (129)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (178)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Pool (16)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
Superior Room with Sea View (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sagres hotels
0.5 km away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
0.8 km away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
2.0 km away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast
1.0 km away
Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos
0.2 km away
Aparthotel Navigator
Aparthotel Navigator
#7 of 9 in Sagres
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In a Fortress with a breath-taking view The Pousada de Sagres is part of a scenario with flavours of the sea and with great historical importance. Designed by architect Jose Segurado and opened in 1960, in the commemorations of the fifth centenary of the death of Prince D. Henrique. From here, one can see the Fortress of Sagres, from where the Portuguese caravels departed for the Discoveries. Cape St. Vicente, named Sacrum Promontorium, is one of the most south-western parts of Europe, and fishing port. Overall, Algarve signifies soft sandy beaches with turquoise blue sea, green pine forests, flowers amongst the dunes, heat and a climate for passion, whether it is in the intense summer or the tranquil winter. But Algarve is more than just that. It's in this different Algarve where you can find the small fishing town known as the Vila do Bispo (Bishop's Town) and were lies Sagres in the south of Algarve. In entering the Sagres region you absorb a mystic atmosphere surrounded by an unspoilt landscape where the sea and the mountains meet to form an unusual natural heritage. The Pousada has 51 rooms that are ideal for an invigorating rest which include air conditioning, a desk and a safe. Outside there is a magnificent pool with sun loungers around it offering a stunning view of the coast. The more active guests can go fishing, Walking or do some surfing. After a relaxing day the guests of the Pousada de Sagres, Infante, can enjoy the Pousada's restaurant, which offers its guests the best cuisine of Algarve based on the sea and the freshness of its ingredients. The Fortress of Sagres is located 5 minutes by car from the hotel and the city of Lagos can be reached within 30 minutes. Experiencing the Pousada de Sagres is a starting point to go and discover the cultural authenticity of this region. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pousada de Sagres, Infante

Address: Ponta da Atalaia, Sagres 8650-385, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Price Range: $91 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada de Sagres, Infante 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Cancelon, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pousada de Sagres, Infante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Infante Sagres
Pousada Do Infante Hotel Sagres
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
#4 Family Hotel in Sagres
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pousada de Sagres, Infante staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
3 months ago
London, United Kingdom
Denver, Colorado

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Pousada de Sagres, Infante staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Superior rooms face the sea go for them”
 of 5 bubbles jonb749, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get a second floor room for views.”
 of 5 bubbles BabyboomerCalgary, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get the sea view”
 of 5 bubbles juliebM4920VW, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the back side of the Hotel which overlooks the ocean.”
 of 5 bubbles U3658QEcarolineh, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“the room is silent and comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles Filipe_Rd, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay