We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Rua Frei Nicolau de Oliveira 80 Parque da Gandarinha, Cascais 2750-641 Portugal
7 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$107
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/02/23
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$108
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/02/23
Agoda.com
US$87
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/02/23
Hotels.comUS$107
TravelocityUS$107
PricelineUS$108
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (748)
Room & Suite (424)
Pool & Beach (72)

About

#23 of 45 hotels in Cascais
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
This hotel is located in Cascais over the sea and close to the Marina. The centre of Cascais is approximately 800 m away and offers several shops and entertainment venues. A link to the public transport network is only 100 m from the hotel and the nearest airport is 30 km away in Lisbon. Completely renovated in 2004, this hotel offers 7 floors with 233 rooms of which 75 standard rooms and 29 junior suites with ocean view. The Hotel offers a 24 hour reception desk, free Wi-Fi in public areas, currency exchange desk, wheelchair access, lifts and parking. In the public areas guests will find one restaurant with buffet or a la carte menu, two bars, a Health Club with Spa, outdoor pool for adults and children, gardens and a playground. Business guests can take advantage of 3 meeting rooms with Wi-Fi Internet connection and multimedia devices. 24 hour room service and laundry service are also available. The tastefully re-decorated rooms come equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel's Health Club has free access for guests is equipped with sauna and a Spa where you can enjoy massages and beauty treatments for an additional fee. In the exterior will find a swimming pool with a children's paddling area, a pool bar as well as a sun terrace with sun loungers and parasols laid out ready for use in the hotel grounds. A game room with billiard/snooker table among the hotel leisure options and the nearest golf course can be found approximately 2 km away. Guests may select their breakfast and lunch from a wide buffet. Lunch and dinner may also be taken a la carte and lunch can alternatively be chosen from a set menu. Special diet requirements are also catered and special requested dishes can be prepared. Furthermore, it is possible to book a half-board stay.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Evening entertainment
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Spa
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Italian
1439Reviews53Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 339
  • 691
  • 270
  • 99
  • 40
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Peter a wrote a review Jan 2023
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom21 contributions1 helpful vote
I was with a group from "Just you",UK. As a transplant recipient there are special requirements to assist me. My travel group sent the request. There was a seperate email sent by me to the hotel prior to the visit. The hotel, provided me with what was requested. A room with a walk in shower, and room on ground or first floor. These are important as I cannot use a bath shower and in an hotel evacuation emergency with lifts stopped walking down just one flight would be important. Also as I take daily medical observations there was plenty of space on the desk top to carry out those requirements. I should also say that the room and bathroom were of a high standard and the housekeeping staff maintained the room in an exceptionally clean state. I found the hotel personnel extremely friendly, usually with a great sense of humour. The one negative, was due to the group arriving late, we had to queue with our passports to obtain our keys. I do not queue. So there was 45 minutes of waiting to time until I obtained my electronic room key. I do have to maintain a low carbohydrate, no sea food or no cooked meats diet as per medical advice. Therefore my diet chose was limited in this respect. As I do due diligence before hand I was aware of this issue. Other than these minor issues the stay was excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Vila Galé, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear peter, First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Vila Galé Cascais for your stay and take the time to give us your feedback. It is a pleasure to read such an amazing feedback from our hotel and team. We always do our best so our guests feel good and at home and it's wonderful when we can live up to expectations. Hope to welcome you again soon. Best regards, Inês Cortes Rosa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CG Ire wrote a review Nov 2022
Drogheda, Ireland11 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed in August 2022, my adult daughter and I. The hotel was picked for its location, which was perfect and the hotel's best attribute. The rooms were large and to a high enough standard and beds were comfortable. The pool was very nice but breathtakingly cold, even at that time of year. It didn't stop the kids getting in but I really had to steal myself. There are lots of sun beds but a lot of them get 'booked' from early in the morning with people then not showing up for hours, the hotel doesn't discourage or address this behaviour which is frustrating. The breakfast was again just ok. We ate at the poolside bar on a few occasions because it was handy but the food was truly terrible and service slow. It astounds me how a hotel could produce such awful meals. I could not recommend the food at all. Staff were polite but not particularly warm or friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Vila Galé, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais
Responded 27 Nov 2022
Dear Guest, First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Vila Galé Cascais for your stay and take the time to give us your feedback. I am glad that you have enjoyed our hotel despite some less positive details that you mention. Feedback from our guests is always very important and makes us improve day by day, so thank you for helping us to improve. We will take into account the mentioned points. Hope to welcome you again soon. Best regards, Inês Cortes Rosa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PaulandGail wrote a review Oct 2022
Coventry, United Kingdom15 contributions7 helpful votes
We'd stay again. The location is amazing, nestled in the museum quarter, next to a wonderful park with chickens and turtles and a lovely walk into the centre. Cascais is relaxed and pretty and makes a nice change of pace to Lisbon which is easily accessible by train or taxi. Our park view room was really big and great for a family of four staying four nights. It was relaxing. Would be fine for a week. The pool area is nice with peacocks mingling around. Watch out - the pool isn't heated though! Lovely views all around. Negatives, the kitchenette cupboards need replacing and the shower ceiling is too low. I'd recommend the half board option if staying with kids as it saved walking into the centre at night and the food options were good. Drinks aren't included with the evening meal but providing table water would've been a nice touch. Loved the wine and beer but upon ordering you're not told the price. Found the reception staff helpful too!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Half board but prepare to pay for drinks Use Bolt and taxis to get to the station if you don't...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Vila Galé, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais
Responded 6 Nov 2022
Dear Paul and Gail, First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Vila Galé Cascais for your stay and take the time to give us your feedback. It is a pleasure to read such an amazing feedback from our hotel and team. We always do our best so our guests feel good and at home and it's wonderful when we can live up to expectations. Hope to welcome you again soon. Best regards, Inês Cortes Rosa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jon C wrote a review Oct 2022
London, United Kingdom27 contributions23 helpful votes
Cannot fault the service or the staff here but the hotel is living off its past glories if it thinks it’s anywhere near a 4 Star hotel. All rooms and the main hotel areas are crying out for modernisation, dark brown wood from the 70s just doesn’t do it anymore. Have stayed here 4 times now, each time for the Ironman Portugal weekend, won’t stay here again until it’s refurbished and modernised, there’s plenty of better hotels in town than this one.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Vila Galé, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais
Responded 30 Oct 2022
Dear Jon, First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Vila Galé Cascais for your stay and take the time to give us your feedback. Our goal is always to please our guests so that they feel comfortable in our hotel. I apologize if we were unable to meet your expectations regarding the rooms. Feedback from our guests is always very important and makes us improve day by day, so thank you for helping us to improve. We will take into account the mentioned points. Hope to welcome you again soon. Best regards, Inês Cortes Rosa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ash P wrote a review Oct 2022
12 contributions15 helpful votes
Really nice hotel and staff are great, Kasem stock out of the crowd in customer service at breakfast. He prepared the eggs after cleaning the hot plate so no contamination issue was raised for our dietary needs. Room was cleaned to a good standard. Sea view is great
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: For halal, to avoid non contamination issues request hot plates be cleaned
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Vila Galé, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais
Responded 22 Oct 2022
Dear Ash, First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Vila Galé Cascais for your stay and take the time to give us your feedback. It is a pleasure to read such an amazing feedback from our hotel and team. We always do our best so our guests feel good and at home and it's wonderful when we can live up to expectations. Im glad to know that Kasen was a good reference to you. I'll pass the information and feedback. Hope to welcome you again soon. Best regards, Inês Cortes Rosa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nobby wrote a review Sep 2022
England, United Kingdom6 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Avoid as our experience was negative and similar to other negative reviews. At check-in we weren't allocated the sea view junior suite we'd booked & paid for. When we asked for this to be rectified, we were pleased to be re-allocated a ground floor suite with garden view. The pool was nice and there we're plenty of free sun loungers - but these are the only two positives as the rest of our stay was awful. Ground floor junior suite terrible value for money - it was unclean (dust on all the shelves and floor and poop on outside of toilet), bath panel not attached to bath, dirty bath, holes in towels. Rising damp on the walls on lounge area with paint bubbling. Ants all over the balcony, so we couldn't open the patio doors. When I fed this back to the receptionist, he was silent, when I asked what he intended to do, he shrugged and said he was sorry and would pass on my feedback - but no offer to resolve any of the issues. Found out by reading other reviews that pool towels were available, and you can ask for a kettle to be sent to your room (we got one eventually after two requests). Poor quality breakfast, pounced on by staff to prove your room number and eat it quickly as they take your plate away! Overall, a very unpleasant experience, poor value for money and no commitment to customer service. Stay elsewhere in this lovely town.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Vila Galé, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais
Responded 30 Oct 2022
Dear Nobby, First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Vila Galé Cascais for your stay and take the time to give us your feedback. As we have been talking by email, the situation was verified and resolved directly with you. Once again I apologize for the situation and for not being able to meet your expectations during your stay. Best regards, Inês Cortes Rosa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
FG wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We had booked a junior suite with sea view and balcony for 14 nights early August for 2 adults and 1 child. We had chosen this hotel for the location and also for the suite, which was looking like an appartment. However we were given a room, which was absolutely not the one we had ordered and not matching at all the pictures. We complained five times at the reception desk and the response was that the hotel was booked and we could not change the room. Unfortunately we had paid in advance and they did not care at all about our complaint. We had the room 640, which was kind of a suite, however pretty small with no separate door and a very tiny double bed and so unconfortable, and a very little balcony. We slept so badly during 2 weeks. We could see that the standard room was actually bigger and with a nice bed. So the recommencation is not to order a suite as not worth it. We paid 80EUr more per night for a room which was so unconfortable compared to the standard room. Honestly so disappointed with room 640. Now the hotel has a great location and the breakfast was nice with fresh fruits and eggs, However no feedback from the hotel after complaining 5 times at the reception, I also sent an email while we were still there and provided a low satisfaction rate, but absolutely no response from the hotel. Again disappointed as we could have had a standard room in the luxus hotel nearby for the price we have paid in this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Vila Galé, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais
Responded 9 Oct 2022
Dear Guest, First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Vila Galé Cascais for your stay and take the time to give us your feedback. I am sorry to know that your stay with us wasn't the best one possible. Our goal is always to please our guests so that they feel comfortable in our hotel. I apologize if we were unable to meet your expectations regarding the rooms and the service provided by our reception. Our suites do not always have a balcony, which is why we do not mention this point on any of our booking platforms. When we have the availability to change rooms when the client is not satisfied, we always do that. I apologize if we were unable to do so at that time. For us it is very important that our guests feel good about us and that's why I'm pleased to know that you enjoyed our breakfast and location. Hope to welcome you again soon and I am sure that your experience will be different and pleasant. Best regards, Inês Cortes Rosa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lesley L wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
Excellent option for families. Really impressed with the hotel, location brilliant, very friendly and helpful staff, pools great for kids. We paid extra for a sea view which we were really pleased about in the evening when having a glass of wine. Very good choice and selection for breakfast. Would definitely recommend to others.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Breakfast very busy around 9-9:30, but staff very helpful and organised. Having breakfast around...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Vila Galé, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais
Responded 27 Aug 2022
Dear Lesley, First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Vila Galé Cascais for your stay and take the time to give us your feedback. It is a pleasure to read such an amazing feedback from our hotel and team. We always do our best so our guests feel good and at home and it's wonderful when we can live up to expectations. Hope to welcome you again soon. Best regards, Inês Cortes Rosa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tom_JackAttack wrote a review Aug 2022
Dublin, Ireland202 contributions90 helpful votes
Arrived by Uber and staff were helpful straight away, sorting our luggage. Too early for our room, but not a problem. We made use of the pool until 3pm. We were really pleasantly surprised with how big the suite was. We didn’t pay all the extra for a sea view etc as intended spending all our time outside. The suite was really large though. Two rooms with an add-on kitchenette. AirCon in both rooms. Nice and quiet which is great as lots of AC is noisy. A good pool. A deep section for proper swimming then more shallow ones for kids. Plenty of sun loungers but it did get busy at mid-afternoon onwards. Hotel amenities were good. The restaurant served good food although got a bit samey after a week. Breakfast was always pretty busy but the staff were very efficient and helpful. It’s in a good location. Very walkable to the marina and a bit further to the beaches. All in all we would recommend this, definitely for families.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: As others have said, probably worth paying extra for a sea-facing room, the higher the better.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Vila Galé, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais
Responded 14 Aug 2022
Dear Tom, First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Vila Galé Cascais for your stay and take the time to give us your feedback. It is a pleasure to read such an amazing feedback from our hotel and team. We always do our best so our guests feel good and at home and it's wonderful when we can live up to expectations. Hope to welcome you again soon. Best regards, Inês Cortes Rosa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Phil M wrote a review Aug 2022
St Helens, United Kingdom69 contributions54 helpful votes
16 of us stayed here last October for our annual golf trip. From the moment we arrived we knew we’d made the right choice. Staff are fantastic and will do everything to make your stay pleasant. Food is amazing and the service is second to none. Rooms are a great size and spotless. Main town is a 5 minute walk away. All in all it’s an amazing hotel and we can’t wait to return in October this year.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Vila Galé, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais
Responded 12 Aug 2022
Dear Phil, First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Vila Galé Cascais for your stay and take the time to give us your feedback. It is a pleasure to read such an amazing feedback from our hotel and team. We always do our best so our guests feel good and at home and it's wonderful when we can live up to expectations. Hope to welcome you again soon. Best regards, Inês Cortes Rosa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$93 - US$150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
vila gale cascais hotel cascais, vila gale village hotel cascais, vila gale village cascais, cascais vila gale village
LOCATION
PortugalCentral PortugalLisbon DistrictCascais
NUMBER OF ROOMS
233
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

VILA GALE CASCAIS: UPDATED 2023 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 1,013 Photos (Portugal) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Vila Gale Cascais
Which popular attractions are close to Vila Gale Cascais?
Nearby attractions include Marechal Carmona Park (0.2 km), Museu Condes de Castro (0.2 km), and Museo do Mar (Museum of the Sea) (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Vila Gale Cascais?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Vila Gale Cascais?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Vila Gale Cascais?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Vila Gale Cascais?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Vila Gale Cascais?
Conveniently located restaurants include Valerio, Tasca Da Linha, and Espaço Trium.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Vila Gale Cascais?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Vila Gale Cascais located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Cascais.
Are any cleaning services offered at Vila Gale Cascais?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Vila Gale Cascais offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Vila Gale Cascais?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Italian.