We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Passeio D Luis I, Cascais 2754-509 Portugal
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$103
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/02/23
Expedia.com
US$97
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/02/23
Trip.com
US$82
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/02/23
Hotels.comUS$97
TravelocityUS$97
travelup.comUS$113
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (742)
Room & Suite (221)
Videos (1)

About

#12 of 45 hotels in Cascais
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Gold level
Less than 30 km from Lisbon on the Estoril Coast, Hotel Baia has a privileged sea-front location, facing the Cascais Bay and offering a fabulous view of the ocean. The recently renovated Hotel Baia has 113 fully equipped rooms. Most of the rooms have a private balcony overlooking the sea. The Hotel Baia also has Conference Rooms with wireless Internet access, Banquet rooms for up to 150 people, private underground car park and our reputed Baia Restaurant.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Car park
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Private bathrooms
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Portuguese
1190Reviews53Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 407
  • 490
  • 196
  • 43
  • 54
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
mjs412013 wrote a review 1 Feb
Troon18 contributions17 helpful votes
This was our 7th visit to this hotel and we’re never disappointed. It’s a 3 star hotel but, if you pay the extra for the sea view rooms - the view is 5 star and for us, it’s what makes our holiday. At the moment they are refurbishing some of the rooms with a view to having done all by 2024. The staff are lovely and very helpful. The reception area and the restaurant are very smart. The choice for breakfast is very good although we do find the cooked breakfast to be cold even although there is steam coming from the Bain Marie. There are enough options on the cold selection to not go hungry! If you’re planning to stay in Cascais we highly recommend you stay here in a sea view room. Just wait till you open the curtains each morning. Heaven! Then step onto the balcony and watch the world go by.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view room. The rooms are nicer and the view is wonderful
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Fabio Alves, Diretor-Geral at Hotel Baia
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you so much for staying with us once again. It is always a pleasure. Come back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MarkJoyno wrote a review Feb 2022
Heswall, United Kingdom19 contributions6 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We stayed at The Baia Hotel as the location was perfect for our needs. Throughout our stay,we found every member of staff to be helpful and took time to chat to us. The reception staff, waiters waitresses, cleaning staff were all fabulous and a credit to this hotel. Our room overlooked the town, was spacious, well equipped and scrupulously clean both on arrival and during our stay. Our stay included breakfast, which was plentiful, varied and well presented. Our stay even included parking, which is at a premium in Cascais. The test of any holiday for us is, 'Would you go back' and without doubt we would stay there again, in fact, as we were visiting friends nearby we wouldn't stay anywhere else, now.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Worminger W wrote a review Dec 2022
19 contributions21 helpful votes
I had seen this hotel many years previously when in a day trip to Cascais and so when stopping over in Portugal recently on a longer trip I decided to stay for a couple of nights in each direction. I took rooms facing the beach both times. Cost was very reasonable (around 100 Euros per night) and location unbeatable. Of course I was very much in off season, so I don’t know how much this is during more popular periods. The breakfast was included and was basic, but perfectly good. Rooms clean, staff polite and helpful. Balconies of a good size. Location perfect. Overall the hotel has a nice 60s retro feel. I would not hesitate to stay again (at 100 Euros it’s a bargain, would need to see peak season rates though) - great memories of this place now.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Fabio Alves, Diretor-Geral at Hotel Baia
Responded 1 week ago
Glad you enjoyed your stay, hope to have you back again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Londinium wrote a review Dec 2022
Brussels, Belgium895 contributions215 helpful votes
+1
We had a very good deal with 1 free night, parking included, free water every day and free welcome drink because we had booked directly through the hotel website. The hotel is clearly under rated as it deserves 4 stars. All common areas are clean, check-in smooth and quick, very nice staff and our rooms were cleaned super quickly in the morning which was great. We were on the last floor and enjoyed the view on the ocean. The room itself was quite large, very good beds, small fridge to put our drinks and well-equipped bathroom (despite the walk-in shower means that water goes also on the floor in front of the sink). We tested the restaurant and it was very tasty, again with nice attentive staff. Same for the breakfast (lots of options) and the bar is a cosy place to sit. I am not sure it is so quiet in Summer but we did not have any noise and slept well. The hotel is less than 10 minutes away from the station, about 40-45 minutes away from Lisbon (by car from the airport it's 45 minutes) and there are many restaurants around the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Pay the extra to face the ocean and enjoy a balcony
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Fabio Alves, Diretor-Geral at Hotel Baia
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for reviewing and staying with us, our webstite is indeed the best place to book as we always have the best prices and special amenities including the mentioned free parking. It is great to read and share with the team such a nice review. Hope to see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John T wrote a review Dec 2022
South Saint Paul, Minnesota117 contributions38 helpful votes
This hotel should be a 5. Its location is great and the common areas are well appointed. This is vey attractive hotel. However, there are a couple things this hotel could improve on. First of all, the hotel WIFI did not operate in our room. I don't know but I suspect it is a coverage problem for the WIFI. We reported thee WIFI issues to the front desk and was told they would look into it and we never heard back. Secondly, we rented a suite. The sitting chairs in our room can best be described as uncomfortable office chairs. Like I suspect most people, we rent this type of room because we wanted to enjoy the room and view. No one would be comfortable sitting for any length of time In the chairs provided. The crazy part is there is enough space, they just need to upgrade their furniture.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Fabio Alves, Diretor-Geral at Hotel Baia
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your thorough review. We are currently refurbishing most of our rooms and reviewing our wifi coverage with a site survey to make sure our guests internet connections will always be flawless. Hope to see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Denilson B wrote a review Nov 2022
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom3 contributions3 helpful votes
Had an amazing stay here to celebrate my Wife Birthday perfect location in hart of Caicais friendly staff food was really good to & service at dinner & breakfast the room were fabulous great bed & bed sheet.You don’t have to worry about parking, Thank you for the lovely and romantic decorations
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
RWS wrote a review Nov 2022
Waterford, Ireland6 contributions1 helpful vote
Our room was clean and dry with what we had paid for a city view, When we went down the next morning, we said to the Manager that the music and noise from outside went on till all hours. We were moved to a sea-view room which was much quieter. Breakfast was great, all you might want. Overall, a very pleasant stay, and I would stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Sea-View Rooms may be quieter
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
islam s wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
Booked the hotel for Ironman race Location is great but .. Too expensive for the service and the quality (paid 200 euros per night) Breakfast was very limited Race day morning: Hotel manager (as he claimed to be) was very rude to us, didn’t let my friend use my bathroom in the morning of the race claiming that non hotel residents aren’t allowed while he had been allowing everyone into the hotel for the previous 3 days without any control whatsoever
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Fabio Alves, Diretor-Geral at Hotel Baia
Responded 11 Nov 2022
Dear Islam, as you know we had thousands of athletes gathering in front of the hotel that day. For your own safety and that of your racing/biking equipment, during the Ironman main event day we reserve access to our property for guests only. Being located at the start / finish line, I´m sure you appreciate the number of similar requests we received. Sorry if you did not enjoy our breakfast, for Ironman we open our restaurant as 05 am with an extensive offer, catering to our athletes needs. If you found any specific item missing, please inform us as we always strive to improve. Hope to see you next year!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
F.L wrote a review Nov 2022
Kildare, Ireland10 contributions3 helpful votes
My husband & I have just returned from another stay at Hotel Baia Cascais. We spent 4 nights here on this occasion ,in a sea view room .Despite the upheaval of the last 2 years it is great to see business continuing as normal here .I do feel however standards have slipped slightly ,while breakfast is adequate the produce could be of superior quality and replenished more frequently each morning .More deep cleaning I feel is needed in general in the hotel and the cleaning of bedrooms should be completed earlier in the day.Maintenance /upkeep needs attention in places also.There appears to be a large number of staff in general who for the most part are friendly & helpful but some need to work on their customer service skills particularly at reception as this is where first impressions are created ,most are very welcoming & aim to please the customer just not all !! The staff on duty at breakfast could also improve their people skills and appear to be ready to help where needed ! Overall a very nice stay ,sea view rooms while really nice can lead to sleep deprivation due to a lot of noise ,more so in the summer period so would recommend a city view room during peak times .We have opted for this in the past .We enjoyed our stay at the hotel ,location is fantastic and we look forward to a return visit in 2023 . Any criticism is very minor & easily rectified and only mentioned to aid in improving the running standards of the hotel not with the intention of being negative .
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Fabio Alves, Diretor-Geral at Hotel Baia
Responded 7 Nov 2022
Hello again, thank you for all the info. We are always striving to be better. We have great plans for improvements this winter so I'm sure you'll be pleasantly surprised on your next stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BL195003 wrote a review Nov 2022
St. Catharines, Canada42 contributions23 helpful votes
Hotel Baia offers a full vacation hotel. It is located in the middle of old town Cascais. It offers waterfront views. A great, helpful staff. A special shout out to Goncarlo on the front desk. He provided amazing assistance throughout our three day stay. You can enjoy a full breakfast each morning. Then you can have a drink and snack on the patio or head up to the fifth floor for a swim and lounge area.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Choose a water front room for sure
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Fabio Alves, Diretor-Geral at Hotel Baia
Responded 7 Nov 2022
Thank you for such a nice review. Glad that you enjoyed your stay, will we see you again soon?
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$90 - US$169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
baia hotel cascais, hotel baia cascais
LOCATION
PortugalCentral PortugalLisbon DistrictCascais
NUMBER OF ROOMS
113
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL BAIA: UPDATED 2023 Reviews, Price Comparison and 773 Photos (Cascais, Portugal) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Baia
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Baia?
Nearby attractions include Zazulê (0.3 km), Centro Historico de Cascais (0.05 km), and Praia da Rainha (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Baia?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, a rooftop bar, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Baia?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Baia?
Yes, a parking garage and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Baia?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sr. Manuel Seafood Bar, Gastronomia Italiana, and A Nova Estrela.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Baia?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Is Hotel Baia located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Cascais.
Does Hotel Baia offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Baia?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Baia?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fortaleza de Nossa Senhora da Luz (4.5 km), Citadel Of Cascais (0.3 km), and Quinto Patino (3.1 km).
Does Hotel Baia have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.