We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pensao Residencial Norte

Orbitz.comUS$55*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$71*
US$55*
Great Deal
US$57*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Pensao Residencial Norte
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Pensao Residencial Norte
See the most recent reviews
Showing 50: English reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2015 via mobile

Just 2 mins walk to metro and tram station. It is located in the middle of city centre. The famous rossio square just 20 metres from Pensao Residencial Norte. Well, the tram can bring you to the Castelo S. Jorge. The room is clean and nice. Very cheap... It is well recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Febri D
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
Reviewed 7 August 2015 via mobile

It's a nice guesthouse, don't confuse this with a hotel. Bathrooms are shared publicly, rooms are small and the luxury varies per room, not to mention the loud noises throughout the night. But! Perfect location and price when compared to hotels and guesthouses in the vicinity. Metro, trams, restaurants and loads of sightseeing locations within walking distance. Just ignore the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dylan d
Celbridge, Ireland
Reviewed 4 August 2015

Plus Side Good location, Helpful staff, Good price for location, Metro within 5 mins walk. Negative Side Hotel needs refurbishment, Shower tray blocked, Noisy air conditioning at night, Room had little space to store items.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MikBrad-22
Rui M, Manager at Pensao Residencial Norte, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your time to review our unit. Please note we are not a hotel, we are a Guesthouse, which is a sub standard below hotel category. The building has been open for more than 70 years and has been refurshibed many times. In fact, it is being extremely renovated since last November. We are aware there...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 28 July 2015

I promised the reservation clerk that I'd write yet another negative review on Norte... Others complain about the restaurant smells, air con noise, dim light, tiny size of rooms, noise of rubbish collection in the middle of the night, lack of parking, decrepit condition of parts or all of the hotel, mildew, sewer smells... If that weren't enough, I'd like...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fatoldlady
Notts UK
Reviewed 10 July 2015

We chose this guest house based on its location from a short list of three at relatively late notice so I did not expect that much. The other reviews highlight the impracticality of the wardrobe and I would agree there is an argument for taking it out and replacing it with coat hooks. we were there for two days so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Titusfuc
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewed 27 May 2015

Location is excellent. Very basic hotel and small rooms. No place to keep luggages in the room. There was some bad smell in the whole floor and in the room, probabaly coming from the toilets. The room was cleaned everyday. Staffs are helpful. It could have been far better at this price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jajabor_14
Reviewed 21 May 2015 via mobile

Not a great hotel if your travelling alone as a woman. No one at reception, the doors bearly lock and it feels unwelcoming. The management were rude and unfriendly and there is a long list of extra payments that aren't included in the original booking fee. There are better hostels and other budget hotels out there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flynnie77
Rui M, Gerente at Pensao Residencial Norte, responded to this review

Dear Flynnie77, I regret you had to go through the experience you describe, but unfortunately you seem to have made a mistake applying your review to our hotel. Please check. Maybe you stayed at our property and at other properties and you mixed up the the reviews, because: - Our reception has staff working 24h; there is always somebody trustworthy...

Zagreb, Croatia
Reviewed 21 February 2015

The location is great, but the room is very basic and the bathroom was small. It could definitely use renovation, but for the price, it is decent. It is worth it to pay for the private bathroom. The street was noisy.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kate C
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 November 2014

The hotel is in the very centre so everything can be reached on foot. Good price for such location but you get what you pay for. Room was on the second floor with an en-suite. No heating which thankfully was not needed early in November. Cannot open windows for fresh air or light as the room was overlooking the back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kpopova
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 23 November 2014

I actually stayed here in Feb 2013. No heating in winter!! I was expected to use blankets only! Foul smell in room as though bed cover was not washed properly. Tiny tiny bathroom. TV had no remote. Halfway channels disappeared. Wifi disappeared from 2am to 9am! Unsympathetic staff at reception when i sought help About the freezing cold conditions (but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hani H

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Vistas de Lisboa Hostel
Vistas de Lisboa Hostel
#244 of 420 in Lisbon
92 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Flor dos Cavaleiros
Flor dos Cavaleiros
#156 of 231 in Lisbon
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pouso Dos Anjos
#160 of 231 in Lisbon
102 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pensao Aljubarrota
Pensao Aljubarrota
#173 of 231 in Lisbon
53 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
DownTown Guest House
DownTown Guest House
#133 of 231 in Lisbon
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores

Neighbourhood Profile
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
A pending candidate to become a World Heritage Site, Lisbon's downtown (the "Baixa Pombalina", or simply "Baixa") is a perfect example of anti-earthquake construction, having been rebuilt following the 1755 earthquake by the famous Marquês de Pombal (hence its name). Its offer is vast: restaurants and cafes in Rossio and Restauradores, outlets and shops in the Áurea, Augusta, Prata and other famous streets, the imponent Praça do Comércio and its Arch, the luxury shops along the Avenida da Liberdade, this is the beating heart of the city center. The Baixa also grants easy access to trains leading to Sintra, the trams that go around the Castle hill, old neighborhoods or even take you to Belém, and Lisbon's traditional restaurants and cafes. Considering a visit to the Fashion and Design Museum (free entrance) and don't forget to try the famous liquor, "ginjinha"!
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Pensao Residencial Norte

Address: Rua dos Douradores 159-161 | Santa Maria Maior, Lisbon 1100-205, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Price Range: $56 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pensao Residencial Norte 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pensao Residencial Norte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pensao Residencial Norte staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Pensao Residencial Norte staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We got the cheapest and it was fine, clean and comfy.”
M1808LWab, 14 Jan 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in a double room, with a private bathroom”
Roy_t666, 29 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Pay for the private bathroom, worth it!”
973KateC973, 20 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Avoid rooms to the back above the restaurant”
kpopova, 23 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Avoid room 207!”
927magdas, 24 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$55* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Booking.comUS$57
TripAdvisorUS$55
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates