We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Editory Riverside Santa Apolonia Hotel

Save
Share
Avenida Infante Dom Henrique 1, Lisbon 1100-105 Portugal
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
TripadvisorUS$105
Hotels.com
Booking.comUS$124
TravelocityUS$105
StayForLong
Agoda.comUS$130
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (63)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (8)

About

#184 of 327 hotels in Lisbon
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Editory Riverside Hotel is housed in Santa Apolónia railway station, one of the country’s oldest train stations and a busy junction for millions of people every year. In a prime location, from where you can catch a train, metro, bus, taxi or even boat to any destination. A refined and sober (never austere) atmosphere, elegant host to travellers, designed for citizens of the World.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Room features
Safe
Room types
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Charming
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
141Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
30Attractionswithin 0.5 km
57Reviews1Q+A9Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 46
  • 4
  • 2
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ashley wrote a review 6 Dec
Dublin, Ireland5 contributions1 helpful vote
Interesting hotel with a unique concept. The hotel is located right above the Santa Apolonia Train Station for easy access to anywhere you need to go and is safe. The hotel has a steampunk vibe and was memorable. I heard the train a few times but it didn't interfere with my slumber and added to the steampunk vibes. At first I was a little spooked out entering the hotel, the long hallways and the entrance to the room was kind of creepy. But the interior of the room was great and comfortable and it was nice they had English television stations. The soaps smelled lovely but the water could have been warmer. The bed was really comfy and there was robes to wear. I left my luggage and it was safe and the hotel was quiet with few guests.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
walkercv37 wrote a review Nov 2022
London, United Kingdom27 contributions59 helpful votes
Disappointed in this hotel. For a new hotel, the rooms are already not in a great condition and it wasn’t very clean either. Also - you can every noise coming from the corridor, as well as a bit from the station. No bin in bedroom, just a tiny one in the bathroom. Amenities weren’t great.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Editory Riverside, Guest Services / Front Office at The Editory Riverside Santa Apolónia Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear walkercv37, Thank you very much for sharing with us your experience. It was a pleasure to welcome you! We regret that the service provided has not met your expectations, so we take note of your comments and genuinely appreciate the opinion you shared with us, only then we can improve our quality of service, facilities and continue to succeed in the passage of our four pillars, "Hospitality, Place, Art, Sustainability". Your notes have our best reception with the aim of improving our performance, thank you. We wish to be able to receive your trust again in the near future, so that we can improve the experience in your stay. Best regards, Pedro Vale Front Office Manager Assistant
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hussein R wrote a review Oct 2022
Greater Sydney, Australia5 contributions1 helpful vote
One of the most deceptive hotel advertisement. They claim on Hotels.com it 5 stars. In reality is 2 stars at best. The hotel is next to a train station where you have shading people around all the time, The enterance is behind a bus stop with NO (not small) lobby just a small front desk, You can only sit down for a quite conversation or call in a noisy resturant with old broken down furniture. the Hotel had only 1 elevator working. for the whole two week we were there they continued to only have one very slow elevator. We booked a "junior suite" with river view. What we got was less than average room, nothing like the website picture with a view of delapitated warehouses used for homeless people to sleep at night. The bathroom is dangerously slippery (plastic floors with no mates although we asked). The bathroom had no supplies (unlike every 5 star I've ever stayed in) with the exception of liquid soap and three types of shower caps. The front reception is trained to lie to defend against disappointed guests. I witnesses them say the same line against similar complaints with different guests at least three time. The aircondiioning at its highest could'nt cope with 30degree outside and the room was like an oven. In the "junior suit" the wardrobe literally barely enough for 5-6 hanging garments with no drawers. No safe to keep your valuables in the room when you leave. It is literally the worse hotel I've ever stayed in.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: do not stay in this hotel in any room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carolina Almeida, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at The Editory Riverside Santa Apolónia Hotel
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear Mr. Hussein, Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent experience. Our suites are open space as you can see in every picture available in the webpage, im sorry if you didn't verified this prior to reserve. Although we regret to ear that you did not appreciate our hotel, we cannot allow you to judge our staff as liars as they only explained you as clear as they could, the conditions of the room booked as well as the context of our hotel even when you were rude and insulting them at each interaction you've had at the Front Desk. We regret that you did not check the location and structure of the hotel before making your reservation (historic building located in a train station) and that the photos you publish focus on the ground level and not on the river view that your room actually has. Regarding the hotel entrance, thank you for your feedback, we would like to inform you that we are already developing some projects to improve that topic. Best Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eileen D wrote a review Sep 2022
Surrey, United Kingdom82 contributions18 helpful votes
My husband and I visited Lisbon over the four days in September that encompassed our wedding anniversary and my husband's 70th birthday. The trip was arranged for us by our (adult) children, so we had no idea what to expect at the hotel. Upon entry, we were greeted by the lovely Luis who accompanied us up to our room on the second floor. All the while, he regaled us with the interesting history of the building and its very close association with the adjacent railway station, which was an education in itself. The room was lovely and spacious and, although we overlooked the railway line as it entered the end of the station below, the noise was not as much as I had anticipated as the trains entered and left the station. Fortunately, the trains stopped running around the time we were getting back to the room after a day exploring the city and the early morning trains were not very intrusive at all. Hangers were provided for clothes (although there could have been a few more provided - I recall that there were about eight), along with fluffy towelling white dressing gowns and slippers. Adjacent to the wardrobe area was a tea / coffee making area with a coffee pod machine and a kettle. If you're expecting milk, you'll be disappointed, but the tea tastes great without it ... there were a few types of tea provided. Water was also provided with a fresh bottle each day. The bed was big and very comfortable, with two large bolster type pillows and two regular pillows. Bedside cabinets, with a drawer in each one, had raised edges to avoid anything being knocked off them - great when you reach out in the night to check your phone, or for that glass of water. There was one tall window in our room, which was sufficient and could be opened for ventilation (although there was temperature controlled air conditioning in the room). However, the dressing table area was at the far end of the wall in which the window was sited, so there was not enough natural light in that area when I was getting ready each morning. This was rectified by going into the bathroom, but it is something I thought worth drawing to your attention. The large screen TV was easy to use and provided a varied range of channels from BBC (which, curiously, did not seem to be broadcasting!) through to Sky News and various US channels, and everything in between, including children's channels. You could also use it to set a morning alarm. The bathroom was accessed through a full length mirrored door and the room contained two sinks with mirrors, as well as an extendable / adjustable magnifying mirror. The toilet cubicle was accessed via another glass door to one side of the sinks and the shower cubicle was located at the other side of the room by the window (which was openable). The glazing was not obscure, but the window had a weighted opaque curtain. Bath sheets and hand towels were provided, along with shower soap, shampoo, conditioner and body lotion. Shower caps and a sewing kit were also supplied. Most important of all was the hairdryer - a powerful beast that was as good as the one I use at home! The breakfasts were self-serve in a buffet format in the first floor dining room, with everything from boiled eggs, a full cooked breakfast, cold meats and cheeses, toast (three types of bread), cereals and yoghurts and fresh fruit - something for everyone!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Best rooms would be on the side away from the railway tracks, i.e., the ones facing the river.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carolina Almeida, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at The Editory Riverside Santa Apolónia Hotel
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear Mrs. Eileen, Thank you for sharing such in detail your recent stay experience at Hotel The Editory Riverside Santa Apolónia. We are happy to know that we've met your expectations. We are glad to know that you specially appreciated our kind staff and our priviliged location in the centre of Lisbon, our restaurant and room service. Please rest assured that your satisfaction and kind words will be shared with the entire team. Once again, we thank you (or your son, in this case) for choosing our Hotel for such an important celebration! It is always a pleasure to welcome you and your family at The Editory Riverside! My best regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mebaker17 wrote a review Sep 2022
Washington DC, District of Columbia7 contributions6 helpful votes
Room was bigger than we thought. We were worried about being on top of the train station, but the windows were sound proofed. Hotel was super helpful with recommendations and provided excellent service. Would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carolina Almeida, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at The Editory Riverside Santa Apolónia Hotel
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your opinion regarding your recent stay at The Editory Riverside! We are delighted to know that you've enjoyed the area and the insonorization of our rooms as well as our helpful team always available to inform our guests on what to visit in Lisbon! We look forward to welcome you back at Lisbon. Best regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DougQuil2 wrote a review Sep 2022
Houston, Texas5 contributions4 helpful votes
This. delightful small five star hotel is located across the street from the cruise terminal in the old train station. The english speaking, friendly hotel staff are very keen to ensure you have a very comfortable and pleasant stay. The hotel opened in February 2022 is not a typical European hotel. The rooms are very spacious and modern with a safe, refrigerator and coffee service in the room. The buffet breakfast can be tailored to order and the wait staff is very friendly and attentive. The location is great for exploring old town and is on the bus line and a taxie stand around the corner.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Room over looking the street and river was very quite when the window was clossed.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carolina Almeida, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at The Editory Riverside Santa Apolónia Hotel
Responded 30 Sep 2022
Dear Mr. Doug, Firstly, we would like to thank you in advance for your preference for The Editory Riverside. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay with us and our premium location in the heart of Lisbon. We are pleased to know that you specially appreciated our kind staff as well as our comfortable rooms. We are glad that we exceeded your expectations and we look forward to welcome you again at Lisbon. Best Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Niels_nport wrote a review Sep 2022
Estepona, Spain46 contributions12 helpful votes
+1
The hotel is located in the old train station - the rooms is really well designed and integrated into the "old style" feeling using modern and quality material. It is a long walk (180 steps) from the elevator to the furthest rooms but the look down the old office hall is simply amazing. The restaurant is brilliant with a wonderful breakfast buffet and we took advantage of their conference room with amazing ceiling and great vibes. Recommendable!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Interesting design - high quality for decent cost.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carolina Almeida, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at The Editory Riverside Santa Apolónia Hotel
Responded 10 Sep 2022
Dear Mr. Niels, Thank you for sharing your opinion regarding your recent stay at The Editory Riverside! We are thrilled that you enjoy staying with us when travelling to the charming city of Lisbon. We are glad to know that you specially appreciated our restaurant, breakfast buffet as well as our iconic conference room. We look forward to welcome you back at Lisbon. Best regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
antonioi325 wrote a review Aug 2022
San Diego, California6 contributions
We stayed one night in Lisbon before heading to our next destination. We had spent the day touring the area and this was a nice place to get some rest!! Has a boutique luxe feel to it. Wish we would have had some additional time to enjoy the amenities! Great staff and very accommodating.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carolina Almeida, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at The Editory Riverside Santa Apolónia Hotel
Responded 25 Aug 2022
Dear Mr. Antonio, Thank you for sharing your opinion regarding your recent stay at The Editory Riverside! We are pleased to know that you specially appreciated the confort and decoration of our hotel and specially our kind and attentive staff always available to help our guests! We look forward to welcome you back at Lisbon. Best regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chiara wrote a review Aug 2022
Ghent, Belgium12 contributions2 helpful votes
Me and my girlfriend absolutely loved our experience in the Editory Riverside. It feels very luxurious for an okay price. I’m giving 5 stars because all the most important things were true: the staff was very friendly, we slept amazingly and the hotel was super clean. We got an upgrade from station to riverside views. The room is nice, comfortable beds and a few free drinks in the minibar. Little sidenote though: when you are travelling with family or friends the see-through showerdoor might be a bit weird. Locationwise the hotel was a small walk from the central square and there is literally a bus stop, train station, uber bikes, subway right at the door so you can quickly get around the city. Some things are priced a bit weird like the expensive bikes in the hotel and a 7€ heineken in the bar. However, the professional service and lovely cocktails made up for it. The breakfast is very nice too, you have everything you need for 15€ a person everyday, or 20€ if you want it for only one day. There are all the breakfast staples but also nice extras like fresh raspberries. All in all: I recommend this hotel for the helpful staff (like bringing ice right away when I sprained my ankle and booking us a boat) and the nice clean and calm environnement.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carolina Almeida, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at The Editory Riverside Santa Apolónia Hotel
Responded 18 Aug 2022
Dear Mrs. Chiara, Thank you for sharing your opinion regarding your recent stay at The Editory Riverside! We would like to thank you for your satisfaction concerning our dedicated staff, our breakfast variety as well as the easy accesses our location offers; Please rest assured that your opinion has been shared with the entire team and management. We are aware of the inconvenience some guests may feel regarding some of our bathrooms layouts, we assure you that this situation deeply concern us, that is why we are already in this process of eliminating this technical aspect. We look forward to welcome you back at Lisbon. Best regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicole H wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
+1
Hotel Editory This hotel is all about the details. The hotel is set above a train station and is set to a 1950s theme. There is no detail left to the imagination. It is as if your on a movie set. I was a bit hesitant at first because I love modern decor, but this hotel is the perfect mix of old world charm and modern day amenities. The front desk staff is very welcoming and accommodating. There was no request that they were not able oblige. Upon arrival we were kindly greeted and offered water before the official check in process. The hotel is conveniently located above a regional and local train station. Several busses and trains meet at this point. This was especially helpful to us to take the fast train to Porto. It was literally 90 seconds from our lobby to the seat on our train. The restaurant was exceptionally. This was my first time staying in this caliber of hotel. The service was impeccable. I was not used to being waited on with such attention. Everyone was at out service hand over foot ever for our kids. By day 2 they knew what we had the day before and was ready to provide for us. They knew how we liked our eggs and who had the latte and who had the espresso. The breakfast was a cornucopia of food. I dear not call it a buffet. Fresh fruit, daily baked array of breads and pastries, assorted cold and hot cuts of meat, and variety of yogurt and toppings. Most notably was daily serving of fresh juices and my absolute favorite was the white Port and Sparkling wine. We had 2 rooms, a cozy queen room and a Superior double. The fifties decor continued into the room down to every detail. Even the phone was fashioned of the old style rotary phone. We had a massive widow that towered at least 12 feet with a view of the river. The black out shade were above perfect, not letting a single bit of light in. Ideal for sleeping in. The only drawback with the rooms is the transparent glass for the shower and water closet. Anyone going in or out of the room will have a clear of you. This would be an easy fix by making the glass opaque. Ultimately we had amazing stay at this hotel and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Lisbon.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Carolina Almeida, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at The Editory Riverside Santa Apolónia Hotel
Responded 13 Aug 2022
Dear Mrs. Nicole, Thank you for sharing such in detail your recent stay experience at Hotel The Editory Riverside. We are happy to know that we've met your expectations. We are glad to know that you specially appreciated our kind staff and our priviliged location in the centre of Lisbon, our restaurant and breakfast service. Please rest assured that your satisfaction and kind words will be shared with the entire team. It is always a pleasure to welcome you and your family at The Editory Riverside! My best regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$119 - US$170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
PortugalCentral PortugalLisbon DistrictLisbon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
126
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE EDITORY RIVERSIDE SANTA APOLONIA HOTEL: UPDATED 2022 Reviews, Price Comparison and 131 Photos (Lisbon, Portugal) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Editory Riverside Santa Apolónia Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Editory Riverside Santa Apolónia Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Panteao Nacional (0.2 km), Museu Militar de Lisboa (0.02 km), and Feira da Ladra (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Editory Riverside Santa Apolónia Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at The Editory Riverside Santa Apolónia Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to The Editory Riverside Santa Apolónia Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Agulha No Palheiro, O Corrido - Casa de Fado, and Crisfama.
Are there any historical sites close to The Editory Riverside Santa Apolónia Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mosteiro dos Jeronimos (7.5 km), Castelo de S. Jorge (0.9 km), and Igreja de São Vicente de Fora (0.5 km).