We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Praca do Municipio 21, Lisbon 1100-365 Portugal
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$275
View deal
Booking.com
US$300
View deal
Vio.com
US$251
View deal
Hotels.comUS$276
TravelocityUS$276
PricelineUS$330
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (340)
360
Panoramas (59)
Room & Suite (360)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more

About

#35 of 329 hotels in Lisbon
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2022 Travellers' Choice Best of the Best
AlmaLusa Baixa/Chiado lies in one of the most emblematic squares of Lisbon - the "Praça do Municipio". More than a hotel is a place where you immerse yourself into the Portuguese culture through our history, unique experiences and partnerships. We are centrally located close to Lisbon's stunning attractions such as unique historical monuments, extraordinary museums, exclusive local shops, world-class nightlife with trendy restaurants. Each of our 28 non-smoking rooms, including 8 suites, are equipped with all expected facilities such as 100MB Wi-Fi, 42' Full HD Led Smart TV, heavenly luxury bed and a power shower, including free water and coffee. The Delfina restaurant provides a cool environment where you can socialize, work or just relax with amazing food. Efficient and welcoming concierge at your disposal. Public parking underground in front of the hotel - 35€ per 24 hours. Direct booking on our site has special rate, upgrade, welcome sangria, 10% off restaurant, farewell gift.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Children's television networks
Car hire
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Taxi service
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Boutique
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Portuguese
531Reviews15Q+A82Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 397
  • 97
  • 16
  • 15
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jay J wrote a review Jan 2023
Roslyn Heights, New York58 contributions6 helpful votes
Great location. Walking distance to all. Quiet area. Very safe. Everyone very friendly. The restaurant was very good. Included breakfast was just right. Fresh juices, coffees and pastries. The room for 3 people had a King bed and a single bed. Spacious for European standards. Would definitely come back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
escapefromny72 wrote a review Dec 2022
Saugerties, New York34 contributions53 helpful votes
Great front desk. Extremely helpful with everything. Rooms are cute and functional. Baths are modern with good shower. Complimentary breakfast was good. Very comfortable stay in a great location in Lisbon. We walked to many places in little time.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Luisa G, Guest Services / Front Office at AlmaLusa Baixa/Chiado
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear escapefromny72, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are very glad to know you enjoyed your time at AlmaLusa Baixa/Chiado and we look forward to having you as a guest of ours soon. Best Regards, Fábio A | Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
islanderbob wrote a review Dec 2022
Las Vegas, Nevada223 contributions88 helpful votes
+1
Wow…We love our stay at Almalusa , everything was perfect, really a 5 stars to details , cosy, charming deco, friendly and professional staffes. My work is about working in 5 stars resort around the world and this was impeccable!! location is the best , in the center, 3 minutes from the ocean, walking or driving distance to everything . The breakfast was great . Thank you AlmaLusa for our beautiful time in Lisbon, will be back :))
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Fabio Alves, Guest Services / Front Office at AlmaLusa Baixa/Chiado
Responded 12 Dec 2022
Dear Mr. islanderbob, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are fully committed on providing a service of excellence to our guests and therefore it was with great pleasure that we read your positive comments on your experience at our hotel. Your kind words will be shared with the entire team. We look forward to having you as a guest of ours soon. Warm regards, Fábio A | Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AEM700 wrote a review Nov 2022
Province of Cordoba, Spain4 contributions1 helpful vote
A great place to stay - good location, spotlessly clean, beds & bedding of huge comfort, excellent soundproofing, great breakfast, and only 28 rooms - feels more personal. Wonderful staff, except for the receptionist who suggested we went to By The Wine our first evening and didn't think to call ahead to reserve or check out if we could get a table before sending us. A wasted and frustrating journey as we waited in hope for 15 minutes in the rain before heading off. Lots of other restaurants close by but it would have been appreciated if the hotel could have offered better advice to first-timers like us, especially on a Sunday night. Worth paying extra to have a room at the front as the back rooms are onto the cute tram line. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. We didn't regret booking it for a minute and I'm sure you won't either.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Rooms at the back are onto the tram line book rooms at the front for a noise free...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Fabio Alves, Guest Services / Front Office at AlmaLusa Baixa/Chiado
Responded 24 Nov 2022
Dear Mrs. AEM700, We are fully committed on providing a service of excellence to our guests and therefore it was with great pleasure that we read your positive comments on your experience at our hotel. Nevertheless we deeply regret that we were not able to live up to your expectations in some aspects. Our staff and their customer service is one of our features most recognized and the experience you have described is not characteristic of the service levels our team strives to provide. Please accept our apologies for this situation. It will be a pleasure for us to have another opportunity to welcome you again. Warm regards, Fábio A | Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Suzanne B wrote a review Oct 2022
2 contributions
This is a wonderful hotel. The rooms were big, clean, and comfortable. Shutters opened to plaza and water views. The staff was polite, gracious, and efficient. Housekeeping left a piece of chocolate cake in our rooms to welcome us, and a very nice soap souvenir to thank us for our visit. They loaned us umbrellas on the one rainy night, helped us arrange a walking tour, and recommended restaurants. Plus, they keep cold tea in the lobby for you to help yourself. Great location, highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Small hotel, both rooms were wonderful.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Fabio Alves, Guest Services / Front Office at AlmaLusa Baixa/Chiado
Responded 23 Oct 2022
Dear Mrs. suzannebD4367JR, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are fully committed on providing a service of excellence to our guests and therefore it was with great pleasure that we read your positive comments on your experience at our hotel. Your kind words will be shared with the entire team. We look forward to having you as a guest of ours soon. Warm Regards, Fábio A - Assistant Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rachel wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
Wonderful experience. The room was lovely and the hotel is within walking distance to so much! The hotel staff are incredible. Great experience in this awesome hotel! Would recommend and would come back!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Fabio Alves, Owner at AlmaLusa Baixa/Chiado
Responded 18 Oct 2022
Dear X4061IBrachelw, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are fully committed on providing a service of excellence to our guests and therefore it was with great pleasure that we read your positive comments on your experience at our hotel. We look forward to having you as a guest of ours soon. Warm Regards, Fábio A - Assistant Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Salisbury1968 wrote a review Oct 2022
Belmont, United Kingdom50 contributions24 helpful votes
My wife and I are enjoying our 4th of a 5 night stay here ….The hotel is perfectly located just 2 mins from the main square on the river. The hotel owners have clearly worked very hard to produce a very high standard hotel whilst maintaining the original charm and features of the building. Without exception every single member of staff we have encountered have been very friendly, helpful and professional. There is plenty to choose from the breakfast buffet which can be added to by ordering fresh eggs and bacon. We have only eaten once in hotel restaurant for lunch which was also excellent . Our room is perfectly clean and spacious and also very quiet. The small kitchenette is a good touch and excellent coffee machine. It has been an absolute pleasure to stay here
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Fabio Alves, Owner at AlmaLusa Baixa/Chiado
Responded 10 Oct 2022
Dear Mr. Salisbury, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are fully committed on providing a service of excellence to our guests and therefore it was with great pleasure that we read your positive comments on your experience at our hotel. Your kind words will be shared with the entire team. We look forward to having you as a guest of ours soon. Warm Regards, Fábio A - Assistant Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris L wrote a review Sep 2022
Toronto, Canada5 contributions
Pros: - Very central location, convenient enough but also secluded from the noise. - Surprisingly good buffet breakfast, albeit a bit limited. - Amazing staff and service! Received a welcome chocolate cake as well as a leaving gift during our 4 day stay. Cons: - Beds and bed linen could be more comfortable. - No view - Only one key (more comment about this below) Notes: - You can hear the metro or tram nearby - You will have to leave your key with the hotel staff when you leave the hotel. I don't find this to be a big issue, and front desk staff are friendly so wasn't an issue. - Because there is only 1 key, when 1 person wants to leave the hotel, the person remaining in the room must hold the key in the room (for lights etc.), as such, the person who left the hotel cannot open the door without the person in the room unlocking the room for them.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Luisa G, Guest Services / Front Office at AlmaLusa Baixa/Chiado
Responded 3 Oct 2022
Dear chrisIG5902ZD, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at AlmaLusa Baixa/Chiado. Our guests' feedback is vital in order for us to be able to improve our service levels. In regards to the room key, we do ask guests to leave it at reception, being an actual physical key with the room number and name of the hotel, we do so for our guests' safety. Reception may always open doors for guests and should any guest require, we may leave a spare card to keep the lights on so another person can take the key with them. We look forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Lisbon. Warm Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dfernandez07 wrote a review Sep 2022
13 contributions8 helpful votes
Exceptional hotel in Lisbon!!! 5 stars…One block away from praca do comercio. Great central location. The service is exceptional. Room is very clean. I ate at the hotel restaurant and the food is fresh and wonderful. It’s about 5 blocks away from pink street where a lot of the bars are. Time out Lisbon is about 1/4 mile. Very easy to get transportation around the area as well. I highly recommend staying here. Concierge was exceptional. What ever I needed they supplied.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Luisa G, Guest Services / Front Office at AlmaLusa Baixa/Chiado
Responded 3 Oct 2022
Dear dfernandez07 thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay and we look forward o welcoming you soon. Warm Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MarylandSpartan wrote a review Sep 2022
Gaithersburg, Maryland475 contributions120 helpful votes
My husband and I spent two nights at this lovely hotel. We enjoyed room service which was delicious and timely. Breakfast was plentiful and a perfect start to our day. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was small, but very comfortable. Nice view of the plaza outside our window. Sparkling wine and delicious chocolate cake we’re waiting for us in our room on arrival.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Luisa G, Guest Services / Front Office at AlmaLusa Baixa/Chiado
Responded 29 Sep 2022
Dear MarylandSpartan, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at AlmaLusa Baixa/Chiado and for your kind words. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you soon. Warm Regards, Luísa Gomes | Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$190 - US$324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
PortugalCentral PortugalLisbon DistrictLisbonBaixa, Rossio & Restauradores
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ALMALUSA BAIXA/CHIADO: UPDATED 2023 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 637 Photos (Lisbon, Portugal) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about AlmaLusa Baixa/Chiado
Which popular attractions are close to AlmaLusa Baixa/Chiado?
Nearby attractions include Praca do Comercio (Terreiro do Paco) (0.4 km), Escape Hunt Lisbon (0.4 km), and Luvaria Ulisses (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at AlmaLusa Baixa/Chiado?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at AlmaLusa Baixa/Chiado?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at AlmaLusa Baixa/Chiado?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at AlmaLusa Baixa/Chiado?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to AlmaLusa Baixa/Chiado?
Conveniently located restaurants include STŌ Mercearia, Grau Douro Tapas & Wine Bar, and Porter Bistrô.
Is AlmaLusa Baixa/Chiado located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Lisbon.
Are any cleaning services offered at AlmaLusa Baixa/Chiado?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at AlmaLusa Baixa/Chiado?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to AlmaLusa Baixa/Chiado?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mosteiro dos Jeronimos (5.9 km), Castelo de S. Jorge (0.7 km), and Igreja de São Vicente de Fora (1.2 km).
Does AlmaLusa Baixa/Chiado have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.