We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa

Show Prices
#21 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,603 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 918: English reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2014

Another trip back to this hotel, our third this September. A fantastic base to explore the whole Island. The rooms are spacious, the breakfast buffet vast and all the staff are very helpful and friendly. I consider myself to be very fussy and this hotel always meets my expectations. Lots of restaurants around to eat in the evening. A couple...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melanie S
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued and Loyal Guest Firstly we have to thank you kindly for your loyalty and support in Meliá Madeira Mare!. We're delighted to hear that we remain your preferred hotel when visiting the island and that our services and facilities continue to meet with your expectations. We are lucky to enjoy a great location in the heart of the...

Manchester
Reviewed 20 October 2014

This is a relatively new hotel and the standard of the decor and fittings reflects this. Some of the art work is very striking. We had room 539 with a sea view and a slightly larger balcony due to the nearby fire escape. Pleased to see bath/ shower, kettle and fridge. Nice pool and there always seemed to be enough...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mjpartridge
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Many thanks for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor. We're happy we were able to deliver on our Brand Standards and sincerely hope you had a most enjoyable holiday experience with us. Delighted you enjoyed our Breakfast and our themed Madeiran Evening Buffet. Thank you for making mention of our waiting staff in the Restaurant - we will...

Gloucestershire
Reviewed 17 October 2014

Did not understand the earlier negative reviews. Our experience of Melia Hotels remains high. Staff friendly and helpful. No problems getting served, had difficulty drinking all the coffee offered!! Booked direct with Melia and believe got a better deal than using a travel agent.

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hillcourt
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you kindly for posting your fabulous review on Tripadvisor ! We're truly delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were not only able to deliver on our Brand standards but were also able to create a memorable holiday experience for you. Appreciate your preference in our Brand and sincerely hope to welcome you...

Huddersfield
Reviewed 17 October 2014

We stayed at the hotel for a week staying in a sea view room. In general the hotel was OK, but lacked the standard of a 5 star rating. The room was nice with a great balcony, but on arrival we found the safe to be broken and the shower not working, both of these thing I would have expected...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chrisme75
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your preference in our Resort during your recent stay in Madeira and for taking time in posting your review on Tripadvisor. Your comments and feedback is of vital importance to us in our efforts in improving on our services and facilities with a view to creating memorable holiday experiences to all those who choose...

Stockton on Tees
Reviewed 15 October 2014

A week away from the gloom of the UK bought my Wife and I to this '5 star' hotel on the Funchal Lido. Entry is at 3rd floor level so if you want to go out onto the Lido walkway you have to go down a steep hill which has to be climbed up again. The lack of an exit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank theflyingdoctor
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Many thanks for your taking time to post your review and for your preference in our Resort. We're sorry not all our services met with your expectations. With regard to direct access from the hotel to the promenade is concerned, we keep this door closed at all times for our guests' security, however, we do most certainly...

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2014 via mobile

A lovely comfortable hotel with a spacious room. The view from the side balcony was interesting. Staff were very pleasant. Breakfast was presented well and set you up for the day. The reception desk was busy most of the time and it was difficult to speak to someone. When it wasn't busy it could be difficult to speak to someone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 491helenw
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor. We're glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us and thank you for making positive mention of our staff members. We apologize for the inconsistency in terms of our Front Desk which we have to make mention is rather unusual, given the innumerous positive comments received for this section....

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2014

Have just returned from a week in the Melia Madeira. Have stayed in Melia in other countries and found the experience amazing. Madeira - so so disappointing. When we arrived we were told we had been upgraded to a superior room. Hair and dirty mark in bath on arrival. Hair and dirty mark in bath on departure. Black mould round...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Scotty505050
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking time to post your review. We're truly sorry you were disappointed with our services; please accept our apologies for the inconsistencies experienced both with our housekeeping and in the restaurant. We assure you this is not the service we want our guests to experience and are indeed sorry too that you did not...

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a week travelling on a Thomson package. The basic package was B&B but we decided to pay extra for half board rather than having to search for a restaurant each night. The hotel is situated about 3km outside Funchal in an area which has been developed over the last 15 years. It is a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Raymond S
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your preference in our Resort during your stay in Madeira and thank you too for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We're sorry not all our services and facilities met with your expectations. Our hotel is a Brand Hotel and in line with the Meliá concept - modern and contemporary lines with lots of chill...

Amsterdam
Reviewed 13 October 2014

We really enjoyed our 6 nights in the hotel as part of our tour on Madeira. We arrived in the morning and were told we had to wait for 2 hours before our room was available, that was quite ok and we walked to the promenade and had a good coffee, galao is the Portuguese word for cafe latte. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dustwav
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Many thanks for your kind review on Tripadvisor.! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that our services and facilities met with your expectations on the whole. We have to make mention that our Matresses are of the "DreaMax" make - most guests find them pretty comfortable - although some prefer something more softer -...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2014

We really enjoyed our 1 week stay, loved the feel of the hotel and the vast selection for the buffet breakfast. Situated near the Lido it was a 30 -40 minute walk from Funchal. Madeira is a lovely place with really friendly locals couldn't fault the hotel. Lots of great places to eat nearby in the evenings.

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sharon Pauline W
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest We're all smiles on this end with your very kind review and thank you for sharing same. Your positive comments serve to motivate us all in our efforts in creating memorable holiday experiences to those who choose to stay with us. We're also delighted you enjoyed our beautiful island and friendly hospitality! We hope to welcome you...

1,377 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (853)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (193)
Viewed
View from Room (93)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (83)
Viewed
Room/Suite (129)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (43)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (282)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (490)
Viewed
Amenities (170)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (22)
Viewed
Pool (29)
Viewed
Premium Suite (56)
Viewed
Dining (88)
Viewed
Standard Side Sea View Room (29)
Viewed
Superior Sea View Room (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
2,611 reviews
1.0 km away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 86 in Funchal
1,747 reviews
0.7 km away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 86 in Funchal
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#10 of 86 in Funchal
1,042 reviews
1.7 km away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
0.8 km away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 86 in Funchal
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Portuguese
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Melia Madeira is a modern and elegant five-star hotel with a contemporary design that will enhance the availability of quality accommodation options for both business and leisure travelers to Madeira Island. Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and boasting magnificent sea views, the hotel is conveniently located a few meters of the sea, in close proximity to the small pebble beach, Gorgulho and offers direct access to the Oceanside promenade. The Resort offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas, an indoor and outdoor pool and a spa. Elegantly-furnished rooms offer a balcony and cable TV. Some rooms of Meliã Madeira Mare include scenic views of the Atlantic Ocean from the balcony. Many of the hotel’s rooms also have a sitting area.Guests can relax in the jacuzzi and sauna at Meliã Madeira Mare’s spa. Massage treatments and a steam bath are also offered.Free parking is available. Madeira International Airport is a 25-minute drive away. Meliã Madeira Mare is a 5-minute walk from the center of the city.Meliã Madeira Mare’s restaurant serves a breakfast buffet and themed buffets for dinner. A la Carte menu is also available. The hotel’s pool bar provides refreshing beverages and light snacks for lunch. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa

Address: Lido - Rua de Leichlingen nos. 2-4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-003, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Price Range: $146 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Madeira Mare Resort And Spa
Melia Madeira Mare Hotel Funchal
Sol Melia Funchal
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa Funchal
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Funchal
#9 Business Hotel in Funchal
#15 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#20 Family Hotel in Funchal
#21 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
61 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (61)

Questions? Get answers from Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Side sea views good. Room 717 no sun pm but am.”
 of 5 bubbles Funicular1953, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“front facing rooms have full sea views”
 of 5 bubbles paulmT3748PC, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“High floor, overlooking swimming pool”
 of 5 bubbles Tim-Limbach, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Sea view room a must....”
 of 5 bubbles AnneF374, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Superior ocean view room is a must for the terrace”
 of 5 bubbles WorldTravellerfromGB, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5