We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Reid's Palace, A Belmond Hotel, Madeira

Save
Share
Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098 Portugal
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
10 people are viewing this hotel
Priceline
US$637
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/06/22
Booking.com
US$637
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/06/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Destinia.com
US$620
View deal
Free cancellation until 23/06/22
Expedia.comUS$637
eDreamsUS$637
Trip.comUS$670
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1567)
Room & Suite (571)
Dining (315)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 11/11/19 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 11/11/19 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#16 of 99 hotels in Funchal
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Set on cliff tops overlooking the Bay of Funchal and the Atlantic Ocean, this legendary hotel has, for over a century, been a standard-bearer for excellence. The hotel is located on 10 acres of subtropical gardens, boasts enviable access to the sea and is within walking distance of Funchal's shops, restaurants and night-life. With its reputation for excellence and discreet service, Belmond Reid's Palace is the ideal place at which to relax and be pampered.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Badminton
Boating
Babysitting
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Saltwater pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Diving
Hiking
Horseback riding
Squash
Tennis court
Windsurfing
Aerobics
Bicycle tours
Billiards
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Patio
Squash offsite
Walking tours
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's playground
Children's television networks
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hammam
Hand massage
Head massage
Light therapy
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Massage chair
Neck massage
Open-air bath
Pedicure
Salon
Solarium
Steam room
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Mosquito net
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Doorperson
Infirmary
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Bidet
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
On-demand films
Radio
iPod docking station
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 5 more
2195Reviews88Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,835
  • 236
  • 85
  • 20
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Robert C wrote a review 17 Jan
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
I’ve stayed in The Reid’s Palace and think it’s a great hotel, this time we popped in for a Cocktail as we’ve done many times before and was really disappointed with the Harvey Wallbanger that was possibly the worst Cocktail I have ever been served and at 32 euros for two it’s not cheap!! I only write this review so the staff can correct as I have had plenty of Cocktails in the bar and was really disappointed at what we were served so will not be back.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ciriaco Campus, Other at Reid's Palace, A Belmond Hotel, Madeira
Responded yesterday
Dear Robert, Thank you for visiting Reids Palace and our Gastro Bar. I am sorry to hear that the served drink was not up to your taste and this understandably spoilde your previous good image of our hotel. I checked with our Head Barmen and the Harvey Wallbanger is prepared according to the standard recipe containing Vodka, Galliano and freshly squeezed orange juice. Especially with such a classic drink, it would have been great if you brought this up to our attention so we could have fixed it right away. I sincerely hope you will give us another chance to prove our hospitality and am sending the warmest regards from Madeira. Ciriaco Campus General Manager Reids Palace, a Belmond Hotel
Read more
wanderer1603 wrote a review 11 Jan
England, United Kingdom203 contributions55 helpful votes
+1
With our holiday plans to travel to Italy foiled at the last hurdle, we travelled to Madeira, one of the only ‘green list countries’, from the UK for a 2 week break in August. With Reid’s' longstanding reputation and our previous pleasant experiences at Belmond hotels in Italy, we thought of nowhere else to stay but Reid’s Palace. The hotel building is a very 90’s, pink, large building on the cliff side with great views of the sea. The rooms are comparatively small to other Belmond hotels, but come with a balcony, bath, shower, and desk. The décor throughout the hotel is very dated, lots of carpeting and old patterns, reflecting the large British influence in the 80s and 90s – probably the last time the interiors were updated. There are 2 pools, one saltwater and one chlorinated, side by side with sunbeds lined up in rows covering all ground possible. Alternatively, there are more beds nestled into the cliffside by the sea. We opted to spend our days here, away from the noisy kids splashing up by the pools. There is easy access down via a lift – although the more fit guests can hike up the stairs. I warn you, however, beds on the cliffs come at a price. To get 4 beds relatively close to the seafront with umbrellas, we had to arrive by 6:30am at the latest, otherwise you’d have 2 sets of 2 beds at opposite ends of the cliffs and could spend the day without umbrellas. Luckily for us, we played tennis every morning at 7am, so were up early anyway, however, this poses a problem for the more sleepy guests looking for a lie-in. Whilst the views were better and the atmosphere calmer down by the sea, the service was non-existent. As was the case with most of the island, the hotel felt incredibly understaffed and this was never more evident than when by the sea. If you’d like to eat lunch at 2, order at 12:30 – no exaggeration. Even a pitcher of sangria would take 45 minutes minimum to arrive. That said, when the food and drinks did arrive they were delicious – definitely order a pitcher of the white wine sangria. On top of that, the view of the sea is spectacular and the unfriendly cliffs deter noisy children. The food in general was very good at the hotel. Breakfast is a mixture of buffet and a la carte, with lots of fruit, cold cuts, bread, cereal, yoghurt, pancakes, bacon, sausages at the buffet, and then eggs any way and daily specials to order. Staff are kind and attentive, however, breakfast tables cannot be reserved, so expect to wait 15-20 minutes for a table if you’re coming at peak time (7:45-9am). Lunch menu is the same by the pool as by the sea and offers a variety of sandwiches and salads – good. The ‘Gastrobar’ is located on the terrace overlooking the pool and sea, also where Reid’s famous afternoon teas are served. There is a good atmosphere for drinks in the evening and delicious canapés are served alongside drinks. The cocktail menu is incredibly long, classic cocktails were delicious. The dinner menu is interesting – starters are small plates to share, such as chicken kebabs, samosas and fishcakes, all of which were delicious. Mains options are a little more constrained, often Portuguese takes on classic dishes. I often opted for the prawn Caesar salad which, if a little unadventurous, was always generous and the prawns were huge. We dined here 4 times during our 2 week stay and found the menu a little limited and repetitive after trip no.2, however, the staff were kind and the terrace had a good atmosphere. We always had a good time here. Do book as it was always busy. Villa Cipriani is the hotel’s Italian restaurant and wasn’t worth the hype. The food was ok, more expensive than and not as good as the Gastrobar, and the restaurant itself was stuffy, quiet, and soulless - despite it always being fully booked when we tried to book a table. We ended up dining here once. The spa is great – felt new, clean and well designed. I had a sports massage during our stay which was fantastic – very relaxing and professional. The gym is in the spa and is well-equipped, and while it is small, due to Covid no more than 4 people could use it at one time anyway. The tennis courts are in awful condition. There are two and they are not next to each other, one is particularly hard to find, and are both cracked and dirty with broken nets. There is neither water nor umbrellas on the court – a must when playing in such heat. Book in advance if you can be bothered to play at all as really there is only one usable court. Overall we had a very relaxing time at Reid’s Palace, however, it definitely felt in need of a makeover in more than a few areas and further dining options are needed in the evening with only two at the moment, one of which, being a bar, is quite limited. Hopefully as tourism becomes more steady again, the hotel will hire more staff as the service really struggled during our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Ciriaco Campus, Other at Reid's Palace, A Belmond Hotel, Madeira
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Wanderer, Greetings from sunny Madeira, I hope you had a safe journey home! Thank you very much for taking the time for this very extensive feedback regarding your recent stay at our Hotel. I am happy to read, that there were many aspects of your stay that you enjoyed such as the breakfast, Gastrobar, Spa and friendliness of our team. I would also like to use this opportunity to apologize for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay personally, and on behalf of the team. I am sorry that you felt the hotel to be a bit crowded. The NewYears period is by far the busiest time of the year on Madeira and I am sure that any other month would bring you a more suitable experience. We have plenty of sunbeds for all guests and while it is possible that specific ones are occupied, there are always beds and umbrellas available around the pool. In regards to the restaurants, we are working to increase our capacity and open more restaurants in the near future. For breakfast, we always have tables available but as you mentioned, it is possible that short waiting times can occur for specific tables if requested. Thank you as well for bringing the tennis courts to my attention, we will get the cracks fixed as soon as possible. Nevertheless, we hope you had an enjoyable time with us and we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back here to Reid's Palace in the near future. Ciriaco Campus General Manager Reid’s Palace, a Belmond Hotel Madeira
Read more
karenb21 wrote a review 11 Jan
uxbridge860 contributions144 helpful votes
+1
I have always wanted to stay here ! It’s a lovely place within walking distance to the old town . We had a nice upgrade to a deluxe sea view which had a lovely view over the port . Was great to see all the cruise liners come in . Balcony was quite small but you could sit out and read . Breakfast was amazing with such a wide variety of smoked fish, cold meats and cooked eggs . Not to mention the array of fruit . The pool area is great but we found it extremely windy which was a shame . The gym was an asset for my other half and we both enjoyed a massage in the spa . If I was to be really picky I would say that the front desk staff aren’t engaging enough when you enter and the price of food and drinks is a little alarming . It would have been nice to have a couple of drinks in the bar if they weren’t so pricy compared to other bars and hotels close by . Maybe this was why it was so empty . Afternoon tea was ok . Not the best . We had to sadly sit inside as it was quite windy and weren’t allowed a table by the window ( which was later given to a couple just having drinks ?!) . It was a lovely time but not enough for a repeat visit sadly .
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Ciriaco Campus, Other at Reid's Palace, A Belmond Hotel, Madeira
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Karen, Thank you very much for staying at Reid's palace and taking the time for your feedback. I am delighted to read that you had a good time with us and especially enjoyed the views, gym and breakfast. I am very sorry that the weather during your stay was not as good as expected and the wind despite the sun on some of the past days made it difficult to enjoy our heated pools. I am sure that if you ever have the chance to visit us in spring or summertime, you would have an even more enjoyable experience! Nevertheless, we sincerely hope you will give us another chance to prove our hospitality! Best regards, Ciriaco Campus General Manager Reids Palace, a Belmond Hotel
Read more
Willy Z wrote a review 10 Jan
Hong Kong, China3 contributions2 helpful votes
A BIG THANK YOU!! We have stayed in many world class hotels, but the gracious, friendly & supremely efficient service we received in Reid’s topped most other hotels!! We were truly impressed & despite the Covid emergency, we felt so welcome & managed to forget about Covid for a few days. To use a super-cliche, we felt “at home.” It is an elegant, beautiful historic hotel - a grand old “dame” & ALL the staff (from chamber maid to manager) clearly take pride in the work they do & give their best. We truly thank everyone for making our stay PERFECT! Thanks for helping create beautiful memories. David Ben-Ami
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Ciriaco Campus, Other at Reid's Palace, A Belmond Hotel, Madeira
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Willy, Greetings from sunny Madeira! Thank you very much for visiting us and for your lovely comments, we are glad to read that we have been able to meet your expectations. It is a true pleasure to read that our team created a memorable stay with us and I will gladly share your compliments with them! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back here to the Belmond Reid's Palace in the near future. Best regards, Ciriaco Campus General Manager Reid’s Palace, a Belmond Hotel Madeira
Read more
Bianca_Adriao wrote a review 7 Jan
Sintra, Portugal1 contribution
Excellence is the word to describe this experience at Belmont Reids Palace Madeira. Journey to be shared and recommended. Unforgetable memories, class in every corner and hotel floor, best view for New Years Madeira well-famous fireworks.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Ciriaco Campus, Other at Reid's Palace, A Belmond Hotel, Madeira
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Bianca, Greetings from Madeira! Thank you very much for visiting us and for your lovely comments, we are delighted to read that we were able to create lasting memories. With great pleasure, I shared your lovely comments with the team and we all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back here to the Belmond Reid's Palace in the near future. Best regards, Ciriaco Campus General Manager Reid’s Palace, a Belmond Hotel Madeira
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$304 - US$483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
reid`s palace by orient-express hotel funchal, reids palace funchal, reids palace hotel funchal
LOCATION
PortugalMadeira IslandsMadeiraFunchal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
158
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Reid's Palace, A Belmond Hotel, Madeira
Which popular attractions are close to Reid's Palace, A Belmond Hotel, Madeira?
Nearby attractions include Hole in One (0.4 km), Trap Music Bar (0.3 km), and MAMMA - Museum of Modern Art of Madeira (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Reid's Palace, A Belmond Hotel, Madeira?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Reid's Palace, A Belmond Hotel, Madeira?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Reid's Palace, A Belmond Hotel, Madeira?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Reid's Palace, A Belmond Hotel, Madeira?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Reid's Palace, A Belmond Hotel, Madeira?
Conveniently located restaurants include Franco's Corner, Cris's Place, and X Tonel Restaurante.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Reid's Palace, A Belmond Hotel, Madeira?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Reid's Palace, A Belmond Hotel, Madeira have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Reid's Palace, A Belmond Hotel, Madeira offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Reid's Palace, A Belmond Hotel, Madeira have airport transportation?
Yes, Reid's Palace, A Belmond Hotel, Madeira offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Reid's Palace, A Belmond Hotel, Madeira?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Reid's Palace, A Belmond Hotel, Madeira offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.