We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Allegro Madeira - Adults Only

Save
Share
Rua Gorgulho 1, Funchal, Madeira 9004-540 Portugal
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!EXTRA 5% OFF
US$86
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/12/21
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$86
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/12/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
Booking.comUS$86
travelup.comUS$115
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (352)
Room & Suite (127)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 25/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Allegro Madeira - Adults Only
Updated 25/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#19 of 98 hotels in Funchal
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice

The heir to the primitive space built in 1973, under the aegis of two of the main architects of quality construction in the Madeira Archipelago.

This 4-star hotel offers modern and bright rooms with panoramic views of the Atlantic.In the touristic center of Funchal, a new place of well-being, relaxing, design and view of the ocean, over the Lido bay and the toponymia of the Madeira Island.Reach the promenade on foot, enjoy the cozy Gorgulho Beach and effortlessly reach the center of Funchal with its diversity of colors, fragrances and unique motions.

The Hotel is only 21 km away from Madeira International Airport and a few meters away from Gorgulho Beach and 1 km away from the shopping area with several restaurants, cinema and shops. The city center of Funchal is just a few minutes walking from a pleasant path along the main avenue.

Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Steam room
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Rooftop bar
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:EXTRA 5% OFF
688Reviews48Q+A40Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 417
  • 206
  • 46
  • 13
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Squirrelowl wrote a review Nov 2021
Mansfield, United Kingdom46 contributions58 helpful votes
I was dubious about the hotel being pokey after reading other reviews but I guess it depends what your expectations are. There are only 2 drawers - I live out of my suitcase anyway so this was not a problem for us. Loads of coat hangers and a rack to put your case on and some wall art that doubles as hooks. The room was well decorated and cleaned daily to a good standard. There were loads of little touches such as shoe horns and toothbrushes. The pool area was very nice with plenty of sun loungers. The pool was cold to the point of being uncomfortable though but this appears to be standard for the area as the pool at my Dad's hotel wasn't heated either. The breakfast was by far the icing on the cake at this hotel. I had very low expectations but was sooooooo wrong. What a lovely choice including an egg/omelette station. Fizz was available everyday at no extra cost. My only quibble would be there weren't bananas avaulable everyday despite thhese being a huge deal on Madeira and there wasn't any cereal which was a bit odd. Genuinely though thoroughly enjoyed my breakfast everyday - this is possibly the first holiday me and my partner have had breakfast EVERY day!! The staff were really friendly and helpful and made the stay a positive one
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Propriétaire at Allegro Madeira - Adults Only
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Guest, Thanks for the time taken to share your opinion with us. We are delighted that our location was ideal for you and that we were able to meet your expectations. Our team works hard to ensure that every guest has the best experience possible and your positive feedback inspires us to continue with our efforts. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Guillermo Marañón, General Manager
Read more
Lorraine B wrote a review Aug 2021
Larkhall, United Kingdom40 contributions36 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
This hotel is located in the heart of Funchal close to everything. The hotel is absolutely spotless and the staff are extremely friendly All measures are in place for Covid. We booked bed & breakfast for 12 nights and have thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast variety. The reception staff are extremely helpful and are happy to recommend local restaurants and entertainment ideas. The hotel does do half board if you prefer to stay in the hotel but we opted to eat at different restaurants in the area. This hotel does not have entertainment due to Covid but it has a stunning roof top bar with Lino serving awesome cocktails over the most magnificent view and if you get chilly there is even blankets. If you want your suitcases taken to your room you need to sign a disclaimer due to Covid but all these measures are to keep us safe. All the staff are extremely friendly and helpful but a special mention to Kelly,Rue and Pedro for going above and beyond
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: There are various rooms some with sea view etc so maybe call hotel to check options.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Allegro Madeira Adults Only, General Manager at Allegro Madeira - Adults Only
Responded 3 Aug 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at our Allegro Madeira Hotel. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a memorable experience, as so we would like to thank you for your highlights on the service you received in our Roof top bar and we will not fail to share your praising comments with the entire team with our congratulations for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying in the hotel Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit. Best wishes, Guillermo Marañón, General Manager Allegro Madeira
Read more
Monica154 wrote a review Nov 2021
7 contributions
Nice 4 night stay at the Allegro after our stay in our usual timeshare. Rooms clean and functionable with a comfy bed and good hot shower, only complaint is the lack of storage as the rooms are quite small. Marvellous view from the balcony. Wanted to have drinks in the stunning rooftop bar but sadly it was closed due to the strong gusty winds! All staff were very helpful. Lovely breakfast with plenty of choice!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Propriétaire at Allegro Madeira - Adults Only
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for the time taken to review your stay. We are pleased to hear that our central location was convenient for you. Thank you as well for commenting on our prices, we are happy that we were able to meet your expectations in this regard. However, we regret that certain aspects of your room were not to your liking. Please know that your comments have been duly noted. We do offer rooms of various sizes, and we would be glad to assist you in choosing a larger room for your next visit. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Best regards, Guillermo Marañón, General Manager
Read more
DebraPearsonBell wrote a review Nov 2021
Workington, United Kingdom14 contributions3 helpful votes
Just home a few days ago from Allegro Madeira Adults Only Hotel. Wonderful hotel, spotlessly clean, all staff were kind, helpful and friendly! The room was lovely, paid a little extra for an ocean view and it was just beautiful. The roof top terrace and bar had the most amazing views of Funchal and pretty awesome cocktails. The breakfast was delicious. Many restaurants on the doorstep too. Beds changed, fresh towels, it was all faultless. All in all 10/10. Would definitely love to go back. Thank you to all staff for giving us a memorable experience at your wonderful hotel. Debra Gibson
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Propriétaire at Allegro Madeira - Adults Only
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Debra, Thank you for sharing the review of your stay with us. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay and appreciated our high standards and quality service. Our dedicated team always aim to deliver the best experience possible to all our guests and you will always find them ready to assist at any time. We look forward to welcoming you back for another excellent experience with us. Kind regards, Guillermo Marañón, General Manager
Read more
Misholina55 wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
Pros: pool, nice terrace, clean Cons: roof terrace opens only at 16, spa is open from 10-18 so you can't use it after hiking tour, breakfast is the same and missing taste, if you eat inside, your clothes and hair smells so bad since they make eggs, pancakes in open kitchen and everything smells.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Propriétaire at Allegro Madeira - Adults Only
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, The feedback from our guests is very important to us and so we have noted your comments. We are always grateful for any feedback that may help us to improve. Thorough cleaning is an absolute must for Barceló and we thank you for highlighting the high standards of our hotel. We strive to give total confidence in this area, being fully aware that this is a top priority for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best wishes, Guillermo Marañón, General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$77 - US$114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
gorgulho hotel funchal, hotel gorgulho madeira, gorgulho funchal
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Gorgulho
LOCATION
PortugalMadeira IslandsMadeiraFunchal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
124
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Allegro Madeira - Adults Only
Which popular attractions are close to Allegro Madeira - Adults Only?
Nearby attractions include Madeira Mandolin Orchestra (0.2 km), Hole in One (0.3 km), and Passeio Público Marítimo e Jardins do Lido (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Allegro Madeira - Adults Only?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Allegro Madeira - Adults Only?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Allegro Madeira - Adults Only?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Allegro Madeira - Adults Only?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Allegro Madeira - Adults Only?
Conveniently located restaurants include Indian Palace Restaurant, MadMarket Restaurante, and Sabor da India.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Allegro Madeira - Adults Only?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Allegro Madeira - Adults Only?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Allegro Madeira - Adults Only?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Allegro Madeira - Adults Only?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Colégio dos Jesuítas do Funchal (2.4 km), Santa Clara Convent (2.2 km), and Blandy's Wine Lodge (2.2 km).
Does Allegro Madeira - Adults Only have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.