We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oporto City Hostel

Booking.comUS$19*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Oporto City Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 52: English reviews
Start your review of Oporto City Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 13 March 2017

The welcoming was the first thing which made me feel really good. The people were amazing and really helpful with everything. The living room is really cozy with great atmosphere. We stayed in 4 bedroom with private bathroom. It was clean with a nice view. The last but not least it's close to the downtown so you won't need public...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Сиси Д
Giovana D, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Oporto City Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Сиси Д, Thanks for the amazing review, it´s rewarding to know that you had a great time here! Location is something essencial in Porto, if you stay in a well located place - you can do most of the turistic places by foot. Hope to see you again, maybe in the summer! Best, Giovana

Brno, Czech Republic
Reviewed 13 March 2017

The staff is very nice, the beds are comfortable, we can use the kitchen and the patio, which is very nice. The location is fantastic, we can get anywhere in 10min walking, it is very close to Praça da Liberdade and Mercado do Bolhão. In the bedrom that I stayed in the bathroom was inside the room, which was nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ana Ester V
Giovana D, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Oporto City Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Ana Ester V, Thank you very much for the review. I am happy to read about your experience with us and glad to know that you liked our location and commom areas. The garden is even nicer on summer, you must return! :) We also appreciate the suggestions regarding the bathroom and curtains, we are always working to improve....

Reviewed 1 March 2017

Great staff, brilliant location and fantatic facilities. Located close to the metro and train stations this hostel is right in the heart of the city. The staff were really friendly and knowledgable making the atmosphere relaxed and welcoming. The facilities are above and beyond what is expected of a hostel, it is clean, spacious and proffessionally organised. I loved my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stu G
Giovana D, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Oporto City Hostel, responded to this review

Wow! We are pretty amazed with your wonderful review. Thank you very much, Stu G! We are very proud of our service and always trying to get better and better to exceed our guests expectations. It will be more than a pleasure to have you back! Best Wishes, Giovana

Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

Really great hostel, in a great location, for a low price. Staff were all very helpful and friendly, willing to give us tips on where to go in the city, and suggesting walking tours, pub crawls, etc. Would stay here again, and recommend to anyone looking for a nice, affordable, clean, hostel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily G
Giovana D, Gerente de relações com clientes at Oporto City Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Emily G, Thanks a lot for your wonderful review about us, we are very proud of our service and always trying to get better and better to exceed our guests expectations. We hope to see you again soon. Best Wishes, Giovana

Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

Great stuff! Relaxed, informal, casual. Staff was very helpful and there were always people in the living room to chat. Was there 3 days and met so many different people. It was fun but not exactly party hostel kind of place. For me it was perfect, the only complaint was the receptionist sleeping in the couch when I left at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bonfredo Q
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 24 November 2016

The room was clean, the staff were great, the atmosphere was good as is a small hostel you can easily meet people. The location is not the best, but is very good. The price is fair, the only complain is that the last night I had to pay a little bit more than the first 2 nights.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frediponce
Giovana D, Gerente de relações com clientes at Oporto City Hostel, responded to this review

Hi frediponce, We really appreciate your review, I really liked the "espectacular"! Sorry to hear about the prices, we don´t have a fixed rate, it floats according to the demand. Our doors are always open to host you one more time... if you need further reservations or info, you can send us an e-mail on oportocityhostel@gmail.com. Kindest Regards, Giovana

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 9 November 2016

We had a double bed and it was like a little cupboard. It was very cozy and the curtain provided you with privacy. The kitchen has a lot of supplies, the staff is very friendly and it was clean overall. The location is very nice and there is a possibility to park your car in the back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mosh2102
Giovana D, Gerente de relações com clientes at Oporto City Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Mosh2102, Thank you very much for your comments. I am glad to know that you liked your bed, our location and most important...our staff! We are always at your disposal! Kindest Regards, Giovana

Lima, Peru
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

I went to this hostel and the guys at reception desk were very nice. The room wasnt at all though. It had a bathroom and the door wouldnt close. It was tiny and messy. The kitchen and the lobby were very nice but unfortunately the travellers stay in the rooms, where I didnt take a picture because the whole time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NANCY R
Giovana D, Gerente de relações com clientes at Oporto City Hostel, responded to this review

Dear NANCY R, Thanks for sharing your experience with us! It´s good to know that you liked our reception staff, they are always available to help and support our guests. I also appreciate your details about the room and bathroom, we will check the best way to make it better. We are always at your disposal. All the Best, Giovana

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Great and helpful staff. Perfect for young people who want to meet others, like to party, and don't need much sleep! As slightly older guests, this wasn't the place for us, and sleep eluded us on the first night. We decided to move elsewhere, and the staff member ( jorge) was very helpful in finding us alternative accommodation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pdvlondon
Giovana D, Gerente de relações com clientes at Oporto City Hostel, responded to this review

Dear pdvlondon, We really appreciate your time and review. I agree that our hostel has a young ambience, but we also host many families in our double private rooms. Maybe, you should try this kind of accomodation next time. I am happy to see that Jorge could help you, our main goal our guest´s comfort. Best Wishes, Giovana

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Stayed in a 6 bed dorm with a friend, we were staying the night to head to the airport the next day. We picked this hostel because it had a free private parking area as we had a rental car. Upon arrival, reception was really helpful with parking and check in. Rooms were clean, beds comfortable and close to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hosalegna

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (21)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.3 km away
Garden House Hostel Porto
1.0 km away
Porto Alive Hostel
Porto Alive Hostel
#73 of 214 in Porto
61 reviews
0.3 km away
Mimhostel
Mimhostel
#58 of 214 in Porto
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Oporto Invictus Hostel
Oporto Invictus Hostel
#36 of 214 in Porto
102 reviews
0.2 km away
Spot Oporto Hostel
Spot Oporto Hostel
#15 of 214 in Porto
222 reviews
0.7 km away
PILOT Design Hostel & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oporto City Hostel is a charming old house from the 50s completely restored, located right in the heart of the historic center of Porto, next to the city's main metro station. Our core values are Hospitality, Cleanliness and Comfort in the Perfect Location.Stay with us and enjoy an authentic Porto Experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oporto City Hostel

Address: Rua Guedes de Azevedo, 219, Porto 400-273, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Price Range: $24 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Oporto City Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Oporto City Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oporto City Hostel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Oporto City Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All facilities are of a good quality”
94stug, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“all the rooms are fine.”
frediponce, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you are with two people pick the double bed, it's nicer than the single beds.”
Mosh2102, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Not the basement's dorm!”
JosephineBistrot, 12 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Just make sure your door can be closed correctly!”
franciscojavierp345, 26 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$19* /night
View Deal
Hostelworld.comUS$22
Hotwire.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates