We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Romantik Hotel Goldener Stern

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Romantik Hotel Goldener Stern
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 14: English reviews
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A lovely hotel, very traditional and a pleasant atmosphere. My only gripes - and this is just me - others might be quite happy - are the lack of any sort of evening entertainment; instead, go across the road and have a drink with Alex in his bar, and the locals. The food was good and provided a better variety... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
Gaweinstal, Austria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Excellent coffee for breakfast ( far beyond any prior hotel experience), sufficient buffet and nice rooms for dining any changes of the usual menu seem to be out of reach. no offers of cheese for those how prefer cheese to Puddings and cakes. Quality of staff differs: from excellent Madeleine ( written: Madlen ) to hard of understanding Jiri and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Baumi743
Anna_Angith, Inhaber at Romantik Hotel Goldener Stern, responded to this review

Dear Baumi743, many thanks for this great review. It makes us very happy. The feedbacks at Tripadvisor we always like to read. The coffe in our guesthouse has you tasted good and also the rooms were to your full satisfaction. How nice! We are very sorry that the cheese were finished at your holiday. Thanks also for the nice compliment... More 

London, England
Level Contributor
126 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2015 via mobile

The hotel were so helpful - they took delivery of rental bikes from the local bike store in advance and returned them on our behalf, because it was a holiday weekend and the shop was shut. The food and wines were lovely and good value. And the service at check-in and check-out was very efficient, but also friendly and chatty... More 

Helpful?
Thank fitbug2010
SusanneOPC, Inhaber at Romantik Hotel Goldener Stern, responded to this review

Dear fitbug201, thank you for the very positive review on Tripadvisor. We are happy, that you have pledged our full range. We are pleased, that you have taken advantage of our offer for bicycles . So you could certainly best to explore the area . Friendliness was very important to us. Very nice that value it so highly . Thanks... More 

Knighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2015

Really little to fault this--no aircon which was a bit offputting in the present heatwave but full opening windows and quiet streets made this ok. Sauna and massages at a reasonable price (according to friends) with in room fridge and tv though not much English language. Altogether a pleasant comfortable place to stay with good food and drink on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gethyn60
SusanneOPC, Inhaber at Romantik Hotel Goldener Stern, responded to this review

Dear Geathyn60, We are very pleased, that you have taken the time to evaluate us on TripAdvisor . We attach great importance to the opinions of our guests, to help us constantly improve. Sorry , there was a problem with the air conditioning during your stay .That might not actually happen . Because in these hot temperatures it has everyone... More 

budapest
Level Contributor
71 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2015

We stayed at this hotel for one night - and it was more than enough. I am trying to think if I have stayed in a worse place but I struggle to think of one - even if I include my times backpacking round Europe and staying on hostels 25 years ago it is difficult to find a memory of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Winters100
SusanneOPC, Inhaber at Romantik Hotel Goldener Stern, responded to this review

Dear Miss Winters100, Actually, I would like to thank you for your feedback. But reading such a review shocks me in every way. Being the hotel director, I truly consider your description of our hotel being the “worst place” a personal insult. Such severe criticism as well as the statements about our “poor facilities” and “rude staff” is not justified.... More 

Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2015

Located right on the historic city square of Gmünd, the "Golden Star" is certainly the best hotel in town. Large rooms, comfortable beds, cosy bar and restaurant serving austrian cuisine and local specialties. Most rooms are on the backside and accordingly quiet. The included breakfast buffet will fill up even the most empty stomaches.

Helpful?
Thank riehen
SusanneOPC, Inhaber at Romantik Hotel Goldener Stern, responded to this review

Dear riehen, a big thank you for this enthusiastic and very good rating at Tripadvisor. It´s so fantastic! We are pleased, that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you have felt so well. In the historic little town Gmünd and far beyond , we are known for our excellent Austrian cuisine . We are pleased, that you were... More 

Trebon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I like this company, which is settled in my home country (which is czech republic) as well. I liked the staff, preformance and most of services were five-star-class. I love the city and its historical monuments, especially the architecture of a small Austrian town. We czechs should learn a lot from this country. About clean streets, politeness of the hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I stayed at the hotel for one night during a business trip to Austria. I remember from earlier trips that customer service is generally excellent in Austria, and was not disappointed. The rooms are modern, generous and cosy, with very comfortable beds and good quality linen. I did not like the full height clear glass screen between the room and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hans049
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel and it was very modern and clean. had internet in the rooms. The staff spoke English very well and the restaurant food was excellent. the location is in the heart of the town. We would definately stay here again. Very good experience.

Helpful?
Thank veronika P

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (49)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gmuend
1.8 km away
Hotel Sole-Felsen-Bad
Hotel Sole-Felsen-Bad
#1 of 3 in Gmuend
85 reviews
0.0 km away
Symposion Hotel Schwarz Alm
Symposion Hotel Schwarz Alm
#1 of 1 in Zwettl Stadt
42 reviews
1.4 km away
FairSleep Avia Motel Gmund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 km away
Schlosshotel Rosenau
Schlosshotel Rosenau
#1 of 1 in Schloss Rosenau
30 reviews
0.1 km away
No photo provided
10.4 km away
Brauhotel Weitra
Brauhotel Weitra
#1 of 3 in Weitra
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Whether for a business trip, a meeting, hiking holidays or a spa holiday near the Sole-Felsen-Bad, the 4 star Romantik Hotel in Gmünd is the best address for holidays in the Waldviertel or ideal for a stopover near Vienna. Diverse offers, cozy rooms, an excellent restaurant and a small spa area, invite you to relax and enjoy. For group tours, company and family celebrations individual offers are created. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Goldener Stern

Address: Stadtplatz 15, Gmuend 3950, Austria
Region: Austria > Lower Austria > Gmuend
Price Range: $196 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Romantik Hotel Goldener Stern 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, seekda GmbH, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Romantik Hotel Goldener Stern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Romantik Hotel Goldener Stern staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room on floor 1 or 2”
 of 5 bubbles Baumi743, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“possibly best rooms overlook internal outdoor dining/drinking area”
 of 5 bubbles Gethyn60, 14 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Do not accept attic (floor 3) rooms in summer, or even better go to another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Winters100, 23 Jul 2015 | Read review
“If you're a light sleeper, you may wish to have a room in the back, as the church bells can be heard. They do provide earplugs in all of the rooms however.”
 of 5 bubbles spacesaverbob, 1 Dec 2011 | Read review
“There was three persons in our traveling group and we had two separate rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles georgeg564, 13 Oct 2011 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay