We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Marina Hotel Athens

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Marina Hotel Athens
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

436 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 233: English reviews
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had paid extra for the Superior room; however when I checked in they neither gave me the room or acknowledged this option; stayed in the regular room and still had to pay the higher rate. Room was really small. Hotel is quite close to the Omonia Metro station which is convenient and walking distance to major landmarks.

Helpful?
Thank Serinaa
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Basic, no frills hotel. Carpet frayed in some spots. I hated the fact that I couldn't take a shower without flooding the bathroom. The shower curtain too was stained. Breakfast selection was okay and internet was reliable. Not the most polite of people

Helpful?
Thank Zadoo B
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Marina-Athens hotel is a very centrally located hotel - a little distance off the Omonoia square. We were there for the Athens Marathon and had a transit pass which was valid on Metro, tram, bus etc. So we were able to go around the entire length and breadth of Athens, by reaching Omonoia walking a few metres. Breakfast was served,... More 

Helpful?
Thank TravelEnthu_8
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel was in a very unsafe location, it was very noisy. Breakfast was not good.Bathroom was disgusting- stank of mould. I could see the black mould everywhere. Toilet doesn't flush well. The TV was one of the those ancient ones- thick back. It did not work!

Helpful?
Thank Cammiii

Travellers are raving about these Athens hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Wow...if you are scared of war zone avoid this hotel....but once inside you are pretty safe...just don't open your windows. The glaring eyes from the broken apartments opposite would soon remind you of how fortunate you are . Pay a bit more and stay well away....despite proprietors help...I definitely will not stay here again if you pay me...

Helpful?
Thank Christian I
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
400 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Hotel We found this hotel to be a 3 star hotel well placed, about 10 to 15 minutes walk, to the centre of the ancient sites, such as the acropolis, ancient and roman agoras as well as Hadrian's Gate and The Temple of Zeus. It is an even shorter walk to the Plaka district and the shops, flea market and... More 

Helpful?
Thank BT3rd
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
66 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2016

The hotel is pleasant inside and the staff were helpful. Room was fine although the bathroom was small. As we were on the top floor, the balcony had a nice view to the edge of the city. The main downside is that the neighbourhood is unpleasant for walking around in (and you will notice that the hotels in this area... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan R
ConstantineM914, Manager at Marina Hotel Athens, responded to this review

Dear Alan R, I am happy to read you acknowledge the excellent value for money the Marina hotel has to offer to all its guests, the hospitable staff and comfortable room, as well as the convenience and proximity of our location to all points of interest in down town Athens. I wish we have the honour of accommodating you again... More 

Limassol, Cyprus
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2016

its a regular hotel to stay for bussines and short stay witch you can expect the standars . The rooms was clean in a the breakfast good and poor . The location is not very good due to Pakistan and other similar people live in the area .

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Helpful?
Thank 264christoss
ConstantineM914, Manager at Marina Hotel Athens, responded to this review

Dear 264christoss, I am glad to read you enjoyed the cleanness of your room and the breakfast we offer. I would also like to thank you for the high score you gave to the Marina hotel. The area is indeed a multicultural neighbourhood populated by some Asian and some Greek people and allow me please to say that I do... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2016

It's a terrible location Service at reception is rude and abrupt. They charged for tea 1.5 Euro per cup with one fellow who was in the tour ending up throwing 3 Euros (for his wife) at the reception desk. service at dinner was shocking with one of waiters throwing a tantrum in front of 40 odd tour group. these guys... More 

Helpful?
Thank nickcleg
ConstantineM914, Manager at Marina Hotel Athens, responded to this review

Dear nickcleg, I am really sorry to read your review. I do not quite understand what you mean with "the tea price incident" and everything you mention about food and beverages. I would really appreciate to have more feedback from you in the Marina hotel's email if you also wish to. In any case I am sorry it seems we... More 

Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2016

I recently stayed here for a night on a layover in the city. To be fair, I paid £28 for the night so I wasn't expecting much. The first impression of the hotel is very good and the lobby area has been recently refurbished, the staff were very nice and welcoming. The room I was allocated was clean but very... More 

Helpful?
Thank SimonEds_13
ConstantineM914, Manager at Marina Hotel Athens, responded to this review

Dear SimonEds_13, Thank you for sharing your opinion with the Trip Advisor community. I wish you the best of luck in all your future trips. Kind regards, Mastrandonis Constantine More 

287 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
1:26
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (173)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Deluxe Twin Room (33)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Standard Triple Room (39)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Victory Inn
#20 of 336 in Athens
260 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#22 of 336 in Athens
1,114 reviews
Exarchia
BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel
BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel
#56 of 336 in Athens
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Epidavros Hotel
#118 of 336 in Athens
258 reviews
Omonia
Dorian Inn Hotel Athens
Dorian Inn Hotel Athens
#88 of 336 in Athens
632 reviews
Omonia
Hotel Cosmopolit
Hotel Cosmopolit
#158 of 336 in Athens
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A three-star hotel, newly renovated, located in the center of Athens. 35Km from the airport, 7Km from the Port of Pireas. The nearest metro station is about 100M, and very close to the Plaka area and the Acropolis site. Close to the National Archeological Museum, The National Gardens, and many other central attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Marina Hotel Athens

Address: 13 Voulgari Street, Citycenter, Athens 10437, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Price Range: $41 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marina Hotel Athens 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Marina Hotel Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Marina Hotel
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Athens
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Marina Hotel Athens staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Washington DC, District of Columbia
over a year ago
Fort Smith, AR
Portland, Oregon

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Marina Hotel Athens staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No good view I'm afraid”
 of 5 bubbles zadoob, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose superior rooms if possible”
 of 5 bubbles TravelEnthu_8, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't choose this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles nickcleg, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the rear of the hotel are quieter, but have no view.”
 of 5 bubbles p_draigg2016, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had a deluxe room which was nice.”
 of 5 bubbles karenpleven, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay