We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Hotel Kong Frederik

Save
Share
Vester Voldgade 25, Copenhagen 1552 Denmark
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (391)
360
Panoramas (20)
Room & Suite (224)

About

#101 of 135 hotels in Copenhagen
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Stay at Hotel Kong Frederik in Copenhagen and sleep at the same address as some of the greatest stars – from Victor Borge to Alicia Keys. Our rich history and classic English style are some of the reasons our guests choose us. Find Strøget, the City Hall Square and Tivoli close by. No matter which room you book, it’ll meet your most important need: to be your home away from home. Slip off your shoes and relax with a book on the bed. If you prefer a livelier atmosphere, go downstairs to read the paper in our cozy lounge. At the reception desk, you can get recommendations on attractions, world-class restaurants and cultural must-sees you’ll find right outside our door.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Bicycle rental
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Meeting rooms
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Iron
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Danish

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
293Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
139Attractionswithin 0.5 km
1428Reviews17Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 238
  • 412
  • 364
  • 236
  • 178
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Michael H wrote a review Dec 2021
Vienna, Austria1 contribution
+1
The worst hotel I have been to so far. The rooms are dirty and are not properly cleaned. People are being loud at night so you don’t get any sleep. The breakfast itself is fine but the knifes and forks are dirty as well. I could go on… I do NOT recommend staying at this place. Go someplace else if you want a proper hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Edita Butkeviciute Anissi, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Kong Frederik
Responded 1 week ago
Dear michaelhY1466FW, thank you for the time you took to review your stay with us. We are sorry to read it did not live up to your expectations. We can reassure that we are doing everything to improve cleaning, and we hope you will give us another chance if you stay with us another time in the future. If you would like to further comment your stay, please do not hesitate to contact the reception.
Read more
Edvardt wrote a review Nov 2021
Oslo, Norway1 contribution
We arrived on Thursday evening and tried four rooms. The first had grey silverfish in the bathroom, the second and third were both occupied (we walked into already occupied rooms with key cards from the reception). Hopefully, their visit wasn't too much affected by us walking into their rooms. Finally, we agreed with the receptionist that we would go to a bar and get a drink while the receptionist cleaned another room for us. That room was complained about by another guest checked into before us. She arrived at a room that hadn't been cleaned at all since the last person stayed there. The smell from the bathroom sewer system needed to be dealt with by opening the windows on full. This made the room very cold (this was in November). I urge you to find another hotel. I would almost give it two dots for the effort from the receptionist, she ran far beyond her job description to try and aid us. But this hotel does not deserve two dots, unfortunately. Should not be a four star hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Try another hotel.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Kassaye, Gæsteservice/reception at Hotel Kong Frederik
Responded 14 Dec 2021
Dear Eavs, Thank you very much for giving us feedback regarding your stay! I’m very sorry to hear that you were left unsatisfied with your stay here with us at Hotel Kong Frederik. I assure you that I will be looking carefully into your complaint so that it does not happen again. On the same note, I’m very happy to hear that you were at least happy with the service from our staff. I will share your sentiments so that they continue to give a great standard of service. Med venlig hilsen/Best wishes, Reception HOTEL KONG FREDERIK
Read more
Oyku A wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
Our room was so cold the radiators were broken. I wanted to call the reception to fix it but there were no phones in the room. Smelss bad. No water or anything in the room to drink, we asked from the lobby but there were no waters even for sale!! single room beds are extremely small like a kids bed. we arranged taxi to go the airport the day before our flight. but they didnt manage to arrange one and they advice us to use metro.. Its a very old and low quality hotel, the only good thing is location. Dont be fooled by the pictures.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Kassaye, Gæsteservice/reception at Hotel Kong Frederik
Responded 14 Dec 2021
Dear 2021oykual , Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Kong Frederik! Your comments are most welcomed and will be taken into consideration as we move forward with managing Kong Frederik. If there are any additional comments you feel we should know about, please don’t hesitate to write to me. I hope to see you in Hotel Kong Frederik again in the future. Med venlig hilsen/Best regards, Reception HOTEL KONG FREDERIK
Read more
ChrisHus wrote a review Nov 2021
Oslo, Norway32 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
I am sure this used to be a nice hotel, and the location is quite good. Unfortunately, the hotel lacks from running renovation and appears to be worn-out. The worst part is, however, that the cleaning of the rooms (or at least my room) is terrible, and even after having submitted a complaint with the receptionist, they did not manage to carry out adequate cleaning the next day.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Kassaye, Gæsteservice/reception at Hotel Kong Frederik
Responded 14 Dec 2021
Dear ChrisHus , Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Hotel Kong Frederik. I really do appreciate that you took the time to evaluate us, and I can assure you that we will take your comments regarding the cleaning to heart and focus on improving our routines. It is very clear to me that your room has not been cleaned thoroughly. Please accept my sincere apology. I will bring this to the attention of the manager in charge. Please let me know if you plan to return to Hotel Kong Frederik and I will do my utmost to offer a free upgrade in order to compensate for your unfortunate experience this time. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Kong Frederik! Med venlig hilsen / Best regards, Reception HOTEL KONG FREDERIK
Read more
Tænnaz Æ wrote a review Sep 2021
Norway9 contributions12 helpful votes
I swear it was one my worst experiences. The hotel is extremely dirty ! The first thing you see are the finger prints on the entrance door !!! Then you see finger prints in the reception. Everywhere is covered by dust ! As soon as I entered to my room, I saw a pile of hair the dustbin !!The windoes of the rooms are not openable !!! rooms are extremely dirty, dusty. Cleaning ladies literally do not clean ! A cleanin lady came to clean my room and she did it in a very quick way that she forget her cleaning stuff in my room. Breakfast !!! plates are dirty ! they are not washed properly, cups have coffee stain, One of the workers of the kitchen scratched his head and then put the plates on the benk !!! Disaster !
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Kassaye, Gæsteservice/reception at Hotel Kong Frederik
Responded 14 Dec 2021
Dear Tænnaz Æ, Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Hotel Kong Frederik. I really do appreciate that you took the time to evaluate us, and I can assure you that we will take your comments regarding the cleaning to heart and focus on improving our routines. It is very clear to me that your room has not been cleaned thoroughly. Please accept my sincere apology. I will bring this to the attention of the manager in charge. Please let me know if you plan to return to Hotel Kong Frederik and I will do my utmost to offer a free upgrade in order to compensate for your unfortunate experience this time. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Kong Frederik! Med venlig hilsen / Best regards, Reception HOTEL KONG FREDERIK
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$111 - US$230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
1st hotel kong frederik, kong frederik copenhagen, hotel kong frederik
LOCATION
DenmarkZealandCopenhagenIndre By (Inner City)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
110
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Kong Frederik
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Kong Frederik?
Nearby attractions include Tivoli Gardens (0.4 km), SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Copenhagen (0.2 km), and Clockedin Escape Room (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Kong Frederik?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, breakfast buffet, and meeting rooms.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Kong Frederik?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Kong Frederik?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Krebsegaarden, Klokken København, and The Midwestern Diner.
Is Hotel Kong Frederik located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Copenhagen.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Kong Frederik?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Kong Frederik offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Kong Frederik?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Danish.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Kong Frederik?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Our Saviour's Church (1.7 km), Rosenborg Castle (1.1 km), and Christiansborg Slot (0.6 km).