We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

First Hotel Kong Frederik

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
First Hotel Kong Frederik
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

835 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for First Hotel Kong Frederik
See the most recent reviews
Showing 591: English reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2015 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for four nights, and I have several complaints which in conclusion means I do not recommend to stay here and wouldnt stay here again: - the pictures and the reality is to far appart than what you'd expect from a hotel in this price range. - the hotel is old, which means no air con...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gominken
GM_FHKF, General Manager at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear Gominken I would like to thank you for staying at First Hotel Kong Frederik during your recent visit to Copenhagen. I really value both your feedback and the time taken to review your stay. I am very dissapointed that you did not liked our services and facilities, and for this I do apologize and we will try harder in...

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 16 November 2015

We did not get the rooms we had payed for. Dirty rooms! The hotel has no aircondition and the air was bad. The reception staff was rude except for one lady. Was there for 26 years ago - then it was a good hotel, but not any longer.

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cecilie L
GM_FHKF, Guest Relations Manager at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear Cecilie L, First of all - thank you for staying at First Hotel Kong Frederik and be back after 26 years and while visiting your Graduation Day at CBS. I am very sorry that you did not had an pleasant experience and you feedback is much appreciated. The hotel does not provide air condition and I am sorry if...

Reykjanes, Iceland
Reviewed 9 November 2015

Not very large hotel in Copenhagen Center, close by Radhuspladsen. The location is good considering shopping and restaurants, but a bit close to the big square as we heard the noise from people having fun way in to the night. This hotel is in every way the average to good. Old as most hotels in Copenhagen Center, the staff was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Einar S
Anne G, Front Office Manager at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear Afturogfram We appreciate the feedback after your recent visit to First Hotel Kong Frederik. I am glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope to welcome you back soon. Best Regards Anne Gilbert Front Office Manager

Reviewed 9 November 2015

An average hotel in a good location of Copenhagen. Charming, personal rooms in an old fashion style. A very small bathroom in the first room on floor one. The smell of mould was overwhelming and the noice from the street very loud. No temperature control made the room very warm. For the second night I changed the room to floor...

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sparkling4U
Anne G, Front Office Manager at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear Sparkling4U Thank you for taking the time to place a review after your recent visit to our Hotel. We are pleased to learn you were warmly welcomed by our staff. We appreciate your comments on the areas you have highlighted and we will certainly look into them for future improvement of our service experience. Best Regards Anne Gilbert Front...

Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewed 6 November 2015

Very small rooms and in a very bad shape. It´s really need a lot of renovation. Noisy and a very low standard. Beaten furniture and equipment. Really not valuable. Nothing to recommend, never this hotel again.

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank alexandra498
Anne G, Front Office Manager at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear alexandra498 Thank you for staying at First Hotel Kong Frederik. Thank you for your review! We appreciate the feedback-we are always trying to find ways to improve our services for our guests. Best Regards Anne Gilbert Front Office Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 November 2015

It is obvious that this was once a beautiful hotel and it is so sad to see it being managed so poorly. Rooms very poorly maintained, overheated, unfriendly staff etc etc. Such a disappointment when you arrive at 8pm at night with a booking to find your room has not been properly serviced, bins not emptied, no sign of a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holiday B
Anne G, Front Office Manager at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear Holiday B Thank you for your review and for staying at First Hotel Kong Frederik. I would like to thank you for taking the time to write us your feedback. As we strive to exceed every guest’s expectation, we take all guest feedback very seriously. We regretfully learn that we could not reach our goal in your case. I...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2015 via mobile

A very central hotel. Within minutes walk of the train station , restaurants and shopping street. Lovely hotel, very old world which was amazing. We stayed in a lovely clean and Spacious room. After reading a few reviews was a little nervous about our stay but I cannot complain about a thing. Really enjoyed our stay in Copenhagen.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Anne G, Front Office Manager at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear Member, Thank you for your review Many thanks for your review and we are happy that our team members delivered the Service Experience Kong Frederik is renowned for. I am glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope to welcome you back soon. Best Regards Anne Gilbert Front Office Manager

Fredrikstad, Norway
Reviewed 2 November 2015

The hotel lies very centrally located, just north of the city hall ("Rådhusplassen") and near the end of the Strøget pedestrian shopping street. Our booking made two months prior with Booking.com had been lost by the hotel and we spent a good 30 minutes trying to check in, including having to forward them the confirmation e-mail in order to prove...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cicignon
Anne G, Receptionschef at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear Cicignon Thank you for your review. Our hotel is located in two historical buildings with rooms facing the street, the back yard and the inner yard – please visit our webpage: www.firsthotels.dk/kongfrederik for pictures and more details on room types. We are pleased to learn you enjoyed our Scandinavian designed Jensen Beds. The hotel can help with 4 different...

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 2 November 2015

nice hotel in walking distance to the centre, even for children nice, only the rooms with windows to den patio were very hot and very loud especially in the evenings and the mornings. we didn't sleep very well. After changing rooms it was brilliant.

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 114brittav
GM_FHKF, General Manager at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear 114brittav We appreciate that you have taken you rtime to review your stay, as well as the pleasure of communicating with you directly after your stay. I agree that you we have a splendid location and as well is easy to access when you have child with you. I am sorry you did not had a great experience in...

Karlshamn, Sweden
Reviewed 27 October 2015

An amazing luxury hotel in the heart of Copenhagen. An amazing location, view, luxury design. A very nice, cosy,clean double room with a very comfortable bed. My favourite hotel in Copenhagen so far. I"ll come back to this hotel and definitely can recommend it.

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Audre M
Anne G, Front Office Manager at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear Audre M We are truly thankful for your wonderful praise I am glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope to welcome you back soon Best Regards Anne Gilbert Front Office Manager

185 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (144)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (90)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
First Hotel Twentyseven
First Hotel Twentyseven
#50 of 114 in Copenhagen
1,973 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 114 in Copenhagen
1,923 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
The Square Copenhagen
The Square Copenhagen
#34 of 114 in Copenhagen
2,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#8 of 114 in Copenhagen
1,216 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#31 of 114 in Copenhagen
2,018 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#4 of 114 in Copenhagen
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Indre By (Inner City)

Neighbourhood Profile
Indre By (Inner City)
This is the heart of old town Copenhagen, with its blend of charming old buildings and bold new architecture, broad avenues and tiny streets as well as picturesque canals and a modern harbor. The inner city is home to the Royal Danish Theatre, which consists of three buildings, two of which are new and situated on the harbor front. The streets, squares and venues of the inner city and its surrounding neighborhoods, are alive all year round with everything from jazz festivals to outdoor ice skating rinks and parachuting at the lakes right in the center of the city. This compact area boasts beautiful old castles, tranquil parks, and bustling squares where you can always find a bench to stretch out your legs whenever you need a break.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Charming townhouse hotel located in City Center of Copenhagen. The Town Hall Square, Tivoli Gardens, Stroeget and the main train station is located within five minutes walk. ... more   less 

Additional Information about First Hotel Kong Frederik

Address: Vester Voldgade 25, Copenhagen 1552, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Price Range: $200 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Kong Frederik 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your First Hotel Kong Frederik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Kong Frederik
Kong Frederik Copenhagen
Hotel Kong Frederik
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from First Hotel Kong Frederik staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from First Hotel Kong Frederik staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room facing the back streets or the court yard”
 of 5 bubbles MartinFJ71, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the top floor, rear and/or one end of the building to minimise room noise.”
  • Bath of strange dimensions.
 of 5 bubbles AlisonC450, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for inner rooms”
 of 5 bubbles belviking, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Second floor was ideal for us.”
 of 5 bubbles bethanyvictoria94, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Prefer higher floors to keep distance to traffic and night clubs.”
 of 5 bubbles Wings24, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5