We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
27/08/2017 28/08/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Scandic Hotel Opalen

    Engelbrektsgatan 73, Gothenburg 402 23, Sweden
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    27/08/2017 28/08/2017
    Lock in the lowest price from our partners
    US$130US$158
    View Deal
    Traveller (193)
    Room & Suite (104)
    Dining (6)
    Overview
    • Excellent21%
    • Very good39%
    • Average25%
    • Poor10%
    • Terrible5%
    Travellers talk about
    “economy room” (4 reviews)
    “nice hotel” (17 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Breakfast Buffet
    Hot Tub
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Restaurant
    Room Service
    Suites
    Bar/Lounge
    Fitness centre
    Multilingual Staff
    Pets Allowed
    Spa
    Wheelchair Access
    Business Centre
    Dry Cleaning
    4.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Offers from Scandic Hotel Opalen
    Deals (40)
    27 Aug28 Aug
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Economy Plus
      US$158US$130
      View Deal
    • Economy Room, 1 Queen Bed
      US$158US$129
      View Deal
    • Economy Room, 1 Queen Bed
      US$133
      View Deal
    More deals for this hotel
    • Economy Room, 1 Queen Bed
      US$129
      View Deal
    • Economy Plus
      US$130
      View Deal
    • Economy Room, 1 Queen Bed
      US$133
      View Deal
    • Economy Room, 1 Queen Bed
      US$133
      View Deal
    • Economy Room, 1 Queen Bed
      US$133
      View Deal
    • Economy Room, 1 Queen Bed
      US$134
      View Deal
    • Economy Room, 1 Queen Bed (Free breakfast, Free WiFi)
      US$134
      View Deal
    • Queen Room
      US$134
      View Deal
    • Economy Room, 1 Queen Bed
      US$134
      View Deal
    • Double Or Twin Economy
      US$139
      View Deal
    Collapse room deals
    View more room deals
    Showing room deals 1 - of 40
    First Hotel G
    1,336 reviews
    #17 of 67 hotels in Gothenburg
     
    Upper House
    795 reviews
    #1 of 67 hotels in Gothenburg
     
    Avalon Hotel
    1,054 reviews
    #3 of 67 hotels in Gothenburg
     
    ProfilHotels Hotel Opera
    942 reviews
    #35 of 67 hotels in Gothenburg
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (1,085)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • More languages
    There are newer reviews for Scandic Hotel Opalen
    See the most recent reviews

    161 - 165 of 303 reviews

    Reviewed 12 July 2015

    Quite ordinary hotel room. Nothing to write home about. The size was acceptable and the bed was wide enough. Not the narrow 90 cm you might find in many hotel rooms, especially in older hotels. This one was at least 120 cm. that's the good...More

    Thank Kax2
    Response from OpalenGuestRelations, Chef at Scandic Hotel OpalenResponded 13 July 2015

    Hi Kax2, thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor and thank you for all the good feedback. You have some really good inputs that we will discuss in our upcoming developmentplan. I wish a gerat summer. Best regards Anna

    Reviewed 10 July 2015 via mobile

    We stayed for two nights in slightly upgraded rooms! Clean and spacious rooms on the 13th floor. The staff is very helpful and nice. Sadly we didn't get our room cleaned and that was unexpected. If we had known this would have not been an...More

    Thank Maryanne Ø
    Response from OpalenGuestRelations, Chef at Scandic Hotel OpalenResponded 13 July 2015

    Hi Maryanne Ø, thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. I´m really happy to hear that you liked the location, room and friendly staff. I´m however a bit surprised of the fact that you didn´t get your room cleaned, in...More

    Reviewed 9 July 2015

    The Location of the hotel is good. Many restaurants and bars you can reach in walking distance. The room was small but clean. The wardrobe is so small that you can hardly get your clothes in. The bath is old but again is was clean....More

    Thank FrnkS
    Response from OpalenGuestRelations, Chef at Scandic Hotel OpalenResponded 13 July 2015

    Hi FrnkS, thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.I´m happy to hear that the location and cleanliness was at your satisfaction. Unfortunately during summertime our breakfast area is not as cosy as usual since we have a larger amount of...More

    Reviewed 2 July 2015

    An average Scandic hotel. Good regarding the distance to for example Liseberg, but the facilities and services are just average. The restaurant is a disappointment - limited menu (in late June) and nothing special for persons with food allergies.More

    1  Thank HK_ST09
    Response from OpalenGuestRelations, Chef at Scandic Hotel OpalenResponded 5 July 2015

    Hi hkim69, thank you for giving us a review on Tripadvisor and thank you for the description of our position in Gothenburg. I´m sorry that we didn´t meet your expectations in our restaurant, we actually work a lot with intolerances and allergens so it´s really...More

    Reviewed 30 June 2015 via mobile

    Just average hotel, nothing special, but about right for short stay. Breakfast good, but nothing fancy, you will not leave hungry nor inspired. Room clean, neat, simple, quite small. Sound proofing is not what you could say. So prepare for waking up when your neighbours...More

    Thank krakar0l
    Response from OpalenGuestRelations, Chef at Scandic Hotel OpalenResponded 1 July 2015

    Hi krakar0l, Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on Tripadvisor. Nice to hear that you had a good start at our breakfastbuffet and that the rooms held a good standard. I´m sorry that you did have to wake up when...More

    First Hotel G
    1,336 reviews
    #17 of 67 hotels in Gothenburg
     
    Upper House
    795 reviews
    #1 of 67 hotels in Gothenburg
     
    Avalon Hotel
    1,054 reviews
    #3 of 67 hotels in Gothenburg
     
    ProfilHotels Hotel Opera
    942 reviews
    #35 of 67 hotels in Gothenburg
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    GreenLeadersBronze level
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Restaurant
    • Room Service
    • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Spa
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Room Service
    • Business Centre with Internet Access
    • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
    • Dry Cleaning
    • Meeting Rooms
    • Laundry Service
    • Banquet Room
    • Multilingual Staff
    • Conference Facilities
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Spa
    • Hot Tub
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$114 - US$362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Hotel Style
    • #6 Green Hotel in Gothenburg
    • #26 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
    • #28 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
    • Room types
    • Suites ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 353
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Scandic Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Hotel Opalen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • Sweden >
    • West Coast >
    • Vastra Gotaland County >
    • Gothenburg
    • Also Known As
    • Scandic Hotel Gothenburg
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (193)
    Room & Suite (104)
    Dining (6)
    Pool & Beach (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (112)
    Bathroom (14)
    Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
    Nearby
    Upper House
    795 reviews
    .54 km away
     
    First Hotel G
    1,336 reviews
    1.09 km away
     
    ProfilHotels Hotel Opera
    942 reviews
    1.08 km away
     
    Avalon Hotel
    1,054 reviews
    1.02 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Humm Bar & Bistro
    113 reviews
    .38 km away
    Mikado Japanese Teppanyaki Restaurant & Bar
    89 reviews
    .18 km away
    Barrique Wine Bar
    156 reviews
    .30 km away
    Fratelli Gridelli
    69 reviews
    .30 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Horticultural Gardens (Tradgardsforeningen)
    748 reviews
    .70 km away
    Universeum
    1,712 reviews
    .72 km away
    Museum of Fine Art (Goteborgs Konstmuseum)
    429 reviews
    .62 km away
    Avenyn
    255 reviews
    .66 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    mipster999
    30 March 2015|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from Opalen S | Property representative |
    Hi, We have a garage under the hotel. It cost 115SEK/day 245SEK/night and 185SEK/night on the weekends. There is also alot of parking places outside the hotel. Welcome!
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Don't choose the smallest rooms."
    Read review
    "919: great view and good space for two, or even 4 (it have a sofa bed)."
    Read review
    "avoid the small rooms for 2 persons. really small..."
    Read review
    "Room location is ok anyeay"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing