We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Scandic Rubinen

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Scandic Rubinen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

844 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Scandic Rubinen
See the most recent reviews
Showing 249: English reviews
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewed 17 March 2015

This is an tricky hotel. Yes it will trick you by surroundings / location and give you a small, dirty, equipmentless, bad room for higher price! Believe me you can find another hotel at down side of street. This hotel is not on really good location as you think. Don't take this location bait! Rooms are very very small. They...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Şeref K
Carin V, Front Office Manager at Scandic Rubinen, responded to this review

Dear Şeref K, Thank you for your feed back! It is terrible for us to hear this and we will contant you privately so that we can sort this out in the best possible way! Wish you a good day and I really hope we will be able of welcoming you back to Gothenburg and Rubinen! Best regards, Carin V...

Reviewed 15 March 2015

I have spent about 70 nights per year at hotels since 1982. Most of those nights are spent at Scandic Hotels in Sweden, Denmark and Norway. One of the benefits of Scanidc is that you (almost) always know what to expect from the hotel. Sometimes you get something extra and sometimes you get disappointed. Staying at Scandic Rubinen always give...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lennart L
Carin V, Front Office Manager at Scandic Rubinen, responded to this review

Dear Lennart L, Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are so glad to hear all those lovely words and we work really hard to give our guests a lovely stay! It is really nice to hear that you have experienced what we try to accomplish! :) Have a great day and thank you again! :) Best regards,...

Penn Valley, California
Reviewed 31 January 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for 10 days. The room was fine, nice breakfast buffet, tye bar restaurant had good food and the "Dagens lunch" was very good value for the money. Central location. Friendly staff. All in all a good experience. Avoid booking their economy double. Had it for the first night and it's basically standing room only. Upgraded to one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bpers2003
Carin V, Front Office Manager at Scandic Rubinen, responded to this review

Dear Bpers2003, Thank you for your review! We really appreciate it! Have a lovely day and welcome back to us whenever you have an opportunity to visit Gothenburg! :) Best regards, Carin V Front Office Manager

Göteborg
Reviewed 6 January 2015

Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lovisa T
Carin V, Front Office Manager at Scandic Rubinen, responded to this review

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2014

Great location and very funky hotel. However is still a Scandics so the average room has one small towel per person and shampoo and soap in dispensers on the wall. It's also a place with the shower bathrooms ie have a shower and soak the place! But under floor heating dries it up for your next visit! Quick check in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MetalWarrior
Carin V, Front Office Manager at Scandic Rubinen, responded to this review

Dear MetalWarrior, Thank you for your nice review! We read all feed back and we are always trying to get better! I hope you will visit us again next time you are in Gothenburg! Have a lovely christmas and a happy new 2015! :) Best regards, Carin V Front Office Manager

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2014 via mobile

Good location for Art Galleries, Museums and good choice of restaurants nearby. No shortage of great coffee shops either and a 10 minute walk gets you down to the centre and some great shopping and even more coffee shops. The hotel bar offers some good dining options from the"build your own" meal to evening specials of a more traditional nature....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LMM763
Carin V, Front Office Manager at Scandic Rubinen, responded to this review

Dear LMM763, Thank you for your review from your stay. I am really glad to hear that you enjoyed Rubinen and Gothenburg. Please let us know next time you plan to visit Gothenburg! Best regards, Carin V Front Office Manager

Reviewed 3 December 2014 via mobile

The new renovation of the breakfast room on the first floor is super. The warm breakfast is very welcome in the cold months. One of my favorite reasonably priced hotels in Gothenburg. Good access to the airport shuttle bus stop, but a bit of a walk to the City centre. Overall, an enjoyable stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dune S
Carin V, Front Office Manager at Scandic Rubinen, responded to this review

Dear Dune S, Thank you so much for your nice review!! I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again! :) Best regards, Carin V Front Office Manager

Washington, Virginia
Reviewed 2 December 2014

Enjoyed my visit to Gothenburg, a nice city with very few tourists, great shopping and good food. hotel is centrally located in the center of the city. Easy to walk to Christmas market in Liseberg, a little further to the train station but still very doable, even with luggage. Hotel rooms were a bit small and our bed was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Fool_2011
Carin V, Front Office Manager at Scandic Rubinen, responded to this review

Dear Traveling_Fool_2011, Thank you for your nice review regarding your stay! We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us at Rubinen and also enjoyed Gothenburg! Have a great day and thak you again! :) Best regards, Carin V Front Office Manager

Reviewed 25 November 2014

Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hanna M
Carin V, Front Office Manager at Scandic Rubinen, responded to this review

Reviewed 21 November 2014

Hotel clean, fitness centre good, overall rate and price/quality good. At the check-out the big minus for the non acceprtance of my Mastercad and Visa. No reasonable explaination was provided. Luckily I had also an AMEX. On their site I couldn't find any mail address to forward my complain.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Davide P
Carin V, Front Office Manager at Scandic Rubinen, responded to this review

Dear Davide P, Thank you for your nice review! I am very confused to hear about your Visa/Mastercard since we do accept all types of credit cards. There must have been some problem with the connection to the bank or something like that. Unfortunately our systems does not say the specific reason why it does not work sometimes and therefor...

282 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (184)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (100)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (98)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.1 km away
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
#22 of 68 in Gothenburg
801 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Bellora
Hotel Bellora
#11 of 68 in Gothenburg
1,157 reviews
0.5 km away
Scandic Hotel Opalen
Scandic Hotel Opalen
#41 of 68 in Gothenburg
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#21 of 68 in Gothenburg
214 reviews
0.9 km away
Scandic Crown
Scandic Crown
#36 of 68 in Gothenburg
869 reviews
1.0 km away
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
#9 of 68 in Gothenburg
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Scandic Rubinen is located on Avenyn in central Gothenburg, a stone's throw from the famous bronze sculpture of Poseidon at Gotaplatsen and Kungsportsplatsen. Scandic Rubinen's central location in Gothenburg makes the hotel an ideal place for those who want to be close to Gothenburg's culture, shopping and city life. From our hotel you're also within a walking distance from many of Gothenburg's most popular attractions such as Liseberg amusement park, Universeum Science Centre and the Rohsska Museum. After expansion and renovation in spring 2014, Rubinen has a new design by DOOS architects. The interior has an urban feel and a homely elegance with a mix of colours, shape and details. Facility Our hotel is a natural meeting place in Gothenburg and we offer something to suit all tastes. Ruby Bar is Scandic Rubinen's very own living room and is open day and night. Both hotel guests and Gothenburg locals dine here, and our bar terrace is a great place to sit and watch the city entertainment. Our very own Roof Top bar is located on the 7th floor, with views over the rooftops of Gothenburg and fashionable Avenyn. When you stay with us, you can keep up your workouts in our gym or unwind in our relaxation suite with sauna. Our completely new conference and events floor offers facilities for 2-180 people, and events can be customised for up to 300 people all on one floor. Next to our meeting facilities, there's also an inviting terrace where both fresh air and a drink can be enjoyed by private parties. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Scandic Rubinen

Address: Kungsportsavenyn 24, Gothenburg 400 14, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Price Range: $140 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Rubinen 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Scandic Rubinen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Rubinen Gothenburg
Scandic Rubinen Hotel Gothenburg
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#20 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#24 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Scandic Rubinen staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Scandic Rubinen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms towards inner court are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles AnnaMOberg, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“room 6 is where the gym is”
 of 5 bubbles katebS7030QZ, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms facing the Avenyn (main street side), it gets noisy in the evening”
 of 5 bubbles Craig1961_01, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If noise bothers you, find a room not facing the main street.”
 of 5 bubbles 14rond, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“If you're a light sleeper, request a room away from the main street as the trams could be intrusive.”
 of 5 bubbles U71VKmartina, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5