We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Scandic Backadal

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Scandic Backadal
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

413 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Scandic Backadal
See the most recent reviews
Showing 115: English reviews
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank U1067YTmichaelr
Hanna C, Hotel Manager at Scandic Backadal, responded to this review

Davos, Switzerland
Reviewed 11 August 2016

The hotel was conveniently located just outside of the city. The Gruen express bus stop was just a few minute walk away. Tickets could be purchased on the bus with a credit card costing 28 SKr (good for 1.5 hrs on the city transportation network). The hotel seemed to be completely full when we were there. This was mainly noticed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mtnlife2
Hanna C, Hotell Manager at Scandic Backadal, responded to this review

Thank you! mtnlife2 What a pleasure to read that you had a good stay with us. We are so happy for all the guests who visited us this summer and has been on sightseen in Gothenburg. During breakfast hour there is extra heavy load on elevators and many people eat their breakfast at the same time and we are really...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

This is cheap hotel by a motorway. I get that. But there's no AC so you have to choose between stifling heat and unbearable noise. The restaurant is poor. The waiter threw the menus at us and left. I had to go and ask about a children's menu and the buffet. We decided to order a la carte as the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine X
Hanna C, Housekeeping manager at Scandic Backadal, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback from your stay with us. I´m sorry to hear that your experience here was not as good as we had hoped. Hope you have a nice summer and yet choose to come back to us so that we can give you a better experience. Please do not hesitate to contact...

Porsgrunn, Telemark, Norway
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Dropped in late without a booking, silly price. No aircon, rain drumming on some metal outside the window. No amenities, stupid prices in the restaurant for fast-food. Hardly any selection in the "bar", or was that the reception? Not one cognac or even brandy. Never, ever again a Scandic hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Per B
Viborg, Denmark
Reviewed 26 July 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mettetangec
Hanna C, Hotel Manager at Scandic Backadal, responded to this review

Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Room: No air conditioning - room was like an oven. Their method to cool it was a fan and a bucket of ice. No individual room air conditioning either. Basically the room was uninhabitable - like sleeping in a sauna. Room was very small as well - for 2 adults and a 6 year old. Restaurant: Fillet steak - asked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jon L
Hanna C, Hotel Manager at Scandic Backadal, responded to this review

Hello Jon L Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback from your stay with us. What sad to read that your experience was not as you expected and not as good as we had hoped. For us it is important with feedback from our guests that helps us in our continued efforts to improve. Thanks! Sincerely Hanna

Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewed 18 July 2016

The hotel located besides the highway is focused on big groups only staying for 1 or 2 nights. The management prefers to make a lot of profit of the mass tourism instead of taking care for their other guests. Don't book this hotel if you need any privacy or rest from spring till wintertime. The breakfast is OK but it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank martinandsusanne42
Hanna C, Hotelchef at Scandic Backadal, responded to this review
Google Translation

Hej martinandsusanne42 Vad tråkigt att läsa att ni inte har haft det bra hos oss. Till vårat hotell är alla...

Karlstad, Sweden
Reviewed 20 June 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank p0did0
Hanna C, Hotel Manager at Scandic Backadal, responded to this review

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 15 June 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annekjenslis
Hanna C, Hotel Manager at Scandic Backadal, responded to this review

Israel
Reviewed 26 May 2016

I needed to stay one night near the Gothenburg airport on a Sunday. I got to the hotel at about 18:00 on a Sunday, the hotel doesn't have a restaurant just some snacks and sandwiches. It is located on a highway but close to mothing but a gas station. The rooms are specious, clean. I didn’t have breakfast so can’t...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mnaor
Hanna C, Hotel Manager at Scandic Backadal, responded to this review

Hello mnaor Thanks for your reviue here on TripAdvisor. Great to hear that you like our rooms and our kindness at the reception. Unfortunately, our restaurant is not open on Sundays , except during July. We hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back on another occasion. Sincerely Hanna Carlgren Hotel Manager

63 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
2.1 km away
Quality Hotel Winn
Quality Hotel Winn
#25 of 68 in Gothenburg
456 reviews
6.6 km away
Quality Hotel Panorama
Quality Hotel Panorama
#38 of 68 in Gothenburg
778 reviews
10.7 km away
Scandic Molndal
Scandic Molndal
#37 of 68 in Gothenburg
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Spar Hotel Garda
Spar Hotel Garda
#19 of 68 in Gothenburg
470 reviews
7.2 km away
Spar Hotel Majorna
Spar Hotel Majorna
#17 of 68 in Gothenburg
487 reviews
4.9 km away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#20 of 68 in Gothenburg
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Seven-story Hotel on the island of Hisingen, 5 km north of town center via Highway E6. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Scandic Backadal

Address: Backebolsvagen | Hisings Backa, Gothenburg 422 53, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Price Range: $130 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Backadal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Scandic Backadal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Backadal Gothenburg
Scandic Backadal Hotel Gothenburg
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Scandic Backadal staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Scandic Backadal staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask fi=or a room on the other side to the motorway”
 of 5 bubbles Plopitucus, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The even numbered rooms face the highway and are quite noisy when the window is open. We had to leave the window open for air circulation.”
 of 5 bubbles mtnlife2, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Can't give a tip because all room seems to be very standard”
 of 5 bubbles martinandsusanne42, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the backside are more quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Misssophie1234, 10 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Its more like a business hotel”
 of 5 bubbles shib2000, 11 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay