We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Scandic Backadal

Backebolsvagen | Hisings Backa, Gothenburg 422 53, Sweden
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Goteborg Opera (Goteborgsoperan)
    4.5 km
  • 3 star hotel
  • Free Parking
Reviewed 26 September 2016
All Around Excellent
My husband and I stayed here for two nights and were exceedingly... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

440 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Scandic Backadal
See the most recent reviews
Showing 121: English reviews
Ashburn, Virginia
Reviewed 26 September 2016

My husband and I stayed here for two nights and were exceedingly pleased. I was a little skeptical when we first arrived because the location is a little removed from the city center and right off of a highway but we were quickly put at ease by the receptionist, Jonathan. He was extremely helpful and patient with us while checking-in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JenniferH20
Hanna C, Hotel Manager at Scandic Backadal, responded to this review

Thank you! JenniferH20 Fantastic to read your summary of a stay with us and the visit to Gothenburg. I should greet Jonathan from you and hope that you will be able to visit us and Gothenburg sometime in the future. Thanks! Sincerely Hanna

Reviewed 30 August 2016

A very nice choice if you are staying in Gotebörb. Excellent breakfast and dinner (parking as well) included in what is a reasonable price. The room was big and everything was great except maybe the towels which weren't so clean. Would definitely recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Panagiotis S
Hanna C, Hotel Manager at Scandic Backadal, responded to this review

Than you! Panagiotis S So nice to read that you really appreciated stying with us and that you thougt our hotel was value for money and that you recommend us to others. So greatfull for this. Hope you have a nice day and welcome back to us! Sincerely Hanna Carlgren

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 29 August 2016

It is a fine hotel but we found it very strange that the restaurant is closed on Sundays. It is on a motorway so you don't have proper restaurants around. There is a McDonalds, Subway and a Swedish hamburger chain. When we asked about the address of another Scandic at Goteborg, the receptionists told us to google it. This is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank B D
Hanna C, Hotel Manager at Scandic Backadal, responded to this review

Hello B D Thank you for taking the time to write to us here on tripadvisor. It is true that we have the restaurant closed on Sundays, but there are lighter dishes like salads, sandwiches for purchase in our shop. Sorry that we could not deliver the service we usually do and help with the addresses of our other Scandic....

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

I liked the hotel. It was clean and tasteful. We got two double occupancy rooms. Both rooms came with two tiny beds plus two in the wall fold out bunk beds. Beds were small but very comfy. Small indoor pool and jacuzzi were a plus. Staff was always very helpful. We had most our breakfasts in the dining room. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank krazykatt
Hanna C, Hotel Manager at Scandic Backadal, responded to this review

Hello krazykatt So nice to here that you had a lovely stay with us here at the Scandic Backadal. That you really enjoyed our swimming pool, restaurant and that all staff was helpfull. The best grade you can get is people that recommend you. So thank you so much we really hope to see you soon again! Sincerely Hanna Carlgren...

Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

An average hotel outside of city centre. Rooms ok but worn. Breakfast not up to the usual Scandic standard. Has swimming pool and gym. OK , but expensive commute to city centre for families. Free parking in garages.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oKAJo
Hanna C, Hotel Manager at Scandic Backadal, responded to this review

Hello oKAJo Thank you for writing a review about your stay at our hotel. It is important for us to get feedback from our guests. It is in this way we can develop and constantly strive to deliver a quality service and great experience. Sincerely Hanna Carlgren

Godmanchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2016

I read some other reports and was a little apprehensive as to the quality (as we booked a couple of months ago) but our experience was nothing like the poor reports. it is true to say that the hotel is next to the motorway but we heard nothing during the night. The room was adequate for one or two nights....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Plopitucus
Hanna C, Hotel Manager at Scandic Backadal, responded to this review

Hello Plopitucus Thank you so much for your nice review, I´m very happy to read that we exceeded your expectations and that you had good stay with us. We hope we get to see you with us again the next time you visit Gothenburg. Welcome back to us! Sincerely Hanna Carlgren Hotel Manager

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank U1067YTmichaelr
Hanna C, Hotel Manager at Scandic Backadal, responded to this review

Davos, Switzerland
Reviewed 11 August 2016

The hotel was conveniently located just outside of the city. The Gruen express bus stop was just a few minute walk away. Tickets could be purchased on the bus with a credit card costing 28 SKr (good for 1.5 hrs on the city transportation network). The hotel seemed to be completely full when we were there. This was mainly noticed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mtnlife2
Hanna C, Hotell Manager at Scandic Backadal, responded to this review

Thank you! mtnlife2 What a pleasure to read that you had a good stay with us. We are so happy for all the guests who visited us this summer and has been on sightseen in Gothenburg. During breakfast hour there is extra heavy load on elevators and many people eat their breakfast at the same time and we are really...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

This is cheap hotel by a motorway. I get that. But there's no AC so you have to choose between stifling heat and unbearable noise. The restaurant is poor. The waiter threw the menus at us and left. I had to go and ask about a children's menu and the buffet. We decided to order a la carte as the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine X
Hanna C, Housekeeping manager at Scandic Backadal, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback from your stay with us. I´m sorry to hear that your experience here was not as good as we had hoped. Hope you have a nice summer and yet choose to come back to us so that we can give you a better experience. Please do not hesitate to contact...

Porsgrunn, Telemark, Norway
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Dropped in late without a booking, silly price. No aircon, rain drumming on some metal outside the window. No amenities, stupid prices in the restaurant for fast-food. Hardly any selection in the "bar", or was that the reception? Not one cognac or even brandy. Never, ever again a Scandic hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Per B

63 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
6.6 km away
Quality Hotel Panorama
Quality Hotel Panorama
#38 of 68 in Gothenburg
813 reviews
2.1 km away
Quality Hotel Winn
Quality Hotel Winn
#23 of 68 in Gothenburg
481 reviews
7.0 km away
Quality Hotel 11
Quality Hotel 11
#12 of 68 in Gothenburg
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
Scandic Molndal
Scandic Molndal
#37 of 68 in Gothenburg
411 reviews
5.4 km away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
4.9 km away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#22 of 68 in Gothenburg
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Seven-story Hotel on the island of Hisingen, 5 km north of town center via Highway E6. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Scandic Backadal

Address: Backebolsvagen | Hisings Backa, Gothenburg 422 53, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Price Range: $144 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Backadal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Scandic Backadal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Backadal Gothenburg
Scandic Backadal Hotel Gothenburg
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Scandic Backadal staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Scandic Backadal staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask fi=or a room on the other side to the motorway”
 of 5 bubbles Plopitucus, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The even numbered rooms face the highway and are quite noisy when the window is open. We had to leave the window open for air circulation.”
 of 5 bubbles mtnlife2, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Can't give a tip because all room seems to be very standard”
 of 5 bubbles martinandsusanne42, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the backside are more quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Misssophie1234, 10 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Its more like a business hotel”
 of 5 bubbles shib2000, 11 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5