We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Scandic Kajanus

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Scandic Kajanus
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

179 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 72: English reviews
Start your review of Scandic Kajanus
 Click to rate
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Well, when you get to this hotel, you recognize immediately that the "Bright future is the past"... Last time I was here, I got really an old, worn-out room. This time the room was again old, but not that worn-out. It is clear that it is difficult to justify a refurbishment to the hotel. You just need to accept the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traveller007Finland
Turku, Finland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My weirdest ever experience in a Scandic hotel! They had let a trainee in the reception and she clearly was not ready for the job - not even ready to learn in front of customers yet. Not that she seemed nervous, just plain indifferent. Here are a few things she missed / forgot / ignored: smiling, taking eye contact, greeting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liiperi
Oulu, Finland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank markol266
ScaKaj, Manager at Scandic Kajanus, responded to this review

Oulunsalo, Finland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

To have a good room you need to take the superior extra. We hade the superior, but there were no boilingpot or bathrobes. And the sauna, its so small. So take the standard or the superior extra. Hotel is old, but they have been renovated it, still our room was renovated but the bath was not. Food is very very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heidijrintamaki
ScaKaj, Manager at Scandic Kajanus, responded to this review

Dear heidijrintamaki, Thank you for your stay at Scandic Kajanus and also about the review you have left behind. Nice to hear that you have liked our restaurant services and Kaukavesi Spa. Unfortunately the boiling pot and bathrobes only belongs to Superior Extra room’s equipment’s, as you already said. We also have few rooms where you are able to find...

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 12 March 2017

This hotel is having a very friendly and helpfull staff. Even if at least part of the rooms are outdated, they are clean. There is a possibility visit a swimming pool/ spa in the next building. In winter there are skiing tracks access just outside of the hotel.

Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne1971
ScaKaj, Manager at Scandic Kajanus, responded to this review

Dear Anne1971, Thank you for visiting us here at the Kajaani and also about the review you have written. Nice to hear that your staying with us have been successful. Even tough you felt that some of the rooms might be outdated by the decoration of them. We also have recently renovated rooms. For example every room from Superior and...

Jyväskylä
Reviewed 5 March 2017

We picked this hotel for the possibility to access the swimming hall via indoor corridor. The swimming hall was a small one but enough for one visit. Hotel staff was helpful and made us enjoy our stay. The hotel itself is a bit oldish. Anyway the only real minus was poor cleaning of our room.

Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank janne_kastepohja
ScaKaj, Manager at Scandic Kajanus, responded to this review

Dear janne_kastepohja, Thank you for your visit at Scandic Kajanus and great that you also left a review for it. Wonderful to hear that you have liked our staff and especially that you have been chosen our hotel because of Kaukavesi Spa. The Kaukavesi Spa has really been liked among the customers. I have moved your feedback about the cleaning...

Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

Reception messed up with rooms; there was a previous quest still in our room when we got our key! Otherwise ok hotel. Gym is really good. Own sauna in room. Breakfast same as in every scandic, basic breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roo P
ScaKaj, Manager at Scandic Kajanus, responded to this review

Dear Roo P, Thank you for your visit at Scandic Kajanus and great that you also left a review for it. I am so sorry to hear that there have been some misunderstanding between the vacant rooms and occupied rooms. That is something which should not happened, even though we are all human beings and make mistakes. My apologizes of...

Vaasa, Finland
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Nice staff and very helpfull. Hotel standard is OK. They have outdoor parkibg in front of the hotel. Hotel has a own little gym and sauna. Restaurant and breakfest was also OK. Price and quality was OK

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Uffe38
ScaKaj, Manager at Scandic Kajanus, responded to this review

Dear Uffe38, Thank you for your visit at Scandic Kajanus and great that you also left a review about it. I am delighted to hear that our hotels facilities did meet with your needs. Hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Lari / Front Office Shift Leader

St. Petersburg, Russia
Reviewed 9 January 2017

We've very enjoyed staying Scandic Kajaani: (+) very helpful staff (we had some problem with our car because it was -31C and the receptionist tried to help us any way), good location - on the side of the river, picturesque and panoramic view out of our room, private perfect sauna in the room, good hotel room, separated for 2 parts,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank T N
ScaKaj, Manager at Scandic Kajanus, responded to this review

Dear T N, Thank you for your visit at Scandic Kajanus. It is also nice that you have put so much effort for writing this review. Wonderful to hear that you have had great time with us here in Kajaani. Our Superior Extra rooms with the panoramic view for the river have been liked very much. I am very sorry...

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 15 October 2016

I had to stay here in September 2016. There were not many available room in the city, so I picked this Scandic. The reception was a friendly one and checking in was an easy process. The room was a surprise: It was like making a time-travel to 1980's: The furniture was from the old days and I am afraid that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traveller007Finland
ScaKaj, Manager at Scandic Kajanus, responded to this review

Dear Traveller007Finland, Many thanks for your visit at Scandic Kajanus and also about the review. I am sorry to hear that our older rooms did not meet with your expectations. Did you know that we also have renovated rooms? Our renovated rooms have been facelifted from the 1980s to the 2010s. I hope that you will give us an another...

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Scandic Kajanus

Address: Koskikatu 3, Kajaani 87200, Finland
Region: Finland > Kainuu > Kajaani
Price Range: $123 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Kajanus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Kajanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Scandic Kajanus staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I guess that any room will do OK from the 3rd floor and above”
Traveller007Finland, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose rooms with the private sauna: it's very relaxing )))”
802tn, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get a room wich is not facing towards the main road.”
84joachims, 12 Sep 2015 | Read review
“The hotel is located in a quiet area so I didn't have any disturbance at all.”
917susanl, 27 May 2015 | Read review
“Choose other hotel”
JoonasKoko, 2 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5