We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Viking Village Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Viking Village Hotel
Viking Village Hotel
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

332 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 270: English reviews
Start your review of Viking Village Hotel
 Click to rate
Hampshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If you want the viking experience go for it.... Most the staff are helpful. Rooms very basic, 1 pillow asked for another but had to pay, so didn't do that. Light in bathroom kept fusing out. You have to pay extra for tea and coffee and your away from Rejklavik. There is a takeaway pizza place up the road so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Milly878
Bertmari, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Milly878, Thank you for taking your time to write this review, though we are terribly sorry you had this experience with us. When anyone stays at the Viking hotel and feel like their room is too basic or not good enough, the front desk will gladly upgrade the guests to a better room, for a small fee. The front...

Narberth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is not a high end, everything uniform hotel with little identity, it has a unique character of it's own. The character is steeped in Icelandic foke lore and presents something different in all of it's nooks and crannies. Our room was big, extremely comfortable, clean and well presented. Everything needed was there, tea, coffee, TV very comfortable beds and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Izzy271
Bertmari, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Izzy271, Thank you taking your time to write this wonderfully detailed written review, I am sure it will be helpful for many. We are so glad you liked the service, room and food. We truly hope to get the chance to welcome you to the Viking Village hotel in the near future.

Royersford, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was smaller than a cabin on a cruise ship but at least on a cruise ship there are places you can go and enjoy. The room was about 110 sq. ft including the bathroom. It was dirty by American standards. There were two single beds with about 2 feet of space between each to stand. The furniture was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mfisher1028
Bertmari, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mfisher1028, Thank you for taking your time to write this review. We are terribly sorry for this. However for future reference, you can always ask the reception to upgrade you to a larger nicer room. They would gladly do it for you. I truly hope we get a second chance from you in the future.

Rochester, Michigan
Reviewed 15 March 2017

The hotel is great. I don't look to stay in expensive, fancy hotels because all I'm doin is sleeping. The bed was very comfortable. The covers are down and very warm. The room was perfect size and layout for me. The breakfast was a traditional Icelandic breakfast served on traditional style dishes. Someon said the coffee mugs were small...get over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JerrieB31
Bertmari, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JerrieB31, Thank you for taking your time to write this review. It's always a great pleasure knowing our guests had such a nice experience with us. We hope to get the chance to welcome you again.

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Viking themed hotel,lots of trolls and Icelandic artefacts Our room (34)was small but had a view of the sea and the town.The bathroom was modern with a bath and shower(a very high bath),the water is very hot and lots of it. Coffee etc in the room. It was very clean and quiet Breakfast was continental with hot porridge, They have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sand396
Bertmari, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sand396, We are delighted to hear that you had a different yet fun experience at the Viking Village Hotel. I will make sure that the reception staff see your comment, thank you for your kind words.

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2017

We stayed here for 5 days break with my fab friends in March 2017. It was clean and tidy with very patient and helpful staff and funny staff, The hotel is away from .the bright lights of Reykjavik however once you have been to Reykjavik in my opinion you have done that part of the break full of arty shops...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dawnt23
Bertmari, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dawnt23, Thank you for taking your time to write this review. We are thrilled to hear that you and your friends had such a good time at the Viking Village Hotel. It will be our pleasure to welcome you all to our hotel again.

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Nice quirky hotel, loved the architecture and style. We had a cabin for 4 of us - 2 adults 2 children (14 & 11). Plenty of room for us, clean, beds very comfy, duvets thick and warm. There was a fridge which was great for drinks and snacks etc which we took on our day trips. Small but perfectly formed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jgbkgb
Bertmari, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jgbkgb, Thank you for taking your time to write this review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, we are aware of the wifi can be a hit and a miss. When it's a miss, we urge everyone to contact the front desk as they can help the guests with makeing thje wifi better.

Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

4 of us have just got back from a 5 day break in Iceland we stayed at the Viking hotel and I would urge anyone to book a break staying with the most friendly, happy bunch of vikings in all Iceland.. the rooms are clean and tidy, food is great the atmosphere is unbelievable and nothing is too much trouble...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo D
Bertmari, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jo D, We always appreciate the positive comments left by the most important people in our world; our guests. We are so thrilled to hear that you had such a great experience here at the Viking hotel, I will make sure to share your words with the team. We sincerely would love to have you with us again.

Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2017

Far better than any basic decor, this hotel adds a certain something to your stay. We emailed a couple of weeks in advance for a room overlooking the harbour and were accomodated. Our room was suitably sized for two people and offered great views both during the day and for watching the Northern Lights at night time. The bed was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AberRob
Bertmari, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DaberRob, Thank you for taking your time to write this review. We are thrilled to hear you had such a good overall experience. Hope to see you again.

Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed for long weekend with friends. We were in a "double room"  which was very small for 2 people. The room was clean but very basic and overlooked the car park.  The bathroom was also very small and basic and the decor/fittings reminded me of a caravan. The shower was small with just a curtain, but the water was always...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerhart L
Bertmari, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gerhart L, Thank you for taking your time to write this review. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. If we get s second chance from you, then you can always ask us to upgrade you to a larger room with a better view.

576 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (222)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (80)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (290)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Cabin (46)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (30)
Viewed
Family Room (38)
Viewed
Dining (79)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)
Viewed
Triple Room (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hafnarfjordur
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,028 reviews
Kriunes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kopavogur
273 reviews
Hotel Vellir
#2 of 4 in Hafnarfjordur
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
959 reviews
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Viking has 56 well furnished and cozy rooms including shower, WC and television. The décor of the rooms on the first floor is Viking style and on the second floor it is a West Nordic theme. When you enter the Hotel, you are greeted with fine art and crafts from these three countries, Iceland, Greenland and the Faroe Islands. We have access to wireless Internet and free parking just outside the hotel. In our geothermal hot tub and sauna you can recuperate and freshen up and relax after a long day of excitement.Our guests are welcomed to our Fjörukráin,the Viking Restaurant, which is open for dinner from 18.00 every day.The style is Viking whereby during these famous feasts there is never a dull moment and the guests can expect various treats and surprises offered by our singing Valkyries and Vikings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Viking Village Hotel

Address: Strandgata 55, Hafnarfjordur 220, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Hafnarfjordur
Price Range: $207 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Viking Village Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viking Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Viking Village Hotel staff and other travellers.
29 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from Viking Village Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Skip this Hotel”
mfisher1028, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Front uostairs”
Sand396, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Eat at the Tuk Tuk restraunt real good value for money.”
Dawnt23, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Great view over looking the harbour, but some minor road noise at rush hour.”
  • Norther Lights From Bedroom Window
AberRob, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one that looks onto the water--may even be able to see Northern Lights from your room, too!”
amysJ4662UR, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5