We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hali Country Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Hali Country Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

555 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hali Country Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 448: English reviews
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

1. Too pricey: $420 for a room for 3 people (in fact we are 4, one spring was added). No breakfast is included. 2. One ceiling is broken. 3. Shower pressure is very small. 4. Internet may be down or slow. Maybe we can't expect too much in this area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maorangina
Þorbjörg A, Owner at Hali Country Hotel, responded to this review

Hallo I am really sorry but BREAKFAST is always INCLUDED in the price here in Hali Countryhotel all the year arround . Are you sure you stayed in Countryhotel Hali because here near Hali are several buildings from other guesthouses, there had been big mistake if you did not get breakfast included. If you send us your name in Email...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 7 June 2016

The room and common area (where they had free self serve coffee, a big plus for us) where the rooms were located was very nice. We had the first room in off the entrance but did not notice any noise. The location for vising the glacier lagoon was perfect. Their farm is right there and there are good views (ok...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VickieW1694
Saint Augustine, Florida
Reviewed 7 June 2016

We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel which is so far out in the middle of nowhere! Clean, quiet, new (rm #58) free wifi, great breakfast included with home made breads still warm! We ate dinner at the restaurant and it was excellent. The warm apple cake was the best dessert we had in Iceland! Great place!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank csebec
Lafayette, Louisiana
Reviewed 5 June 2016

We stopped here to be close to Jokarlsulon and the Diamond Beach. After we checked in and ate a wonderful meal at the restaurant, my daughter and I left the others to rest while we returned to the Diamond Beach for some time lapse photos of ice in the surf. The hotel was great in all respects. Clean, comfortable, modern,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank boilercajun
Wyoming, Rhode Island
Reviewed 4 June 2016

Very nice location. Nice room except that it was located close to the "Staff Area" which was loud late into the night with a bathroom right at head level. Also a terrible odor from the shower drain made the room smell very unpleasant. There is an excellent restaurant on premise. Ate dinner there three nights and it was very tasty....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wildiris50
pt richmond california
Reviewed 22 May 2016

We were looking forward to our stay at the Hali country hotel. We are currently on our 2nd night and the smell in our first room was so bad we changed to the front where our view is the cars in the parking lot. While it's a bit better it's still smells damp and moldy. The staff are young adults...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank staticthought
Þorbjörg A, Owner at Hali Country Hotel, responded to this review

I am really sorry for your experience in Hali. We are always trying to do our best and we feel sorry it didnot succeed. What has happened we really dont know, but I talked to my staff and ask them to take good care of this. We are in brand new building and we painted every room again this year...

Reviewed 18 May 2016

I had a great experience staying at the Hali country hotel. The rooms were very nice, cozy, and quiet. The only issue we experienced during our stay was that construction on the new building was happening right outside our window - starting at 8am. We were hoping to sleep in that day, but that didn't exactly work out for us....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tarin L
Novi Sad, Serbia
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Very nice hotel located near to the main road and only 5-10 minutes drive away from Jokulsarlon lagoon. The room and bathroom were spacious and clean. We got the room with ocean view. The breakfast was pretty tasty.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank darko_trx83
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 18 May 2016

1) Location was a bit far away from the golden circle. 2) But the people and travelers there are amazing, most are sharing information where to catch northern lights and sharing photograph at the living quarter. 3) Free coffee was a plus point. 4) Room was amazingly clean and equipped with necessary amenities Be warned, bring your own food (who...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ywaihong80
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 17 May 2016

If you're planning on visiting the South East Coast of Iceland and in particular Jokulsarlon this is the best place to stay. This family run business right down to the raising of their lamb and the catching of Arctic Char for your dinner is for me the real Iceland. They serve great food and attached to the restaurant is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank idroneon

353 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (345)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (82)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (130)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hofn
38.5 km away
Fosshotel Glacier Lagoon
Fosshotel Glacier Lagoon
#1 of 3 in Vatnajokull National Park
212 reviews
44.3 km away
Fosshotel Vatnajokull
17.6 km away
Hotel Smyrlabjorg
Hotel Smyrlabjorg
#2 of 3 in Vatnajokull National Park
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
41.5 km away
Hotel Hofn
Hotel Hofn
#3 of 4 in Hofn
433 reviews
0.2 km away
Gerdi Guesthouse
Gerdi Guesthouse
#7 of 19 in Hofn
223 reviews
20.8 km away
Guesthouse Skalafell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family owned country hotel. Located right by road nb 1. Only 10 min drive from Jökulsárlón, Glacier lagoon. We offer comfortable double and triple rooms and apartments. Restaurant and museum on site. Open all year around. Breakfast buffet, bed linen, towels, free wi-fi and taxes included in all room rates. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hali Country Hotel

Address: Hali 781, Hofn 781, Iceland
Region: Iceland > East Region > Hofn
Price Range: $217 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hali Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Hali Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hali Country Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Milton
1 day ago
Baltimore, Maryland
3 months ago
State College, Pennsylvania
6 months ago
Paris, Tennessee, United States

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hali Country Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you're going ice caving or just want to visit glacier lagoon and stay over night this is a perfect place. Just a 10 minute drive away.”
 of 5 bubbles 761karanm, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“get a room facing away from the ocean”
 of 5 bubbles hfsarah, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the new wing”
 of 5 bubbles Piccolina123, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“In the hotel adjacent the lagoon.”
 of 5 bubbles peetee2011, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the lower end of the property are newer”
 of 5 bubbles skynet45, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay