We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

CenterHotel Thingholt

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
CenterHotel Thingholt
CenterHotel Thingholt
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,513 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for CenterHotel Thingholt
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,388: English reviews
White Hall, Maryland
Reviewed 4 October 2015

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for all 5 nights of our recent trip to Iceland. The hotel is right off the main street in Reykjavik's city center, which is both a plus (very convenient to walk to everything) and a minus (bustle and noise). Americans will find the rooms small, though they are typical of what you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jeff21161
Hoboken, New Jersey
Reviewed 2 October 2015

This is a great small boutique hotel right in the heart of Raykjavik. There is both wonderful sights and nightlife close by. We enjoyed being able to walk around the city and to bars at night and never be far from home. Hotel is located right off a main road but the room felt quiet at night. Rooms are a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Misha B
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewed 2 October 2015

In the heart of Rejkavick and convenient to everything the city has to offer. The room was very contemporary and progressive, just like the people of Iceland. Upon entering our room we discovered we were upgraded to the suite at no charge. Bonus!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
Denver
Reviewed 1 October 2015

Stayed here for a week, and did some day excursions in NW Iceland. Very good location close to city center, bars, restaurants, transit. Restaurant was pricey (but so are almost all of them here) and the drinks especially so but the food was above average. The breakfast, of note, was a little weak. Exact same offerings each day, fish was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brett B
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 1 October 2015

Always a pleasure staying at Thingholt. Great location and service minded staff. Isafold has amazing food and is really worth a visit when in Reykjavik. The design is very nice and the hotel as a warm and cosy athmosphere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MetroManagement
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 30 September 2015

We stayed at this hotel and it completely served the purpose we wanted. We were comfortable sleeping there, and the breakfast was very good. Other than that, we didn't spend much time in it, as we were out and about. But the staff was very friendly and welcoming. We would stay here again. It's just a cool spot to come...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RicardoandIrina
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 17 September 2015

We stayed at this hotel for two nights recently. I was quite disappointed with our room as it was extremely small even for European standards, the walls were scuffed and cracked, and the shower had no enclosure so that each use resulted in a thorough soaking of the entire bathroom floor. We had to ask for extra towels to layer...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BCP32
CH_channelmanager, General Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review

Dear BCP32, thank you for taking the time to write a feedback on your stay, it is very important to get every kind of feedback. The design of the walls is by intention rustic and is what should give the hotel an individual character, however please accept my deepest apologies that the room was not up to your expectations, you...

boston, ma
Reviewed 17 September 2015

The location of CHT is perfect; right in the middle of city center and walkable to basically anywhere you want to go in the city. The hotel is very modern, with some nice design. Our room was booked late, so we didn't end up with one of the top tier rooms, but it was still nice if not a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank madvibes
CH_channelmanager, General Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review

Dear madvibes, thank you for your review on Centerhotel Thingholt, I appreciate your comments and its good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. kind regards Hjörtur Valgeirsson Hotel Manager

Reviewed 7 September 2015 via mobile

We booked 3 nights at one of the other CenterHotels. When we showed up they were sold out (the couple checking in infront of had the same issue), so after a lengthy delay and a walk through town, we were finally moved to CenterHotel Thingholt. Which turned out to be just fine. The location is perfect. Right in the center...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NomadicalMan
CH_channelmanager, General Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review

Dear NomadicalMan, thank you for your review on Centerhotels Thingholt, I appreciate your feedback and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. kind regards Hjortur Valgeirsson Hotel Manager

New York City, New York
Reviewed 2 September 2015

Location is close to pretty much everything you want to do and see in Reykjavik, but parking is very difficult if you have your own car. You are expected to park on the street and "feed the meter" between 9:00 and 18:00. Also, be aware that there is no clock in the room, no alarm, no ice bucket, and no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank xlaurent
CH_channelmanager, General Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review

Dear xlaurent, thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay. You have many good points on improvement for us which is always welcome and I hope we can use them to improve further our service. I hope we can welcome you again to our hotel kind regards Hjortur Valgeirsson Hotel Manager

769 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (512)
Viewed
Room/Suite (150)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (72)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (78)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
2:52
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (163)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (225)
Viewed
Amenities (31)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (39)
Viewed
Loft Suite (46)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (29)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (Alternate Style) (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
945 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 53 in Reykjavik
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 53 in Reykjavik
3,434 reviews
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#12 of 53 in Reykjavik
341 reviews
Hotel Holt
#11 of 53 in Reykjavik
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about CenterHotel Thingholt

Address: Thingholtsstraeti 3-5, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Price Range: $343 - $658 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — CenterHotel Thingholt 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your CenterHotel Thingholt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Thingholt Reykjavík
Centerhotel Thingholt Hotel Reykjavík
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#9 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from CenterHotel Thingholt staff and other travellers.
33 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (33)

Questions? Get answers from CenterHotel Thingholt staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“For quiet, ask for back of hotel or simply ask for quiet room.”
 of 5 bubbles NeilB786, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you want space, do not request a room with a bathtub as it takes up a lot of the room.”
 of 5 bubbles 125helens, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Front elevation - choose a bath or a shower”
  • Junior Suite - I think
 of 5 bubbles zenaLee, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Just request a quiet room if you do not wish to hear the late night partying. The locals love music, dance and have fun!!”
 of 5 bubbles 767patriciar, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“multifloor suite is fun\”
  • jr suite is sweet
 of 5 bubbles MikeTrinidadBayBnB, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5