We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

CenterHotel Thingholt

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
CenterHotel Thingholt
CenterHotel Thingholt
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,438 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for CenterHotel Thingholt
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,313: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 22 March 2015

We headed to Iceland as part of our honeymoon and chose Thingholt as it appeared to be a little more "special" and we generally were not disappointed with our stay. The hotel lobby is beautifully presented and the staff quite friendly and helpful. It is centrally located and very close to restaurants etc. I had read earlier reviews that this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cathryn B
CH_channelmanager, General Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review

Dear AuroraTheExplorer, thank you for choosing Centerhotel Thingholt for your stay. My apologies that you experienced some noise during the weekend, we do our best to avoid this however the hotel is located in the very centre of Reykjavik, which means it is in proximity of clubs but also within short walking distance of major attractions. Although the majority of...

california
Reviewed 21 March 2015

Great location, and we had a very satisfying breakfast every morning. Breakfast is our favorite meal, and this was the best bargain going. Came with the room. Large buffet. You definitely will find something there you will like.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mcpcmp
CH_channelmanager, General Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review

Dear mcpcmp, Im glad you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and the central location of the hotel. I hope you stay with us again kind regards Hjortur Valgeirsson Hotel Manager

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 19 March 2015

Starting with the postives - CenterHotel Thingholt is in a great location, very central and our room was very quiet. Although I know from other reviewers and fellow guests visiting that this is very room dependent. The rooms themselves are quite small considering the cost of the stay. The decor is minimalist, neither exceptionally good nor bad but I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
CH_channelmanager, General Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review

Dear Emma M, thank you for your review. It is very helpful. I am happy to hear the many positive aspects of your stay with us. I am equally sorry to hear your experience with the Blue Lagoon trip. Unfortunately they have been very busy lately and experience booked out days. Our employees need to be aware of this and...

Reviewed 18 March 2015

We had booked three nights at this hotel. 2 rooms between the four of us. We were so pleased with the hotel, the service was really good, very friendly and helpful staff, gorgeous variety at breakfast and nice looking restaurant (although we didn't eat there) The rooms were immaculate and the decor modern and well presented. There were lovely amenities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily F
CH_channelmanager, General Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review

Dear Emily F, thank you so much for taking the time to write an extensive review. Im glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would be more than happy to accommodate you and your fiancé when you visit Iceland next time. best regards Hjortur Valgeirsson Hotel Manager

brentwood
Reviewed 16 March 2015

one has paid for a full breakfast, and many flight times require an early start, and so why is the early breakfast provided so poor? it told me a lot about center hotels, and not in a good way. could, should, indeed must do better!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bayscott
CH_channelmanager, General Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review

Dear Bayscott, thank you for your comments regarding your stay. At Centerhotel Thingholt we do not charge extra for the breakfast as it is included in all room rates. We offer an extensive full service breakfast that is served from 07.00-10.00 every day. In order to accommodate early departures we arrange early breakfast from 03.00am which consists of Coffee/Tea, juice...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2015

I cannot fault this hotel! Stunning interior, comfortable bed, heated floors in the bathroom, good choices for breakfast and really friendly staff! The hotel is in a great location close to bars, shops & restaurants and about a 5 minute walk to the main Gray Line office. If you are a light sleeper and are visiting on a weekend request...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nicola F
CH_channelmanager, General Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review

Dear Nicola F, than you for taking the time to write a review, I am very happy to read your comments and that you enjoyed your stay with us and the facilities at the hotel. kind regards Hjortur Valgeirsson Hotel Manager

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2015 via mobile

It is 4am and the thumping noise from the bar/club outside continues..... The windows don't close and are single glazed - but in the corridor - silence. DO NOT BOOK this hotel if you want to sleep. Hotel full so room can't be changed although reception staff said same problem every weekend and everyone complains - unacceptable to take money...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank A TripAdvisor Member
CH_channelmanager, General Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review

Dear Tripadvisor member, thank you for your review on the hotel and telling us about your experience. Getting a good sleep is of course of most importance while staying in the hotel. And we aim to provide every guest with an enjoyable experience. In case we do have complaint we want to respond directly and find a good solution for...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2015

Centerhotel Thingholt is a very nice looking hotel. It impressed. The interior is modern, clean and if a bath next to a bed isn’t to one’s liking, we can perhaps agree it’s funky and different. My reaction was more 'Oh wow' than 'OMG'. Hotels need some kind of edge. The breakfast offered an excellent and filling start to the day....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RogerF2011
CH_channelmanager, General Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review

Dear Roger, I would like to thank you for your review and a fantastic headline ! It is imperative that we get honest feedback on what we are doing well and how we can improve. Indeed our breakfast is included in the room charge and we aim for personalized service in the breakfast which goes beyond restocking the buffet. Currently...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2015

Good location for a short stay in Reykjavik with the harbour within easy walking distance and shops, restaurants and bars close by. In spite of city centre location it was quiet and we had a good nights sleep. Service in reception was average as was the breakfast. The room we had was a deluxe one but small and adequate. It...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jcj60
CH_channelmanager, General Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review

Dear jcj60, thank you for taking the time to write your review. I would be more than happy to hear from you further about what specific things could be improved in order to make our service better. kind regards Hjortur Valgeirsson Hotel Manager

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 March 2015

We arrived to what looked like an awful wooden front door. However, once inside our opinion of the hotel completely changed and we were greeted by very friendly staff. I have to say ALL the staff were extremely friendly, helpful and very professional. As soon as we entered we saw a lift for the disabled by the stairs and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jools384
CH_channelmanager, General Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review

Dear Jools, thank you for all your comment. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, and Im very happy to hear that our staff were able to accommodate your needs. Hjortur Valgeirsson Hotel Manager

726 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (469)
Viewed
Room/Suite (145)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (78)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (70)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
2:52
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (133)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (225)
Viewed
Amenities (31)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (39)
Viewed
Loft Suite (46)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (29)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (Alternate Style) (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,244 reviews
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#2 of 52 in Reykjavik
913 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#8 of 52 in Reykjavik
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments
Hotel Holt
#12 of 52 in Reykjavik
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about CenterHotel Thingholt

Address: Thingholtsstraeti 3-5, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Price Range: $363 - $752 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — CenterHotel Thingholt 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your CenterHotel Thingholt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Thingholt Reykjavík
Centerhotel Thingholt Hotel Reykjavík
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from CenterHotel Thingholt staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question
Richmond, Virginia
5 months ago
Camberley, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from CenterHotel Thingholt staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room at the back, there is quite a lot of street noise until the early hours as it is so central”
 of 5 bubbles 681dianal, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“It can get noisy on Fridays and Saturday nights due to a bar on the main street. Room at the back of hotel and higher up is best.”
 of 5 bubbles TimJames1963, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Great location”
 of 5 bubbles michaelwraight, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 11 and 12 are the quietest rooms with doors to an enclosed patio.”
 of 5 bubbles bfcantwell, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I think some deluxe rooms make you choose between a leather sofa OR tub. I don't think anyone uses a sofa in a hotel room so yeah: tub.”
 of 5 bubbles conors23, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay