We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

CenterHotel Thingholt

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
CenterHotel Thingholt
CenterHotel Thingholt
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,508 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for CenterHotel Thingholt
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,383: English reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2015

This hotel is in a great location, very central and close to lots of other bars, restaurants and bistros. The rooms are really nicely decorated, modern and fresh looking with all the necessary mod-cons. The beds are very comfortable as well - no complaints! The breakfast is a buffet style with plenty of choice of fried options (sausages, bacon, eggs),...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan O
CH_channelmanager, General Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review

Dear Susan O, thank you for your review of Centerhotel Thingholt. It was a pleasure to have your group staying with us, and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. kind regards Hjortur Valgeirsson Hotel Manager

Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewed 8 April 2015

Spacious, clean comfortable room. Hotel looks like a warehouse from the outside; inside is four star or better. Everything works: WC, WiFi, lifts, courtesy PC. Surprisingly good resto. Great, varied b/f buffet. Central to a compact and pictureque downtown. Tours organised through the hotel with no hassles or errors. As professional a property as the best I've encountered anywhere. 10...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank amfd194
CH_channelmanager, General Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review

Dear amfd194 Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us despite the weather not being the best. I agree who needs palms when you can experience snow storm! Best regards Hjortur Valgeirsson Hotel Manager

Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 April 2015

Stayed here for a two night stopover on our second visit to Iceland. Beautifully decorated, clean, friendly and in a central location for exploring Reykjavik on foot. Iceland have a brilliant little system in place with, it seems, all the location excursion operators; they all pick you up and drop you off at your hotel which makes seeing the rest...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PurpleE73
CH_channelmanager, General Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review

Dear PurpleE73 thank you for reviewing our hotel, Im very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you liked our country. I hope you get the chance to revisit us soon. kind regards Hjortur Valgeirsson Hotel Manager

Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 April 2015

Thingholt is right in the city centre and the staff were all lovely. Breakfast was awesome and the girl who waits tables in the morning was very friendly and always looked happy to see you in the mornings. I wasn't initially a fan of the rooms: very man cave. Concrete walls, lino floors and glass bathroom walls. My finance and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rscallen2015
CH_channelmanager, General Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review

Dear rscallen2015 thank you for your comments on your stay and helpful comments on the hotel. kind regards Hjortur Valgeirsson Hotel Manager

Reviewed 4 April 2015

This is probably the most centrally located of the CenterHotels in Reykjavik. The sounds of the night life won't bother you not even during the EvE Fanfest pub crawl if you remember to close the windows... The hotel is surprisingly quiet considering the location but you still may get waken up by the fog horns of the ships in the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matti H
CH_channelmanager, General Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review

Dear Matti H, thank you for your comments, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Centerhotel Thingholt. kind regards Hjortur Valgeirsson Hotel Manager

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 30 March 2015

I really love boutique or modern/hip hotels, so I wanted to stay here because I thought that it will be this kind of accommodation. And it was very modern, hip and cool, but in general, for the price per night, it could have been much better. The room is fine, but not super cozy. The bathroom has glass walls, therefore...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dayaya
CH_channelmanager, General Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review

Dear dayaya, thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience. It´s very helpful to get an honest review that can give us points to improve. I am glad that you liked the design and the breakfast, however please accept our apologies that your experience was not up to your expectations. I would love to hear...

Reviewed 30 March 2015 via mobile

My husband and I just ended our weeklong road trip through Iceland. This was our favorite hotel! Great customer service, tasty breakfast included in our rate, and stylish and comfortable rooms were top notch. And we couldn't have asked for a better location, in the heart of downtown Reykjavik. We will be staying here again on our next trip to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KDohrman
CH_channelmanager, General Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review

Dear KDohrman, thank you for your review, and I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, I will be sure to forward that to our team. You are more than welcome back to stay with us. best regards Hjortur Valgeirsson Hotel Manager

Portadown, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2015

Just returned from a pleasant weekend. Room 306, quiet at the back of the hotel away from any potential noise. Good breakfast to set you up for the day. Spa, not worth the entrance charge - which is wasn't advisedout at check-in ( promptly refunded at check out, so looks like its a common occurance) Well situated for everything in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AaronCaddell
CH_channelmanager, General Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review

Dear Aaron Caddell, thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. And I appreciate your comments about the spa entrance. If you have any more comments about your stay I would be more than happy to hear from you. kind regards Hjortur Valgeirsson Hotel Manager

Reviewed 25 March 2015

The hotel was really central and the interior décor was cosy dark and inviting. the room we stayed in was quite small but great for all the time we spent in it....I loved the leather floors!!! we did have a sneak peak in a few other room while the cleaner where cleaning out one day and they where bigger with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aileen C
CH_channelmanager, General Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review

Dear Aileen C, Thank you for your review, I glad you loved the black leather tiles, I find they add great character to the hotel. We are located in the very centre as you mentioned which means that we are close to the bar district, but when you are prepared for it then guests are usually not bothered with it....

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 March 2015

We booked a return Blue lagoon transfer with Reykjavic Excursion. On arrival, we took the bus to blue lagoon and left our luggages at the luggage storage place in BL. On return, the bus dropped us at the main terminal and we were being transferred to small mini van to reach our hotel, as the road is too narrow for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HEinUK
CH_channelmanager, General Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review

Dear HeinUK, thank you for your review on Centerhotel Thingholt, I am very glad to here your comments on the hotel. Thank you also for your comment on the lighting, indeed the design is very black and white, and the room offers a dimmer function which you can control the strength of the lighting. I hope you enjoyed your stay...

769 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (512)
Viewed
Room/Suite (150)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (72)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (78)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
2:52
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (163)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (225)
Viewed
Amenities (31)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (39)
Viewed
Loft Suite (46)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (29)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (Alternate Style) (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
945 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 53 in Reykjavik
895 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 53 in Reykjavik
3,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#12 of 53 in Reykjavik
338 reviews
Hotel Holt
#11 of 53 in Reykjavik
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about CenterHotel Thingholt

Address: Thingholtsstraeti 3-5, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Price Range: $343 - $671 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — CenterHotel Thingholt 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your CenterHotel Thingholt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Thingholt Reykjavík
Centerhotel Thingholt Hotel Reykjavík
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#9 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from CenterHotel Thingholt staff and other travellers.
32 questions
Ask a question
Richmond, Virginia
8 months ago
Camberley, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom

See all questions (32)

Questions? Get answers from CenterHotel Thingholt staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“For quiet, ask for back of hotel or simply ask for quiet room.”
 of 5 bubbles NeilB786, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you want space, do not request a room with a bathtub as it takes up a lot of the room.”
 of 5 bubbles 125helens, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Front elevation - choose a bath or a shower”
  • Junior Suite - I think
 of 5 bubbles zenaLee, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Just request a quiet room if you do not wish to hear the late night partying. The locals love music, dance and have fun!!”
 of 5 bubbles 767patriciar, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“multifloor suite is fun\”
  • jr suite is sweet
 of 5 bubbles MikeTrinidadBayBnB, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5