We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Canterbury

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

682 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 611: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
 Click to rate
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel is very good. Much better than we expected for the price. The room was spotlessly clean and spacious. Tea and coffee facilities in the room which was free to refill. Breakfast is included and although not a full English was perfectly adequate. Included egg, sausage and beans, fruit, yoghurts, pastries and toast, tea,coffee and juice. We had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yanmi19
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I travel all over the country with work so needed a 2 night stay near Canterbury, this hotel was booked for me and I've stayed in Holiday Inns loads of times so thought I knew what to expect. Wrong !! for a start there was an evening meal laid on and a cooked breakfast. I've not had that before in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank REBGS
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel is a very good value budget hotel. A few miles outside canterbury on the A2. We found the family room clean and spacious. With Tea maker and tv. The highlight for us was the food we ate in for the evening and what a surprise the food was way better than we expected and as good as some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FinsFamily
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Staff have not got a clue at all, as I was checking in I heard 2 people complain, 1 about food and one about the noisy room above the bar area, breakfast was promoted as included in the price. If you only like a choice of crusty scrambled egg, dry sausage and watery beans this this place is for you....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank getitrightitsnothard
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Everything is relative - this is a Holiday Inn Express, not the Savoy. So with that in mind, this has been an unexpected delight. Yes, it's next to a fuel station and adjacent to a bypass (no noise pollution in the room), but you get what you pay for. The welcome was warm and genuine, the rooms are basic but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Simanda147
MalithJay, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear Simanda147, Thank you for staying with us. We are delighted see your positive comments which already shared with our staff. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! Look forward to greeting you again.

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Clean room, great breakfast and excellent value. Would definately stay again. Especially like getting free wifi and breakfast included. Food is so good you have to make sure you don't eat too much. Even though its a few miles outside Canterbury, its only a short drive into the city to see all of the historic attractions, so an ideal base.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
MalithJay, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are glad to see you liked the food, cleanliness and value for money. There is nothing makes us happier than hearing that you will return on your next visit!

Basildon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Recently stayed here for a one-night stay. It's pretty much what you'd expect of a Holiday Inn Express. I was a bit concerned about noise, as the hotel's just off a busy road. I needn't have worried though - we got a room at the back of the hotel, and it was perfectly peaceful. We had the window open much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry D
MalithJay, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear Terry D, Thank you for your review and being IHG Rewards Platinum member. We are Pleased to see you enjoyed the stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. Look forward to welcoming you soon.

Upminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very clean and comfortable room with a good hot shower. Reception staff were friendly and efficient. The restaurant was basic but the food we had was very good especially the bream. The breakfast was average but adequate. The voucher deal we used was excellent value. The hotel is on the south bound lane of the dual carriageway into Canterbury and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 641rod002
MalithJay, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear 641rod002, Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to see you had a good stay with us. Look forward to welcoming you again.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice hotel,, location a little strange. hard to access from one direction - unable to cross dual carriageway, detour added about 3 miles when travelling from the city. The hotel itself was good, staff were mostly from eastern Europe - as seemed to be the case in most locations in this area of the country. Cheaper labour?? Good breakfast included....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharonwilkins
MalithJay, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear sharonwilkins, Thank you for staying with us and posting a review. We are happy to see you had a good stay with us. Our valued staff work hard and try their best to make guests happy and that makes a big difference. Look forward to welcoming you again.

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Being a small express, I didn't expect much but was disappointed. I had booked a double room but as we checked in they said they had fully booked and was given a twin single bed room. The tv in the room had plenty of channels but to change channel it took a life time and the guide only showed you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abbsss93
MalithJay, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear abbsss93, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to see you did not enjoy the stay as it should be. Please allow us to explain some of your concerns. You had booked a standard room which will allocate on arrival depending on the availability as per terms for standard room bookings, NOT a double room. In-Room TV is...

316 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (236)
Viewed
Accessible Room (42)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Double Room (43)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)
Viewed
Twin Room (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Harbledown
5.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel
4.9 km away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
396 reviews
5.8 km away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
1,743 reviews
3.6 km away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#13 of 17 in Canterbury
376 reviews
5.0 km away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A modern 89 room hotel offering well appointed guest rooms with writing desk, TV, Hair Dryer, and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The hotel offers free WiFi, and car parking ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Canterbury

Address: A2, Upper Harbledown, Canterbury CT2 9HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Upper Harbledown
Price Range: $83 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Hotel Upper Harbledown
Holiday Inn Canterbury
Canterbury Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Canterbury staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
unitedkingdom
over a year ago
10 months ago
over a year ago
Cambridge, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Canterbury staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground floor to the rear was nice and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Yanmi19, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“away from the road”
 of 5 bubbles 641rod002, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If problems with stairs say so as no lift!”
 of 5 bubbles 455Douglas1948, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get a room on the upper floor, less noise from above!”
 of 5 bubbles jacquit293, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms are more likely to be shielded from the road.”
 of 5 bubbles JaneS550, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5