We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Stobo Castle

#1 of 1 Hotels in Stobo
Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stobo
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Stobo Castle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,072 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 1,072: English reviews
Start your review of Stobo Castle
 Click to rate
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have just returned from my 5th visit to Stobo Castle. I stayed two nights in one of the rooms above the courtyard with my Mum. Again, everything was perfect. Food, comfort, surroundings are the best. As usual the whole place is spotlessly clean. Dining at Stobo is exquisite. The best food I have ever tasted anywhere. The staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire D
scotland
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have to strongly disagree with jcclose159 in his review of our beloved Stobo castle. Firstly I have stayed in many rooms within the castle including the Philipson room. We have also stayed in Castle lodge. The standards are uniform throughout. Castle lodge rooms are beautifully furnished with super comfy beds. It is a very pleasant short stroll into the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sunlover55scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Loved it! Is it a wee bit expensive? I guess a little bit there is 3 meals supplied. Plus the attention to detail is second to none. You can save a little by staying in a lodge not the hotel and all the drinks are no more expensive than your city centre bar. Food was great .... staff super friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kirsty B
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your very supportive comments - we do believe we offer excellent value for money and, as you suggested, there are packages for every budget! Delighted to hear you are thinking in terms of a return visit - hope to see you again soon. Kind regards

Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were really looking forward to staying at the Castle as we had heard lots of good things about it. I had bought my partner a Spa day as a present so we decided to stay the night and booked an overnight package with breakfast, lunch and dinner. We stayed in the Castle Lodge which was marginally cheaper than the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jcclose159
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I was hugely disappointed to read your review, following your recent stay at Stobo in the company of your partner. Firstly, addressing your comments regarding the meals served to you, I would like to assure you that we take delivery of fresh meat and fish three times per week and your assertion that the fillet steak must have...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just returned from my first ever spa hotel experience. Loved every moment. The staff are really friendly. The food is delicious and the rooms very spacious. Everywhere is very clean and well maintained. As a larger lady I was a little nervous about the idea of a spa hotel and spending the day in a bathrobe but I needn't have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EmmaJ24
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Delighted to hear your first spa visit was enjoyable. Emma and Gemma will be thrilled to read your kind comments and we all look forward to the pleasure of seeing you at the castle again soon. Best wishes,

Hexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After a really busy time my friend and I returned to Stobo. It's our go to for total relaxation. This place you wouldn't think would have room for improvement BUT every year there is more investment. Fabulous service and the food is first class. We are 2 hard working ladies who feel we deserve this. Special mention to James. Will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chalice S
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your most welcome review of your latest trip to the castle - you're quite right, everyone deserves a little treat once in a while! Looking forward to welcoming you back to Stobo next year. Kind regards

Scotland
Reviewed 1 week ago

First time at Stobo in May and it exceeded expectations. From the initial welcome at check-in, to the checkout, everything was relaxed and flawless. The hotel is beautifully maintained and the walks in the surrounding area are worth doing as it's so peaceful and tranquil. The staff were delightful, always smiling, attentive and helpful. The food is excellent, served quickly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gmay177
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We were all so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your first visit to Stobo. Your very valued comments were a pleasure to read and we do hope you will consider a return visit to the castle at some point in the future. Kind regards

Carlisle, Kentucky
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a great place to come, to keep busy or to relax with plenty eating inbetween in the most beautiful and elegant dining rooms. Comfort in every aspect and fabulous design throughout,with great quality fabrics both in soft furnishings and on walls, it is a feast to the eyes. Room after room, from the many and varied steam rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Veronica C
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review of your Stobo experience. I was delighted to hear you found the facilities, ambience and service from the staff all of a high standard and that you are thinking in terms of a return visit. Looking forward to welcoming you back when the time is right...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I love going to Stobo. Go yearly and so enjoy our time there. Pool and exercise classes so good and treatments excellent. Food excellent and lovely staff. Complimentary car wash a nice touch. Could do with a fridge in the room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wandainstar1
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your very valued feedback - we all enjoyed reading your lovely comments and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Stobo on a future occasion. Kind regards,

Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I come here every year with my mum and Stobo never fails us. The staff are amazing, friendly and efficient. The hotel is stunning and always spotless. The food is delicious-especially the rice pudding-and served quickly and with a smile! Treatments are always brilliant and the spa facilities are fantastic.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cath_ruth94
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Your wonderful review of your most recent trip to Stobo is hugely appreciated, as is your custom over the years. Hope to see you at the castle again soon! Kind regards

325 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (307)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (168)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stobo
9.6 km away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
1,889 reviews
10.0 km away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
733 reviews
8.7 km away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 km away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
35.5 km away
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
9.0 km away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled among the beautiful Scottish Borders countryside, Stobo Castle offers excellent service, fine food, elegantly trained staff and above all, the ability to find peace in a frenetic world. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stobo Castle

Address: Stobo Castle Stobo, Stobo EH45 8NY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Stobo
Price Range: $193 - $511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
Stobo Castle Hotel Stobo
Castle Stobo
Stobo Castle Peebles
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stobo Castle staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
UK
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Stobo Castle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The philipson has three sets of patio doors onto a beautiful sun terrace. Views to die for!”
sunlover55scotland, 27 May 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the Castle Lodge”
jcclose159, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a view - as not all the rooms have this.”
GlamPam, 5 May 2017 | Read review
“Deluxe room is well worth the extra cost!”
Suzied908, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in Spencer, above the spa reception. Nice room but no view. Handy for the pool etc. WOuldn't mind staying there again.”
weesmiler, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5