We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Maison Josephine

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Maison Josephine
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 34: English reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2016

Stumbled across La Maison Josephine when passing through Villenouvelle south of Toulouse one Sunday afternoon looking for overnight accommodation - what good fortune! We found a large 3-storey old house, accessed through a courtyard gate, tastefully yet unpretentiously restored and decorated by its Irish owner Paul Reid and his French wife. Bedrooms are spacious and furnished in keeping with the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ShonaJonah
Reviewed 15 September 2015

We stayed 7 nights. It was a great location from which to take day trips. We were disappointed by several things - the hosts were nice enough, but never went out of their way to be helpful; the 25 euro dinner was definitely not worth it; our towels and sheets were never changed; no tea bags in the coffee/tea service...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James B
Paul R, Propriétaire at Maison Josephine, responded to this review

Hello, We are very sorry you were not completely happy with your stay. Since your comment we have checked all our safes and all are working fine. Wifi also, but not outdoors. The house is over 200 years old and half meter thick walls are not wi-fi friendly. All our rooms can be closed from inside. As regards your other...

Paris, France
Reviewed 2 July 2015

Most people will never have heard of Villenouvelle even though it is perfectly located to visit both Toulouse and Carcasonne (by car, pretty long bike ride!) and a very nice section of the Canal du Midi. I was also one of the 9 weary cyclists who arrived at Maison Josephine's door after a very hot 100km ride last week. Paul...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IMParis
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 27 June 2015

We descended on Maison Josephine with a group of 10 cyclists and left with memories of warm hospitality, nice rooms, current bathrooms and poolside relaxation in a beautifully updated chateau. Dinner was marvellous and we appreciated Gwen and Paul sharing their wonderful home. A trip highlight.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MoiraElizabeth
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2014

We arrived at Paul and Gwen's beautiful home in utter chaos, four of us had just traversed the Pyrenees on our bikes for four and a half days, to be met by our wives for two days of relaxation plus our other chums who had cycled with us were staying close by so in all about 13 of us descended...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sk1nny99
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2014

If you happen to visit the South West part of France, do stay at this beautiful B&B. The location is great if you are touring there. Between buzzing Toulouse and medieval Carcassonne and the hometown of cassoulet that is Castelnaudary (the only thing I miss from my non vegetarian days!). The hosts, Gwen and Paul, are delightful and very helpful....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yann L
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Following a recommendation of a friend, we (my wife, myself and our 3 year) decided to book a short stay in Maison Josephine. And I can say that we were all were totally blown away by the whole experience and that just writing a review simply can't do the place justice. Everything was just what was needed to help the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bazza W
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Myself and my wife stayed in Maison Josephine in Sept 2013. We had only planned on staying for a couple of nights but in the end we extended it to a full week. The accomodation is beautiful with everything you could possibly need. Paul and Gwen are fantastic hosts. Nothing is too much trouble, and their Franco-Irish background means you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Having two small children it is often a challenge to find good family accommodation and as part of our summer holiday in the South of France we found a hidden gem. Paul and Gwen have created a magnificent B&B, with great hospitality to match. We are looking forward to next trip already.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julian S
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, a perfect place to unwind after a long journey. A family run place where you are made feel welcome. We spent most of the first day by the pool, dined Al fresco family style with guests from Belgium and Spain. The next day we rented some bicycles from Paul and Gwen and took a picnic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alanlondo

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
2:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villenouvelle
21.6 km away
Hotel La Flanerie
Hotel La Flanerie
#1 of 1 in Vieille-Toulouse
93 reviews
6.3 km away
Hotel Restaurant du Lauragais
Hotel Restaurant du Lauragais
#1 of 1 in Villefranche-de-Lauragais
60 reviews
20.8 km away
Ibis Styles Toulouse Cite Espace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Chambres d'hotes Le Village
Chambres d'hotes Le Village
#2 of 2 in Villenouvelle
87 reviews
13.8 km away
Le Moulin Pastelier
Le Moulin Pastelier
#1 of 1 in Belesta en Lauragais
127 reviews
4.2 km away
La Masquiere
La Masquiere
#1,210 of 3,322 in Occitanie
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Very charming 18th century guesthouse, with all modern confort : WIFI, snooker, credit card taken, swimming pool, table tennis, kettles in bedrooms, meals taken out on the terrace. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Maison Josephine

Address: 1 rue des Ecoles, 31290 Villenouvelle, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Haute-Garonne > Villenouvelle
Price Range: $133 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maison Josephine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Maison Josephine staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Maison Josephine staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The large main bedroom with its four-poster bed and dining table has the potential for giving a whole new meaning to room service.”
 of 5 bubbles ShonaJonah, 10 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Gwen and Paul spent a great deal of time and money refurbishing the house. Each room has its own personality.”
 of 5 bubbles 649yannl, 7 Feb 2014 | Read review
“If you are touring around the locality, make sure you leave enough room for the dinner with the family!”
 of 5 bubbles bazzaw2013, 8 Dec 2013 | Read review
“Rooms are all individually designed, take a look at the website. we chose the Marie room.”
 of 5 bubbles Alanlondo, 14 Oct 2013 | Read review
“Friendly and inviting.”
 of 5 bubbles 620damiend, 14 Oct 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay