We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lewtrenchard Manor

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Lewtrenchard Manor
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

370 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Lewtrenchard Manor
See the most recent reviews
Showing 366: English reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed at Lewtrenchard Manor twice now. We go for Valentines weekend and we stay in the little gate house that is slightly detached from the main building. Needless to say it's not the cheapest place that you can stay, but it is so worth the visit. The staff and the owners are extremely friendly, the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Annie B
Duncan M, General Manager at Lewtrenchard Manor, responded to this review

Dear Annie B, Many thanks for the lovely review, hopefully we will see you again soon.

Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

OK we're biased. We had our civil partnership here 10 years ago and ever since have been back now and then to recharge our batteries. The staff and owners are so friendly and make the place seem special. The smell of wood fires and creaky floorboards add to the feeling of being in an old, well loved house dipped in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ian G
Duncan M, General Manager at Lewtrenchard Manor, responded to this review

Dear Ian_Goodenough, Thank you for your review, we completely agree with you, we try to offer modern amenities and service whilst preserving the quirky historical house feel. It is not entirely suited to children however this does often come down to the personalities of the children, we have some families that come regularly at the request on their children. We...

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 January 2017

NOT a luxury Hotel at all. Dirty container for the fresh milk. Complained and brought fresh milk back IN THE DIRTY FLASK???? Same menu across the nights. Clearly focussed on One Night Stays. Lack of atmosphere. Definitely NOT FOR FAMILIES WITH CHILDREN. Pretentious but with no reason. Food was very disappointing and on 2 of the 3 nights the beef...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Trevor H
Duncan M, General Manager at Lewtrenchard Manor, responded to this review

Dear Trevor H, Many thanks for your review, I am very sorry for the problem with your flask of milk, we have altered our procedures and this should never happen again. With regards to the rest of your points I can only speculate that we are not the style of hotel that you and your family enjoy. Whilst the majority...

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Attractive building in lovely grounds, set in unspoilt countryside. We stayed in the St Gertrude suite, off a grandly decorated first floor gallery. Very comfortable, lovely period decor. Food excellent, service at table was of the highest order. All hotel staff extremely willing and helpful. We could not have done better for our special weekend, celebrating a birthday and our...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Roderick T
Duncan M, General Manager at Lewtrenchard Manor, responded to this review

Dear Roderick T, Thank you for your great review, we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Fantastic girls birthday lunch, sitting by log fire. Delicious food in beautiful surroundings. Very relaxed atmosphere, and spent a few happy hours. A bit chilly in restaurant, though, we were hugging the radiator!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank italocorncrake
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We stayed here for two nights late summer 2016 thinking it would be a great location for country walks, accompanied by a comfy room and nice food. Whilst the room was adequate the food was so hit and miss, particularly at dinner. There is no atmosphere at dinner either (as others have pointed out) because it is so quiet in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah R
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 December 2016

We had a party of 6 for Christmas lunch. The food was excellent. The environment provided a great ambience. The staff were helpful, accommodating and very friendly. The gardens provide a tranquil place for a post prandial walk. An experience we will repeat.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank monty2016360
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

Jacobean manor steeped in historical features . Comfortable hotel spacious room, no mobile signal but good wifi facilities; excellent food friendly service although pauses between courses were too long .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Netgezien
London
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Finding a jacket and trousers left by the previous occupant of our (slightly tired) room was not a great start to our return weekend visit to Lewtrenchard after 23 years. Things could only get better - and they did. We (couple plus dog) could not have had a warmer welcome from James and Sue Murray who, believe it or not,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rebecca1London
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Friendly atmosphere in comfortable old fashioned surroundings. Good country walks. Two criticisms: Firstly, the choice of starters and desserts on the dinner menu did not change from night to night. Secondly, upon arrival, our room "Prince Rupert", had several dead flies on the window ledge and on the floor. These were cleared away immediately when we drew attention to them....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank odlondon2016

150 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (115)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewdown
21.9 km away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,026 reviews
27.3 km away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,165 reviews
12.1 km away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.4 km away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
12.9 km away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
621 reviews
25.6 km away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Lewtrenchard Manor Restaurant
Lewtrenchard Manor Restaurant
Cuisines: British, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surrounded by the hills of Dartmoor, Lewtrenchard Manor offers luxurious accommodation in a magnificent Jacobean house. Views from the glorious gardens stretch far over the parkland, and Dartmoor National Park is almost within walking distance.Delicious fish, beef, pork and game dishes feature on a menu prepared by an award-winning chef. Some of the hotel's fruit, vegetables and herbs are sourced from the kitchen gardens. There is also a tasting menu, where you can try a range of fantastic food.Each room at Lewtrenchard Manor has unique character and charming features. Many have views across the grounds, and all feature a TV, seating area, and en suite bathroom.The family-run hotel is situated in Lewdown, a 20-minute drive from Launceston. Here you can visit the many National Trust properties in the area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lewtrenchard Manor

Address: Lewdown, Dartmoor National Park EX20 4PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Lewdown
Price Range: $329 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lewtrenchard Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lewtrenchard Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lewtrenchard Manor Hotel Lewdown
Lewtrenchard Manor Okehampton
Lewtrenchard Manor Hotel Okehampton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lewtrenchard Manor staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Worthing, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Lewtrenchard Manor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“choose rooms west facing”
DavidGH13, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We chose the melton room with 4 poster bed. Excellent”
0tait, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Chooce a different Hotel”
TrevorH_12, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The suites are excellent”
anthonyj782, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the St. Gertrude's suite and loved it.”
79BHP, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5